We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #195 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
700 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great location. Large rooms. Very clean. No elevator delays in spite of size. Good breakfast. (Free papers,
even on Sunday). Bathroom is cozy, but this is NYC. Good towels.
Friendly staff, although a little backed up at busy times. Excellent housekeeping.
Great location for the Theater or for subway connections to anywhere in NYC.
Lots of good restaurants nearby. Ben's Kosher Deli and Main Noodle House were both quite good.
We will certainly return to this property.

Room Tip: High floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hello Buzzy1 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for potential visitors. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed the wonderful location and great amenities at the hotel. Thank you for recommending the Residence Inn to other travelers, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    875
    204
    56
    30
See reviews for
1,049
520
105
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are looking for a grand lobby, fine restaurants, fancy bedding this is not your place. The rooms are a decent size with small kitchenette (even a crock pot). The hotel is clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is generous with nice seating. The location is about three blocks from the hustle of Times Square. All in all a very pleasant stay. It is a clear 3 1/2 star hotel..just don't expect luxury.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor. There was no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear IdahoJim,

Thank you for your response about my hotel. I am happy you got to enjoy our 3rd floor which is out lobby level with the breakfast area, bar, and sitting area. I have to agree with our great location just blocks away from all the hustle and bustle but walking distance to everything. I hope to see you again soon!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed one night - Saturday - with our two children (5 & 7) and one other family. It was nice to have a room with space in NYC that was an easy walk to Times Square and the show we went to on Broadway. It was nice to have breakfast too. The pull out sofa bed was ok for children, but probably not too comfortable for adults. The staff was very friendly. We were able to check in at 11:30 on Saturday and got two rooms right next to each other on a high floor with a great view.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingForWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello LookingForWarm,

Thank you for sharing your review of my hotel with potential travelers. I have to agree that our hotel is in the perfect location of New York City. I am happy that you and your family got to enjoy our spacious rooms and breakfast buffet. We hope to see you and your family again soon at our hotel.

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend. Great location and the room was a good size for NY. Glad to have the kitchenette as well. Bed was very comfortable. They offer a full breakfast on the 3rd floor and there are plentyof seats, even on a busy Sunday morning. The breakfast had real plates and silverware. They had paper plates for you to use if you were taking items with you. The kitchenettes as well were fully equipped. Within walking distance of Fifth Ave, Times Square, and the Empire State Buliding. Byrant Park almost across the street and metro stop a block away. The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating. Only negative was we had a construction site for a view but we didn't care and Sunday morning it was hard to get an elevator as everyome seemed to be checking out at the same time. They may need to do a little updating (sofa looked a little tired) but still very clean and roomy. I would definatley recommend this property to anyone looking for great value, great location and superior service.

We will make it a point to stay here again the next time we travel to NY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplelvrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Purplelvrl,

Thank you for sharing your review of my hotel with potential travelers. I have to agree that our location is ideal. We are close enough to Times Square to enjoy all it has to offer without being caught in the hustle and bustle each time you walk out the door. I'm also glad you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and found our early staff to be warm and hospitable. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. I hope you'll visit us again soon.

Ashley Deichert
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice view from my room of Empire State Building. The room / suite was big but a little tired - especially the settee. Room was well equipped , but too much so. Large fridge freezer, noisy at night, backed up by micro wave oven, slow cooker and full kitchen.
Bathroom was fine and adequate.
For the price paid, I don't expect paper plates and paper cups for breakfast. Plastic cutlery, also a bit cheap. I think this is more acceptable in the USA where may places seem to have adopted this throw away mentality. It just feels cheap to me.
Well located hotel and ideal for business or pleasure, although popular with families due to the full cooking and catering facilities.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Alex G,

Thank you for your response of my property. So happy you got to enjoy a nice view of the Empire State building during your stay with us. Our breakfast area is fully equipped with ceramic plates and silverware. I think you may have been referring to our "to-go" paper and plastic silverware. This amenity is for the guests that would like to enjoy the breakfast to go in there room. I apologize that you did not get to use the ceramic plates during your stay. We hope to see you here on your next trip to New York City.

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here on my family's second trip to NYC and we decided to pay a little bit more to get a room with a little kitchenette - and i am so glad we did! The location of this hotel was perfect and the rooms were spacious and very practical (definitely not your standard "can't fit a suitcase anywhere" room). We booked two rooms (one checking in a few days later) and they managed to accommodate us with both rooms right next to each other which was extremely appreciated. The staff were friendly and we received nice thank you notes from housekeeping. As other reviews have said - breakfast in this place is amazing considering it is complimentary! The staff there were extremely friendly and there were also no problems taking food and drink back to the rooms (which helps to lessen the crowd in the dinning area on busy weekends). While we were there we also utilised their laundry facilities which were convenient as we were staying for a considerably long period.


The only areas in which i could fault this place was the uncomfortable sofa bed (but all sofa beds are - so that is forgivable) and that housekeeping had a 1 in 2 chance of remembering a floor towel for the bathroom (but they remembered everything else!)

Overall, we had a great trip and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear B S,

Thank you for your kind words about my hotel here at the Residence Inn Time Square. I will thank my front desk and housekeeping staff for their great hospitality. It is great to hear you got use out of the full kitchen area. I hope you were able to use our hot plates to cook a full meal! Please let me know when you decide to return for another long trip so we can get you into another spacious room!

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and it also has probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in! The rooms were clean and the property felt well maintained, breakfast was also good, will definetely return when in NYC again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello Lisa60795 ,

Thank you for your kind response on my hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our comfortable Marriott beds. The complimentary breakfast buffet is the best deal around. We look forward to seeing you again at your next stay with us here in New York City.

Ashley Deichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#230 of 468 in New York City
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#155 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 468 in New York City
5,551 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing