We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice Hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #186 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, nice Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have just stayed in the Hotel for 5 nights, with my wife and two teenage kids. We had two double bed suites. The rooms were perfect good size with two double beds and a very nice kitchen area.We have stayed in New York a few times and in a lot more expensive hotels and this hotel ticks all the boxes for nearly half the price of some hotels. The comments about the lifts are rubbish, there are four lifts and get you to your floor so fast the floor counter can't keep up. It was a bit slower at breakfast time but to be expected with half the guests moving around.Breakfast is served until 9.30 and is nothing fancy but ok, we went to a deli a couple of doors down and got great breakfast options for around 3 dollars.The bar is on the 3rd floor and looks out over 6th Av good for watching the world go by it has around 6 big flat screens with all the sport etc,there is also a pool table which is free.
Check in was swift and smooth we had a couple of things to sort out next day and these were sorted out with ease.The whole hotel is clean and tidy and our room was serviced every day to a high standard. I found other hotels near Madison Square Gdns and Times Square very noisy at night with the usual fire engines and traffic noise but this one was very quiet we were on the 25 the floor.The construction site across the road is well underway and most of the steelwork will be completed in the next month I would say so not to much noise,anyway we were there to see NYC
Not stay in the room.Altough the beds were so comfy I could have stayed there all day!
The location is fantastic a short walk to Times Square,Empire State,Macys all within a couple of minutes.Bryant Park is 200 - 300 mtrs up the road and is a nice place to sit and watch the world go by.The hotel is not the most glitzy from the outside but is very good inside,overall a great place to stay, I have just recommended it to friends who have booked up and would not even bother searching for another hotel if we return would just book it again.So book up now.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear swc_12,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review of our hotel! We greatly appreciate the feedback. I am so glad that you found the hotel to be quiet, clean and comfortable in a great location! Our location really can't be beat! We hope that you choose to stay with us the next time you are in New York City!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    838
    194
    54
    28
See reviews for
1,009
507
101
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Spent four nights here and were very pleased with our experience. We were two adults, a teen, and a pre-teen in one room. We wanted something centrally located in midtown, with wi-fi and breakfast included, and with a bit of extra space. The Residence Inn seemed to be the best choice that met all those criteria.

The size of the room was great. We specifically asked for a high floor corner room. We had read that the corner rooms were a bit larger at this hotel, and ours was certainly roomy enough. Four people were able to spread out without being on top of one another. The kitchen was nice, but we really only used the fridge and the microwave for keeping drinks cold and reheating leftovers.

Breakfast bar was well stocked: cereals, eggs, oatmeal, bacon/sausage, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, french toast, yogurt, muffins, fruit bar, etc. One could easily fill up for a day of sightseeing.

Cleanliness of the room was top notch. Condition was good. Perhaps a few nicks here and there, but nothing major. Seemed like the management was keeping the place up pretty well. Fairly new flat screen TV.

Location: only a few blocks from Times Square, Herald Square, Bryant Park, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center. We came into NYC from Newark Airport via Penn Station, and it was an easy walk from the train to the hotel. Easy access to the subway with stops at Herald Square and Bryant Park. We particularly liked Bryant Park. A great place to have a sit and watch the world go by.

One minor issue: there is a high-rise under construction right next door to the hotel, on the north side. We had a window facing the worksite, and the noise started promptly at 7:30. If you like to sleep in, that might be an issue. Request a south-facing room to avoid the noise.

All kinds of restaurants in the area. Found good Indian food, delis, even a British-style pub. Relied on online services (like Trip Advisor) to find likely dining spots.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for high room, corner room, south-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maa-maa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located! Within walking distance to Times Square, where all the fun, theaters and shops are. It's also near to Macy, Korea town etc. The subway station is nearby, making it easy to move around. I love the hot breakfast...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank megcyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

For anyone unfamiliar with Manhattan this is a nicely situated hotel. The room was comfortable but not luxurious. The breakfast was satisfactory. Staff quite friendly. The meeting room was of a good size. Overall I was satisfied. The hotel is not particularly appealing from the outside but it meets all a traveller's basic needs. The kitchen is a plus if you should be staying for longer than a couple of days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamfarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear grahamfarrington,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly, as this is the very important to us. We really appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you the next time that you are in town.

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This Marriott features the mini kitchen and free breakfast, making it one of the busiest and most popular hotels in the Times Square area. Rates are a good value, but its popularity tends to create delays weekends for breakfast and elevators. If you can plan your way around it, this may work well for you. The staff is very responsive, and the breakfast food is superior to what you would find at other hotels.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DHP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear DHP3,

Thank you so much for providing us with some positive feedback! We are in a very convenient location, and I'm glad that you got to take advantage of this. We hope to see you next time you are in New York City!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Last stayed there a couple of years ago and may need some refreshment but overall a great stay. Rooms large. Breakfast huge but crowded. Within walking distance of subway, Times Square, Theater District and Bryant Park.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Busygirl028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissa c, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Busygirl028,

Thank you so much for the positive review of our property! We hope that you choose to stay with us next time you are in town!

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed with friends, location is great. Times Square, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center, Penn Station/MSG are about the same distance, 10-15 minutes walk. Check in/out was quick, the rooms are spacious, however if you open the sofa bed, it gets a little crowded. Room or mini apartment comes with a kitchenette, with micro, huge fridge, tableware, etc. Read the reviews before, I didn't have problem with waiting times at the elevator or breakfast. Basically no waiting time.Breakfast in ok but not excellent, variety is not a strength.
All in all it was a good experience, would go back anytime and recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, it has more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina V, Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Szabi_Viola,

Thank you so much for your positve feedback! I am glad that you found our location to be convenient! It really is in a great part of Manhattan. We hope that you choose to stay with us next time you are in the area.

Christina Verdesca
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,395 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of amenities including a free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery, and free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing