We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality, & clean Room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #210 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2014

While in New York, I found it very welcoming at the level of profession, the room as expected was a complete Bonus, modern with the Urban flare, roomy and clean! I could have slept here for life, bed was Ever so comfortable! Good food at the restaurant. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear cheryl e,

Thank you so much for your positive review of our property. I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms, beds and food. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the city!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the staff is excellent. The rooms are a little larger than your typical NYC hotel room and you get a fridge and kitchenette area. The 3rd floor is a cool gathering area it's like a community center more than a bar. It's not NYC plush but it's good for longer stays.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Wow. What a great experience. New york is a Great city to visit. If I was to go back then I would definatly stay here again as the food rooms service were all excellent. If you visit new york visit this place even if its just for a drink in the bar.Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Jayne M,

Thank you so much of your great review of our property. We hope to see you again the next time that you are in town!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Superisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and was pleasantly surprised. The room was massive and the bed so comfy!!! Would be the perfect place to stay for extended visits (we've discovered not many American hotels have fridges, but this place did and it was a normal fridge size). We had breakfast too and yes it was busy but we were still able to find a seat and enjoyed our meals. Would definitely come back here again. Great location too!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my family We had two suites which were excellent Only thing we did not have a good view The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable and huge.The staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was good with excellent choice. Bar prices very expensive even with happy hour from 5-7pm and 10.30-11.30pm. Location of hotel excellent for all site seeing, shopping, bars and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicm144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teenage children) stopped in the Residence Inn for our first trip to New York. The rooms were quite well insulated but there is always background noise throughout the night.

What drew us to the Residence Inn was the location, being close to Times Square and Grand Central Station, the complementary buffet breakfast and the free wifi. Nothing let us down.

We got the 7 day unlimited Metro Travelcard for $31 which we used on the Subway and Local buses. It was money well spent.

We were up early most morning so didn't suffer any problems with long delays for the lift or queues for breakfast.

The room was comfortable for the four of us with the Double Doubles working ok. We never really used the kitchen facilities but it was good to know there was a fridge/freezer, microwave and dishwasher.

The room has a laptop sized room safe which you use your own PIN number to lock.

I would highly recommend the Residence Inn for any travellers to New York.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank bex94mat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear bex94mat97,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed all of the great amenities we have, including our full hot buffet breakfast. We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in New York City!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

A brilliant location just a short walk from Bryant Park and the subway. We also walked to or from NY Penn Station, the Rockefeller Center, ESB, Times Square and Macy's. Our corner room on the 10th floor gave a partial view of ESB which was clearer at night once it was lit up. Views downtown along 6th Avenue gave you a real feel of being in the heart of the city.

The room had plenty of good points with one or two minor niggles. The size was excellent even with the sofa bed open. The kingsize bed was very comfortable until they changed the sheets to some which felt more crinkly and plastic part way through our stay. We'd already noticed that guests at the Central Park branch of the hotel had complained about these. The mattress on the sofa bed felt a bit thin and springy but our small son slept well in it. They only provided two dining chairs which seemed strange for a triple room with a kitchen and dining table (we eneded up eating out so much that we didn't ask about getting an extra one). The air conditioning was very loud but I think we all tuned it out after a day or so. It probably deadened the noise from the street as well. There was a good sized TV with a selection of channels which kept our son happy. The kitchenette was a decent size but I don't think that Hotels.com makes it very clear that there is no stove top (you can request a hotplate). We had intended to cook more but with hindsight it was just easier to eat out or get dishes made to go at several local places like Bryant Market and Pax Wholesome Foods. The bathroom looked newly refurbished and had a bathtub/shower. The room looked generally clean but the top of the tall firdge/freezer was in serious need of a dust. There was no obvious way of sorting out the rubbish so we left plastic, metal and glass on the side to see if they would take it. They didn't but we've since read that one of their other hotels uses a collection service which sorts it for them. This could be made clear somewhere in the room.

The breakfast selection was substantial with plenty of hot and cold options. If you wanted to avoid fried food and sweet options then there were several cereals and plenty of bagels and toast. The fuir selection seemed to vary a bit e.g. bananas and fresh melon appeared some days whilst on others it seemed more tinned like with peaches and pineapple. Queuing times were quite short and the time that we went down didn't seem to affect them. We didn't notice the lift waiting times that some people have mentioned.

We didn't have much call to use the front desk. The one time we did was to request a kettle which sounded like it would be delivered immediately. It wasn't and in the end we put the Do Not Disturb sign out so that we could go to bed. We also found that the microwave had a beverage setting for heating up water so we used that instead. Apart from that the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

One other slightly annoying thing was that we had been hoping to use a Marriott gift card to pay for some extras. The bartender coundn't get it to work on the bar till so we charged the drinks to the room. The hotel ran the charges against our creitt card during the night before we left so we never got the chance to use the card.

All in all we felt like we got good value for our stay and we'd definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room - the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 469 in New York City
1,300 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#152 of 469 in New York City
5,755 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#66 of 469 in New York City
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018-5408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $205 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From weekend getaways to extended stays, Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square positions you in the beating heart of New York City. Embark on dynamic adventures to the Empire State Building, Central Park, Javits Center and Bryant Park. Encounter rejuvenation in our spacious suites. We deliver homelike comforts with our complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchenettes and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Splitty, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing