We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip to Newyork”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Birthday trip to Newyork”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked this hotel for its location the breakfast and free WiFi. We stayed at this hotel from the 3nd of June 14 to 7th of June 14. We booked a 2 x double bed room with a city view. We found the room very well set out with everything you could have wished for. The room was 2708 with direct views of the Empire State Building. it was amazing.The breakfast in the morning should cover all needs from hot food to fruit, toast and many other kids tip bits you can also pick up your free paper. It was hard to work out the best time as it was served from 6.30 to 9.30 week days and 7 to 10 am on weekends. we went at 7.30 during the week and lots off room to sit, but on sat morning at 7.30 it was mental. We were informed at check in there was water and an ice machine on the 3th floor for your use. There is a little shop and it does have a price list for some of the items on sale. I bought 2 half bottles off wine from the shop and put it on my bill please be aware that there is no price list for the wine or beer so ask before you buy. I was charged near $50 for both. I walked to a Wine store near by and bought a 2 good bottles for $15 each. It was our first trip to New York and did find it very easy to get around but Times Square was Mad they try to sale you everything. If you intend to go on a bus tour around the city go to Madam Tussauds in times square as inside you buy the tickets for the buses and they tell you were you can pick it up. We made the mistake off while in Macy's store they offered us the tickets and we were told all we had to do was to turn up get the bus. this we tried to do but we still had to go to Madam Tussauds, que up and give them our booking from Macy's and then we got our tickets. that also goes for the street reps off the bus companys. We did have a ball at this hotel and the City never sleeps but be aware were you go as it can be unsafe. if you go to a bar set up a tab and pay when you leave. also be aware off a 20 % service tax.

Room Tip: City View we had room 2708 or room 2706 27th floor
See more room tips
Green Features: the staff were always very nice and helpful to talk too.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    865
    201
    55
    30
See reviews for
1,038
516
104
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

While in New York, I found it very welcoming at the level of profession, the room as expected was a complete Bonus, modern with the Urban flare, roomy and clean! I could have slept here for life, bed was Ever so comfortable! Good food at the restaurant. Great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear cheryl e,

Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms, beds and food. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the city!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the staff is excellent. The rooms are a little larger than your typical NYC hotel room and you get a fridge and kitchenette area. The 3rd floor is a cool gathering area it's like a community center more than a bar. It's not NYC plush but it's good for longer stays.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Wow. What a great experience. New york is a Great city to visit. If I was to go back then I would definatly stay here again as the food rooms service were all excellent. If you visit new york visit this place even if its just for a drink in the bar.Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Jayne M,

Thank you so much of your great review of our property. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in town!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Superisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The room was massive and the bed so comfy!!! Would be the perfect place to stay for extended visits (we've discovered not many American hotels have fridges, but this place did and it was a normal fridge size). We had breakfast too and yes it was busy but we were still able to find a seat and enjoyed our meals. Would definitely come back here again. Great location too!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family We had two suites which were excellent Only thing we did not have a good view The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and huge.The staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was good with excellent choice. Bar prices very expensive even with happy hour from 5-7pm and 10.30-11.30pm. Location of hotel excellent for all site seeing, shopping, bars and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicm144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenage children) stopped in the Residence Inn for our first trip to New York. The rooms were quite well insulated but there is always background noise throughout the night.

What drew us to the Residence Inn was the location, being close to Times Square and Grand Central Station, the complementary buffet breakfast and the free wifi. Nothing let us down.

We got the 7 day unlimited Metro Travelcard for $31 which we used on the Subway and Local buses. It was money well spent.

We were up early most morning so didn't suffer any problems with long delays for the lift or queues for breakfast.

The room was comfortable for the four of us with the Double Doubles working ok. We never really used the kitchen facilities but it was good to know there was a fridge/freezer, microwave and dishwasher.

The room has a laptop sized room safe which you use your own PIN number to lock.

I would highly recommend the Residence Inn for any travellers to New York.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank bex94mat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear bex94mat97,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of the great amenities we have, including our full hot buffet breakfast. We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in New York City!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,510 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing