We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, bad engineering ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #195 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location, bad engineering ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights after Christmas. Nice enough room,friendly service, but clearly not built for a big crowd.

Could not get near buffet and had to wait 10-12 minutes for an elevator. Half the time the elevators were filled with staff trying to complete service.

Kind of sad that they are allowed to open a hotel that clearly can't handle a sold out weekend.

Plenty of other options near by, will try something different next time.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank anngeojes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello anngeojes,
Thank you for your feedback from your most recent stay with us over the Christmas Holiday. I am happy the friendly staff was able to provide you with a nice room for your stay.
I apologize for the overcrowded breakfast area. Over the holidays it can become very busy with so many families traveling to the city. The complimentary breakfast is a high demand for families when traveling. The only advice I can give is the earlier you can get to the buffet the less crowded it is. I hope you choose to come back next year for another stay with us!

Ashley Deichert
Guest Relations Managaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    849
    199
    54
    29
See reviews for
1,023
509
102
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I cant praise this hotel enough - my partner and i love this hotel!

Its location is superb within walking distance of pretty much everything in midtown, the rooms are homely and comfortable, the staff are polite and friendly and the views we had from our room were amazing. The fact that breakfast was included was just an added bonus, and a delicious bonus at that!

We stayed in a king apartment - high room and we asked for a view of bryant park and we weren't disappointed =- we received a corner room with views of the city and a separate side window with a full view of bryant park (bryant park at winter i consider to be the most romantic area in the city)

i also booked a boat trip at the reception for a buffet cruise and dance evening, this was a particular highlight of our stay and was booked with ease as the reception staff booked it all over the phone, all i had to do was hand over the money! This boat trip i would recommend to anyone, the food was delicious, an excellent atmosphere and the views were sensational!

this is always my first choice of hotel in new york :)

Room Tip: High room corner apartments are beautiful, would ask for these every time going forward :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyRebecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello KellyRebecca22,
Thank you for reviewing my hotel as a repeat customer! We are so thankful you have decided to come back and stay with us. The wonderful location, polite staff, and breakfast keep you coming back and I am so happy to hear this!
I would be happy to get you another wonderful view of Bryant Park for your trip. Please feel free to email me before you arrival. Ashley.Deichert@marriott.com
We look forward to seeing you again!

Ashley D
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

A hotel with large rooms, comfortable beds and good linen. The kitchenette is spacious and well appointed with a microwave, coffee maker, crockery, cutlery, glassware and a refrigerator. The toilet and toiletries are adequate.The lobby is small and, a bit cramped though.

The staff was courteous, efficient at check-in and check-out and helpful in guiding us on local requirements.

Breakfast options were in plenty with cooked breakfast available.

The hotel is very conveniently located for activities in New York like Times Square& Grand Central Station and thus very well suited for tourists or those who need to travel by train.

Given the location, the general upkeep and service, we felt this hotel was very good value for the range and the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello DeeBee00,
Thank you for your kind review of my hotel for potential visitors. I am happy the staff was courteous and helpful for any of your needs during your stay. The extensive breakfast items and the convenient location is always a plus for New York City! We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Ashley Deichert
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This RI is one of my favorite out of the entire chain. Perfect location, service is very good. Only problem is during check in/out time the elevator is extremely busy.
Valet parking is very quick and the rooms are all clean and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marineboy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello Marineboy003,

Thank you for continuing to choose the Residence Inn Marriott Brand. They are the perfect choice for long term stays! We look forward to having you with us again!

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early at 9 am and let us check in early. Breakfast served every morning and is included in price. Breakfast was sausage gravy, eggs, bagels and lots of choices. The beds were comfortable. A large size refrigerator included. Staff friendly and GREAT location to all the sites! Definitely would recommend! Additionally they allowed us to check out late at 1 pm following day.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bonnie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello Bonnie T,
Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I am happy to hear we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in and you were able to enjoy breakfast at your arrival. We look forward to seeing you again for your next trip with us!

Ashley Deichert
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, NJ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The reservation email had a "virtual concierge" to make special requests. I listed my wants as a light sleeper. Was given a room on the top floor facing the Empire State Building on the Saturday before Christmas! And the hotel was full!

With such a crowd the complimentary breakfast was a challenge-plenty of food but slow elevator access and egress, But the staff rolled with it. All in all, a good well located choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello boardhead,

Thank you for using our Virtual Concierge option when booking your room with us. This makes it easier for us to prepare your requests ahead of time. I am happy you were able to enjoy the wonderful views of the Empire State building during the holiday season!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My poodles i enjoyed our stay,the buffet breakfast was just right and this hotel is pet friendly,which is a plus! I greatly appreciate the staff and managements hospitality. Comfortable beds and pillows,and very clean i noticed.Sometimes when you go to another pet friendly hotel and i don't wan't to mention any names,so i won't,but the rooms are not cleaned properly and flea infested or carpet smells like cat and dog urine and e.c.t...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello Anita N,

I am so happy to hear you and your dogs were comfortable inn our studio rooms. We want our guest to feel as home when traveling, so if that includes bringing a pet we are ok with it! We do an extensive cleaning process after any pet leaves the room leaving our rooms cleaner than ever! I am happy you were able to notice the room cleanliness. We hope to see you again!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,462 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing