We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #196 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Clean rooms, free WIFI. Great location. A staff member at the front desk helped me tie a tie. Im not the type that wears one every day but he took care of me in a courteous and understanding way. Liked their attitudes. Breakfast was better than expected considering they had a Turkey Bacon option. THANKS FOR THAT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott5820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Scott5820,

Thank you for your kind review about my hotel and staff! It is great to hear one of our staff members were able to help with your tie! I also have to agree that turkey bacon is my favorite option also!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    876
    204
    57
    30
See reviews for
1,050
521
105
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I probably felt that this hotel was a bit overpriced, but on review this appears to be moreof an issue with my travel agent. The lcation is perfect, very close to Bryant Park subway, which is a major stop within the network. The rooms are bit dated, but they are clean and well maintained, and the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is generous, with good variety and is a good inclusion in the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Wayne J,

I hope you enjoyed your time with us. Sometimes going through travel agents can be more expensive then booking directly with the hotel. Next time you come to the city call the hotel directly at 212-768-0007 and we would be happy to help you book a room!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four of us had a double room for about $120 pp per night. This was quite a steal in midtown Manhattan. Not to mention the amenities: kitchenette (fridge, freezer, microwave, sink, dishwasher, etc.), living area, a workout area, super-fast elevators and, best of all, a great breakfast. They were also so kind as to let us check in early and check out late and even store our luggage on checkout day while we did some last-minute touring.

Room Tip: Just call them ahead of time and discuss the kinds of rooms they have for you to choose. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Kevin G,

We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed our spacious rooms with the kitchenette area in each room. We are always happy to accommodate an early check-in if one is available and the same for a late check out! We hope to see you again soon!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night at the Residence Inn as part of my birthday celebration. It was the Saturday before Thanksgiving which is a great time to be in NYC before it becomes crowded for the holiday season. My husband had called to tell them that it was my birthday and we got upgraded to the 29th floor which has a great view of the Empire State Building. It was all lit up in purple that evening.
Breakfast- The included buffet breakfast was excellent with a great variety of hot and cold foods.
Location: The location of this hotel is excellent. It is walking distance to all of the important sites. It is only a few blocks from Macy's. The Christmas windows were opened for display 2 days before our visit. The hotel is near the Empire state Building, and Bryant Park ( which had its Christmas markets open) , Lord and Taylor which had its Christmas windows on display and Bloomingdales which also had beautiful Christmas windows. It is not too far away from Times Square, and Radio City. We had tickets through Living Social for the Radio City Christmas Spectacular and Backstage tour.
Room- was an upgrade to a large suite with a king bed and comfortable mattress. It had a microwave, refrigerator, counter with table and chairs, sofa and a large HD TV. The bathroom had a sink outside of the bathroom and was a good size.
Staff- excellent. Very attentive
I would definitely stay here again. Sorry it took so long to write this review.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello snoopy1128,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us this past year! The location during the holiday season is great for window shopping. Macy’s and Lord and Taylor are my favorite! Next time you come maybe we can get you a room with a view of the Radio City Music Hall.

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As others have mentioned, the location is ideal. It's close to everything including subway stations. The staff was very friendly. The room is small but clean and the free breakfast is good (although my daughter wanted to know how they could NOT have bacon!) The breakfast can be a madhouse so go early. We parked our car for the exorbitant price of $66 a day, no in and out privileges, and any requests to the hotel about parking were shrugged off, since they just rent space in the neighborhood garage.

Room Tip: The city is noisy - ask for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaloobloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello yaloobloo,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of the subway stations and the local sites. Parking in NYC is very pricy everywhere. We do use a garage that is directly behind us that has the NYC prices to offer. The only times you will get something cheaper if you want to walk quite a bit. Next time you come we can recommend something else if you prefer! We hope to see you again!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed here on one of our many mini weekend getaways. I have to say the hotel had a decent amount if ware and tare when it comes to the overall look of the lobby. But when we were given the keys to the room we were blown away the room was nice and spacious there were problems with the lighting but by the time we left to get a quick dinner it was fixed. We opened or blinds and we had a front row view of the empire state building without a request or even knowing. The shower wasnt to favorable in the design but i wont nit pick. Best part of the weekend saturday we awoke to a nice breakfast buffet on the second floor eggs, sausage, oatmeal, and etc. I'd try to snatch the brunch early and on saturday because we checked out thankfully reserving brunch at another location on sunday and to go downstairs on sunday and get brunch was a zoo too 30min to get juice and bagel. this hotel is worth the monay blocks from time square and right in the thick of all the excitement

Room Tip: recommend high floors and ask to be on the side with the empire stat building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topchef3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello Topchef3630,

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I am happy to hear you were accommodated with a spacious room viewing the Empire State building. When entering the hotel the main floor is the reception area, and the 3rd floor is the main lobby area which holds the breakfast area, studio 100, and library area. We will make sure to get you another room on a high floor with the same view for your next visit!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzlia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent 10 days at the hotel. Got a great room on a high floor. Position of the hotel is superb. Near the heart of the "action". Walking distance a lot of the night life as well as shopping, restaurants and all the activities that holiday makers are engaged in. The breakfast served on level 3 is very good with a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello udihc,

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. We are happy to hear that the hotel was comfortable for your 10 day trip to NYC! I agree the midtown location is great for all the local attractions and nightlife. We hope to see you again!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#230 of 468 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#155 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 468 in New York City
5,555 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing