We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful clean hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful clean hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We enjoyed our stay of four days at Residence Inn very much. The location is centrally located to many of the tourist attractions yet without all the noise of being in Times Square. We had to wait to the late afternoon/evening to check-in in order to get an upper floor, but it was worth it. My children loved the view of the Empire State Building during all times of the day and night and in the sun and rain. The free buffet breakfast was a definite plus. The selection ranged from hot breakfast items to the usual continental fare. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable. The room was large and the kitchenette was clean. The hotel room was very quiet except for one night when our neighbor had a terrible screaming match at 2:30am. It was much louder in the hallway than through the walls. Management took a long time to pick up the phone (called 3 times for at least 5-10 minutes), but when they did, they responded more quickly. As far as parking, we found it cheaper to park in a local parking garage using a coupon from the internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNYCRI, Hotel Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
It is great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and your trip to NYC. I think the location is wonderful to be so close to so many great attractions and transportation, but not all the craziness of Times Square.

I sincerely apologize about the noisy neighbors and that the phone was not answered promptly. We do not have a "manager" on duty from 11pm to 7am. If the "manager" button is used on the guest room phone overnight, that phone rings in the back office and with only two auditors on staff , there may not have been anyone by that phone at the time. will follow up wih my overnight staff on the importance of getting to the phone. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. Thank you for the heads up about the parking - we are concerned about recommending other places that we are not confident that the guests cars are secured and will be well taken care of - but you sharing your information with the guests is great.

Best wishes and we hope to see you back at our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    884
    210
    59
    30
See reviews for
1,071
526
106
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Location of this hotel is excellent and the rate was very competitive. We were just around the corner from all of the Times Square attractions and within walking distance to Radio City Music Hall. We were also able to walk from Penn Station to the hotel (several blocks). The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly during check-in, and the concierge was quite helpful in securing dinner reservations in Little Italy. The room was nicely appointed and clean with a kitchenette area. We did have some trouble finding a cab in the front of the hotel -- no real space for cabs to idle -- however, we did stay during the very busy holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discover124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I took our daughter and her friend for her Sweet 16 birthday! Times Square a few blocks away. Excellent breakfast-Go early. Go to NINJA! great restaurant. The top floor of the Marriot at 45th is great for a drink/desert, even though it's touristy, go before 9 to avoid the cover charge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaicabreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNYCRI, Hotel Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
What a wonderful birthday for your daughter! Thank you for the recommendation on NINJA! I have not been there - cannot wait to try it. There are so many fabulous restaurants in NYC. The View on the Marriott Marquis is great and amazing "view" of the city!

Come back to NYC - there is so much to see and do - and definitely stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Marriott Residence Inn is one block away from Bryant Park, on 6th Avenue. The location is perfect to visit all great locations in central Manhattan and hop to the hotel to rest, freshen up and leave the shopping bags. There are two subway stations within one block´s walk, the staff is very professional and the room was spotless. We had no problem with the A/C as another reviewer mentioned, and the breakfast was superb. Yes, there were paper plates and plastic knives and forks on some days, but only when the regular ones ran out. The pricing is very fair for the location, specially considering the complimentary breakfast and that the room has a full sized fridge, microwave and pans should one feel inclined to cook something simple. Breakfast was huge and varied: eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice, and just about anything you could wish. We had a great time there and would definitely stay at the Residence Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcademicRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNYCRI, Hotel Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
It is wonderful to hear how great your stay was at our hotel. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We always have disposable dishes and utensils available, so people can take food "to go". On the weekends we only offer the disposable items as the volume of guests we serve is so great our dishwashing equipment cannot keep up with the demand and properly sanitize (which is important).

Thank you again and please stay with us in the future. Best Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2009

you will see what I am talking about if you stay here.

The customer service is the best. My partner and I have been staying here for years. We will only stay elsewhere if they are booked. Which happens often.

They have a fantastic breakfast. If you have children or several people in your party you can have a full breakfast here. They have everything. Also for dinner they have light snacks, which you can fill up on and get a light dinner somewhere else.

We've requested late check out and they have always granted it. In the past we have also left late in the day and they never charge for that day like most hotels do. When we leave things behind they ship them to us.

There is a deli steps away and they have the best club sandwhiches in the city. The chinese place has amazing food as well.

I love this place and you will too once you've stayed here.

Cheers.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Inanreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNYCRI, Hotel Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Fabulous Review! Thank you for starting my day out with a smile! I cannot wait to share your comments with my staff. It encourages us all to keep doing our best!

My husband has a deli sandwich at Bryant Deli whenever he comes to town and thinks they have the best sadnwiches too.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. please contact me at gwen.lytle@marriott.com if I can assist you when we are sold out...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We absolutely loved this hotel. We had visited New York about 6 years ago and stayed at Marriott Renaissance (nice hotel too) but with economy wanted something more affordable traveling with more children. The hotel was very nice and included wireless High Speed Internet and a very good breakfast (sausage, eggs, potatos, cereal, pancakes). Our two rooms (King beds) had a view of the Empire State Building and the (Fri-Sat) weekend rates were very reasonable (Sunday night little more pricey). We arrived early Thurs around 11am traveling from NC (spent one night in NJ) and they gave us a claim ticket to store our luggage and parked our van early. The entire hotel staff was very pleasant. I won't mention names but the two black male checkin staff on Sept 18 and 19 took the time to explain things (as good as conciege). They also allowed us to check luggage in again after checkout at 11 and leave our van in the parking deck until 3:30 pm on Monday, so we could take the subway to the Statue of Liberty tour. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel was a great location and was no more than a 5-10 minute walk to Time Square.
September is a great time to travel to NY. The weather avg 70's during the day and the nights weren't too cold. The kids were a little unhappy about the hotel only having Nickelodeon (no cartoon network or disney) but this was probably a good thing so we could visit the city and not wait on TV programs to end.

(I will post details of our trip with same Title under NYC for things we did during our stay).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNYCRI, Hotel Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
I am so glad you had such a wonderful time in NYC with your family. My kids love the hotel and visiting all there is to offer here. (They also wish we had Disney and Cartoon Network). After the first of the year we are moving to Direct TV and will have more TV channel options. Thank you for the great review and for staying with us. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was our second trip to New York and we decided to stay at this hotel due to its reasonable rates, complimentary breakfast (fantastic choice), gym, location and in-room kitchenette. It had all the facilities we wanted plus good service, friendly staff and a view of the Empire State Building from our impressively sized room. The bed was also super comfortable and was renamed as the marshmallow bed for the duration of the visit. We attended two of the social evening held in the hotel on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesday where we recieved complimentary food and soft drinks. We also used the laundry facilities as we had packed light in order to fill our bags with shopping on the return trip! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNYCRI, Hotel Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 22, 2009
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your trip and staying at our hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please come and stay with us again, we really appreciate you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#115 of 467 in New York City
1,248 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#231 of 467 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#141 of 467 in New York City
5,632 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#105 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing