We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere, decent food”
Review of Ninja New York

Ninja New York
Reserve with OpenTable
Ninja New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #663 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Between Duane St & Reade St
Transit: 1,2,3 train @ Chambers St
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, decent food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Whether you are visiting NYC or live nearby and looking for something fun and different, you have to try this place. Without giving too much away (dont want to spoil the surprise element), the restaurant is underground (accessible via elevator) and is set in a very cool theme that is both romantic and intriguing.

The food is average, and it is a bit pricey. But the entertainment and the atmosphere make up for it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samiam79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    273
    112
    53
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have some young folks in your party - with a birthday!?”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

On 25 Hudson Street in the heart of NYC;s Tri Beca is a Ninja Village! Reservations are really
essential and once checked in - board an elevator DOWN and let the kids take "the Ninja Path."
Those shrieks and screams you hear... "acclimation!" Our waitress enters and immediately
slits the host's throat - play-like! (But you CAN buy the fake knife for $20.00!) Relax - Saphorro
Beer is less that $3.00 a bottle - and there IS a reasonable sake (warm or cool....) The menu is
NOT inexpensive. Sushi fresh and fairly well done. Other things are "getting by" like the $28.00
Terriyaki Chicken. (3 courses included). If you are celebrating a birthday - a magician ninja
shows us and dazzles the kids. Seven people escape with VERY happy children for just under
$500.00 on a recent Saturday evening (including tips). MEMORABLE. Fall 2012

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuncanSullivan997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Kitschy but fun”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Several friends and I visited the restaurant in May 2012. There is definitely ambiance, given the decor and layout of the restaurant. Also, the staff was quite friendly. There is a mix of food. Although billed as having Japanese food, there was more a mix of Japanese and other types of food (e.g., I think guacamole came with our sushi - Sounds odd but it worked in the moment). The restaurant is known for its ninja namesake - ninjas who jump out at you when you enter the restauarant or ninjas who are your servers. It can be a bit gimmicky and kitschy at times but, in a large group, and with people who are willing to get into the experience, it can be a lot of fun.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanNessVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Themed Restaurant!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The food was quite tasty. We had the Kunoichi, which is the aburi light of my fire, sushi rolls, crab cake, the steaks, and we had desert. I really enjoyed the aburi light of my fire. The fire tricks the server did left the food with a great taste. The atmosphere was great. There was entertainment, privacy, and good food for a decent price.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Living2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Loved it - quirky and fun (but prepare to pay!)”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved this place. A group of 4 of us and definately a special occasion place. We decided to go hell for leather and pick the Ninja Art food as we wanted the display - means youre paying a bit more but honestly if youre going then its worth the extra. Coffees on fire with sparkle, my dinner on fire and served to me as the butter melted, desserts with dry ice exploding, a dish you have to hit to get it into your plate etc Great fun. Service is fabulous and everyones in costume and fully participating. Great stuff, great presentation and the food was an excellent quality too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninja New York also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Ninja New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing