We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay right in the centre of things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #210 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We moved here after one disastrous night in a substandard hotel elsewhere. It was a wonderful change and made us feel much happier about our trip. The room we stayed in had a wonderful view of the Empire state building. we were on the 12th floor which was fine as the lift was quick once it arrived! The room included a well stocked kitchenette with microwave, coffeee machine, large fridge freezer, and lots of cooking pots etc. there was even a dishwasher which the room cleaner loaded and put on if required. The bed was gigantic and there was a comfortable seating area too.
Breakfast was included. This was a little disappointing with some rather tasteless limp food self-served on paper plates with plastic utensils.However it was free and you did not have to eat it.
we had one night when our neighbours had what sounded like a party. I called the duty manager who immediately sent security up to ask them to quieten down - which they did. When mentioned it the next morning, they knocked $100 of our bill! I thought this was very fair treatment.
All in a good place to stay which gives you the chance to heat up your doggy bag of food left over from the huge meals you are presented with when you eat out!
By the way there is an excellent Deli if you turn right out of the hotel door - on the next corner!

Room Tip: Higher rooms might have even better views but hard to beat ours on 12th!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katemanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hello Katemanley,

Thank you for your review about my hotel for potential visitors. It is great to hear you had a room with the Empire State view, and enjoyed the large room and bed that each room has to accommodate the guests. Being a hotel in New York City you might end up with some people here to party, and it sounded like the guest on the same floor as you were here just to do that. I am happy we could resolve your problem and left with a happy resolution. We hope to see you again soon in New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

960 - 966 of 2,432 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were traveling with family so we got a suite with two double beds. The room was huge by NYC standards and the rate was excellent. Anytime you can stay in NYC (over the weekend) at a decent hotel for under $200/night, you're doing pretty well. Even the beds seemed larger than the standard double. Breakfast was included, and offered pretty much anything you wanted, including pancakes and waffles. Great location put us in the middle of everything, but since we were on 6th Avenue, we weren't overrun by the Times Square tourists.

Room Tip: I think the doubles may actually be larger than the kings . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlProfessore21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello IlProfessore21212,

Thank you for you kind review of your stay at my hotel. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed the oversized rooms with the large beds to accommodate your family. The extensive complimentary breakfast buffet is my favorite epically the waffle station! We hope to see you again soon!

Ashley Deichert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for a family weekend NYC getaway. On the one hand, it was a good buy for New York; on the other hand, you are getting a fairly average hotel for the extravagant costs you pay in New York City for a hotel room that is small by other cities' standards. So with the understanding that New York hotel rooms are overpriced and undersized, this was a decent option.

The location was safe and convenient to Penn Station, Broadway and Times Square. Bathroom was small but clean, but I did notice the outlet needed maintenance's attention. Beds were so-so comfortable; not terrible but not great. The room itself was clean.

Breakfast was overcrowded and the elevators to/from it were very slow. They even have a sign up about this in the elevator, so they are aware of the problem. I noticed that the staffers working the hotel breakfast were slow to do things like replenish empty fork and coffee containers.

We did not have any problems with outside noise.

A nice touch - the hotel sent up a slice of birthday cake for one of my daughters. (I had noted on the online reservation the trip was for her birthday).

All in all, a good choice for New York, but I don't feel I got my money's worth when I compare it to hotels across the country that I have spent less at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennyFanFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello KennyFanFairfax,

Thank you for your input on your stay with us. We are happy you choose to stay with us for your daughter’s birthday, and enjoyed the cake we sent up to celebrate. The breakfast can get crowded at time with the high occupancy, but the line usually moves very quickly being that it is buffet style. We hope to see you again next year for your Birthday!

Ashley Deichert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on 29th floor. Used my reward points for my stay. Staff was very nice and kitchen staff very helpful in morning for breakfast buffet. Good location to Bryant Park and Fashion District and Time Square, also convenient to Penn Station (Amtrak)
We had loud and noisy girls next door. The rooms could use sound proofing, as not everyone is conscientious of neighbors at 1, 2 or 3 am. Rooms could use updating. But all in all, not bad. We did not get a view but didn't really care, as we were using the room for sleep and showers.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryQ1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello MaryQ1972,

Thank you for your review about my hotel for potential visitors. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location that is conveniently located to Penn Station where the Amtrak trains are also located. Happy to hear the complimentary breakfast was helpful for you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again.

Ashley Deichert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed one night before having to catch an early Amtrak train from Penn station. Check in was quick. The staff was able to give me directions to a few restaurants. The block is great and has great choices and lots of shops.
The room is a nice size. I had the studio and it was lovely. No noise from other rooms and all the appliances in the kitchen were great.
The little shop inside the hotel is pricey if you are just wanting a soda so you may want to take a walk around outside. I missed breakfast because of my early train but the staff was nice. The location is amazing. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank bmoregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hello bmoregirl,

Thank you for your review about my hotel for potential visitors. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location that is conveniently located to Penn Station and all the subway lines. I agree that our hotel rooms are spacious for New York City size. We hope to see you again soon.

Ashley Deichert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I work a hotel so I tend to judge hotels a little more that most people. I stayed here one night in August last year and it was amazing. We were given a room with a veiw of the empire state building and the room was suprisingly spacious for a NYC hotel. Room was very clean and well kept. Everything worked and the breakfast was decent for a free breakfast. The fresh cut fruit was nice as most places put out the preserved fruit cocktails. We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were walking around all day in museums and aroud time square but it was a perfect place to rest our sore feet when we were ready for some rest. Will come back once my wife and I return to New York.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doogie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello Doogie86,

Thank you for your review of my hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious hotel rooms we have they are hard to come by in New York City. Please let me know before you and your wife return and we can get you the same view.

Ashley Deichert
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is everything you could possibly want in NYC or any other city. Perfect location, totally secure, service at world class levels, a club floor that is welcoming, great breakfast, and a spacious room with a full kitchen for those of us who like to relax with a late supper after a busy day in Manhattan. This property gets an unqualified "thumbs up" from this traveler and his wife. We have no "downsides" to report--just an all around good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_shepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hello george_shepard,

Thank you for your wonderful review for potential visitors. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location and breakfast buffet. We pride ourselves on keeping a secure environment for our guest, and happy to see your recognized this! We hope to see you here again in the near future.


Ashley Deichert
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#117 of 469 in New York City
1,300 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#152 of 469 in New York City
5,755 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#66 of 469 in New York City
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018-5408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $205 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From weekend getaways to extended stays, Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square positions you in the beating heart of New York City. Embark on dynamic adventures to the Empire State Building, Central Park, Javits Center and Bryant Park. Encounter rejuvenation in our spacious suites. We deliver homelike comforts with our complimentary Wi-Fi, kitchenettes and luxurious bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Splitty, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing