We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value”
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I just returned back from a two night stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Times Square New York and am happy to report that we made an excellent choice for our stay. The Residence Inn by Marriott Times Square is located at the intersection of Avenue of the Americas (better know to those from out of town as 6th Avenue) and 39th Street. The hotel is extremely well situated for those on vacation in New York City for the hotel is in close proximity (walking distance) to most of the major tourist spots. Herald Square, Macy's department store and various other shopping malls and stores are about three/four blocks south of the hotel, the Empire State building is three/four blocks south of the hotel, Times Square is three blocks north of the hotel and so on. The blocks are not very big so the walking time to all these spots is about 2-5 minutes which is great.

The hotel is located in a safe clean area making it very easy to walk around everywhere without any worries. There are also various subway stations located around the hotel for those wishing to take the subway to other areas of the city. Despite the close proximity to all these various tourist spots, there was neither noise nor confusion near or around the hotel unlike the ones located directly in Times Square.

The hotel is new and nicely decorated. There is a beautiful modern lounge area located on the third floor of the hotel where the guests can relax. It is an actual "lounge" for resting appointed with chairs, couches and TV's. There is also a bar area for those wishing to have a drink. The hotel offers its guests complimentary coffee and tea there so it is a really nice place to unwind after a long day in the city.

Complimentary breakfast buffet is also offered on the third floor in the morning and unlike other hotels in the city, the eating area is large enough to accommodate everyone without feeling crowded in side by side. The buffet breakfast offers a variety of choices such as the conventional scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and pancakes as well as low fat organic yogurts; various cereal choices; hot oatmeal with raisins, pecans and brown sugar; fresh fruit; various juices; bagels; English muffins and pastries. The food was of good quality and there was enough variety to please the whole family.

The room was very large and clean. We booked a suite appointed with a double bed and sleeper sofa. The suite also had a kitchen which came in very handy. Having driven down, we were able to save some money by bringing some bottled water and sandwiches with us which were kept fresh in the fridge. The kitchen was fully appointed with knives, forks, glasses, cups, etc. There was also a kitchen table. This is great for those wishing to eat breakfast in their room or those with little children. The bed was extremely comfortable, as usual throughout the Marriott hotels. Naturally, the sofa bed was not as comfortable as the conventional bed but we simply put an additional comforter on the bed and slept well without any problems.

Several of the rooms located on the higher floors also offer a view on the Empire State Building but not all. I would recommend trying to ask for one if you are picky about the view from your hotel room.

There is parking available under the hotel for $50.00 a day however we were fortunate enough to find parking on 39th Street and saved our money. I would recommend doing the same. If by chance you are unable to find a spot, I would only then recommend opting for the valet parking offered by the hotel.

To conclude, I would definitely not hesitate to book at the Residence Inn the next time I am in New York City. The hotel is very comparable to Hampton Inn Times Square North but has a larger and nicer breakfast area as well as a more centrally located emplacement. The only negative aspect of our stay was the congestion of the elevators during the breakfast hours. I would highly recommend getting breakfast before 8:30 am in order to avoid the crowds going down to the third floor. All in all, great value and a solid four star hotel.

  • Liked — Close location to everything, complimentary breakfast and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Breakfast rush and crouded elevators
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandSunandSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    884
    210
    59
    30
See reviews for
1,071
526
106
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

You will have a very hard time finding a better hotel choice in NYC than this hotel. I've stayed here the last two times I've visited the city and will likely stay here next time as well.

There are a lot of advantages, but location and service have to be near the top of the list. This property is centrally located within easy walking distance to the Times Square area and to Grand Central Station. As far as the service is concerned, the staff does a great job of inquiring about your needs and doing their best to meet them. Both times I've stayed here, I've needed an early check-in and it has been accomplished with little effort. They are also great about holding your bags for you until your room is available. As with all Residence Inns, room rates also include a hot breakfast. The quality of the breakfast here is one of the best I've experienced at a Residence Inn and is far superior to the continental-style breakfasts included with many hotel rooms.

The one disadvantage to breakfast is the fact that it does tend to get very busy later in the morning, both in the breakfast area and with the elevators. So, I would highly recommend that you eat breakfast in the 8-9 a.m. time frame. Additionally, the higher your floor, the better off you are going to be. Not only do some of the higher rooms have great views of the Empire State Building, when riding down the elevators during really busy times it is a definite advantage being on the upper floors. This allows you to get on the elevators before they fill up during the travel down.

Finally, in my opinion, rates at this hotel are very competitive. While not cheap (what decent hotel in NYC is??), the rooms do provide a great value. The suites are significantly larger than most NYC hotel rooms and include a full-size fridge which comes in quite handy.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sctraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We had a great stay. The location and price is right. the hotel is an easy walk to times square with a subway station just down the road. It was $42 for a towncar from Laguardia, and 45 flat fee by cab to JFK. The breakfast is good and Free. The room had king size bed and sleeper sofa. I slept on the sofa and it was suprisingly comfortable. We were on the 19th floor this was high enough to see over the other building, and to dampen the noise from the street.
The only negative was the elevator wait time. At peak times you can wait for a few mins before one stops.

  • Liked — Location and the Marriot name
  • Disliked — Elevator wait time
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Boogief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Family of three with pre-schooler stayed two nights at this clean, adequately sized, and modernly decorated chain for a rate of $279 per night (a great rate by Manhattan standards). Location was three blocks from Times Square, six blocks from Grand Central station, and very close to public transportation to access Battery Park and Central Park. Many problems, some of which may be unique to our experience:

1) Pre-request for early check-in not accommodated. We tried to check-in at 2 pm (regular check-in is at 4 pm), but no rooms were ready. The hotel held our luggage and gave us claim checks while we caught a Circle Line cruise and dinner.
2) Pre-request for low level room not accommodated. At 2 pm, were assured of a room on the 4th floor, but upon check-in at 10 pm, we were told that the lowest floor available was the 17th.
3) Air-conditioner possibly on the fritz. Our room was stuffy and warm upon arrival. While the thermometer was set for 60F, the room did not seem to get below 70F. Concierge said that the A/C may operate with a motion sensor. Unfortunately, this meant that it was not functioning while we were out during the day or even worse, while we were horizontal at night. Perhaps we should have taken turns doing jumping jacks so that we could have a comfortable room temperature for sleeping.
4) Check-in took 10 minutes on a late Saturday night. After what seemed like a long wait for a tired family, we were given a queen room. Only after presenting a written confirmation from the hotel website did we receive our originally reserved king room. The concierge apologized for the misunderstanding.
5) Elevetors were very slow. Although there are four elevators, it seemed that only one or two worked at any given time. We read about this problem in previously written reviews, which is why we requested a low level room--so that we could walk down to the 3rd floor for the breakfast buffet or to check-out on the 1st floor.
6) Hot breakfast buffet included in nightly rate offered a variety of good hot and cold choices and was adequately stocked. However, the lines were long when we went at 9 am. (Buffet is served until 10 am on weekends and until 9:30 am on weekdays.) The lines could be alleviated by a better set-up of the food since space is not an issue. Toast and bagel area at the end of the hot choices caused a terrible bottleneck.
7) Looks newly decorated, but bathroom lock was broken, some broken wall times, peeling wallpaper, and stained couch.
8) Pets are allowed in hotel. Guest next door had a small yapper from about 8 pm until we fell asleep. Upon contacting the concierge, we were told nothing could be done, except to contact the guests to calm their dog.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MATraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

The room is a nice self-contained apartment. The kitchen is ok, but beware there is only a hot plate and not burners for cooking.
The breakfast was fair. The food is always the same all the days me and my family stayed there. The quality of the food is low-fair. The service is rather nice at any time of the days. Internet connection is wifi and ok (very fast). The problem with the elevator is limited (1 to 2 minutes waiting time for me).
The location is fantastic. The hotel is in the middle of everything. Cleaniness of the room and bath is ok! nothing excellent, just ok!
The rate we payed was rather fair: 250 dollars for a corner suite at a rather high floor (15 th). Upper should supposed to be better, but the hotel was almost sold out the days we stayed there.
The hall can be defintely improved. It is small and rather simple. However, improvement and renovation works were in progress when we stayed there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast. No fireplace in the apartment
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2008

I believe this hotel was just renovated before I stayed here with a friend and it was very nice. The only difficult part of the trip was when we were checking in. The room had been booked for a couple of weeks and we were using Marriott Reward Points and we had more than enough to cover our weekend stay. Although the clerk can see we had the points, for some reason they still had not arrived in their computer and we had no credit cards with us so we had to put down $400.00 in cash as a deposit until the points arrived. That was a big chunk of our spending money so we were a bit annoyed.
The room itself was very nice and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the city. It was very spacious as well. The hotel had a great restaurant and I wish I could remember the name. It had pretty waterfalls coming down and very modern looking. The food was yummy (I had sushi) and the martinis were excellent. Even the elevators were nice!
This hotel is within walking distance of so many attractions, restaurants, pub and most importantly Times Square! I would def stay here again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk was a bit difficult
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Stayed at this hotel with a couple buddies for a guys weekend and it was great. The rooms were very well kept and everything was clean. The rooms had a kitchen area, with utensils/plates, a fridge, a microwave, etc. so I guess it would be perfect for a family trying to save some money.

The place had free breakfast in the morning, but it was VERY crowded. I wouldn't recommend it, unless you get there early.

Location was great. Just three blocks from 42nd Street and an easy walk to Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Grand Central Station, Times Square, Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center and more. We took a cab to the village one night and it was less than $10.

The only thing keeping it from a 5-rating is that they DO NOT allow rollaway beds. They had told my friend they did and when we got there, the place said it was a fire hazard. We stayed in a room with a king bed and a pullout couch, so it was okay, but that is the one warning. Otherwise, I would recommend.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — No rollaway beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#115 of 467 in New York City
1,245 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,632 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing