We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Continues to be our favorite NYC hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #180 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Continues to be our favorite NYC hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We've just returned from a winter weekend in NYC, staying at the Residence Inn Times Square for the fifth time. Each time, we ask ourselves why we would ever stay anywhere else. We continue to be amazed at the personal service offered by everyone from the front desk to the breakfast workers. Everyone greets us with a smile and genuine eagerness to make our stay a positive experience. This time, we were pleased to be able to stay in a Skyline City View Room (3106) with a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. The rooms are spacious, complete with a large kitchen area. The location is walking distance to the Times Square area and the theatre district. We love being able to print our airline boarding passes from the front lobby computer. Special thanks to Andre and the front desk crew who always treat us warmly. We look forward to returning again in the near future!

Room Tip: The rooms ending in "06" have a great view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Meredith77:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. It's so nice to hear you had such a nice visit and that our hotel continues to be your favorite hotel in New York City! I'll be sure to share your kind words with our staff, especially Andre. Please be sure to let me know the next time you’ll be visiting us.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    779
    168
    54
    23
See reviews for
931
476
98
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a very busy hotel in the center of New York City. The rooms are adequate and fairly comfortable.

Breakfast is included but is very chaotic (as one would expect). If you show up during the peak breakfast area, seating is limited and you often find yourself cleaning up someone else's mess just to have a table. (You bus your own garbage, but you realize how many inconsiderate people there are there!) The breakfast is simple but substantial.

The staff is unremarkable: not overly friendly or accommodating....but not rude.

Overall, it's just a hotel in the big city.....a bed to sleep in and a quick breakfast.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor...even with closed windows you'll hear street noise (but higher is quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Optoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Optoko:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm glad you and your family had a comfortable stay while visiting New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just finished a three-night stay at this Residence Inn as part of a weekend family get-away to New York. I was very, very pleased with the hotel. You get what you would expect from a Residence Inn. Which, to be clear, I was happy with - but it wasn't anything special nor was it worn around the edges. But I'm giving the hotel an excellent review not because the hotel is a 5-star, luxurious hotel but because the hotel staff really ended up making the hotel more luxurious and welcoming than any other hotels where I have stayed.

The valet, the front desk staff, the housekeeping, and the buffet staff were just friendly, plain and simple, and helpful. Housekeeping loaded our dishwasher for us and started the dishwasher, though I didn't expect them too. The buffet staff clears your table for you; they don't at other hotels of this type where I've stayed.

As others have stated, the hotel is well-located for most touristy things in NY: Times Square, museums, Bryant Park and the Public Library, etc. Also like others have said, the breakfast is much better than you typically get in hotels like this.

Good job, Residence Inn!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear travelerboy:

Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for potential visitors. It's so nice to hear you and your family had such an excellent stay. I'm so glad we were able to exceed your expectations.

I'll be sure to share your kind words with our staff. I hope you'll consider staying with us again the next time your travel plans bring you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
183 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First time at this hotel, stayed one night.

Was given an upgrade to a corner room on check in - rooms that end in 01 have side and front windows, and a great view down Ave/Americas. Room was good sized, bath was small. The door intruded into the room, I kept hitting it because it was in the way - this bath should have sliding doors for sure. Other than that room was clean, sizeable, and well appointed with fridge and microwave. Also - for being right in Midtown - this room was very quiet

As others have mentioned - breakfast was a feast - typical Residence Inn fare - was good.

Elevators were quick - no issue. Fitness room was disappointing - for a hotel this size it was really small and had good cardio equipment, but next to no weights or machines. Need an upgrade here.

One last thing - prices in the bar were crazy - even by NY standards.

One great thing about this hotel is the location. It really is convenient to things that you can walk to - and the subway is about a 3 minute walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear RobBflo1:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm glad to hear we were able to meet your travel needs and you found our location conveniently located in Midtown. I hope you'll stay with us the next time business brings you to New York City.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed with four adults (yes, four) in a studio with two double beds. While the 320 sq. ft. was a bit worrisome, the room layout actually worked for us. As others have mentioned, the bathroom is small but with the kitchenette area, we had another sink option and a "dressing area." We each brought one of those folding camping chairs to wait for the parade, which turned out to be very helpful in the room as there are only two small chairs for the table and one comfortable chair (no sofa).

The staff was very helpful and we didn't encounter a lot of trouble with the elevators or the breakfast buffet...and it was Thanksgiving weekend. If you can handle New York, you can handle these facilities. Location was great for lots of walking. Gabby O'Hara's Irish Pub right around the corner was a nice respite for a relaxing atmosphere and good food.

Definitely ask for a room on the 20th floor or higher if you're sensitive to noise. The first room they gave us was very dark, so we asked for another one and were happy with it. The room was pretty clean, but the carpeting needs to be replaced. Actually, it wouldn't hurt to update the walls, either.

The hotel was on the parade route this year. There were some barricades in front of the hotel, which helped to secure your own space. We got down there around 6:00 am, took turns for breakfast, etc., and folded up our chairs at 9:45 am when the parade came into view. Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher-level room (20th floor +). Rooms are a bit dark, so check out your room before movi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank St._Louie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear St._Louie:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm so glad to hear you and your friends had such a great experience staying with us. I hope you enjoyed the parade and the beautiful weather!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Good value. Good location. Free Internet. Not pretentious. Probably one the better alternatives in that price category.

I have been visiting NYC yearly since 1988 and this was probably the best value hotel I ever stayed in. It is not luxury and it doesn't pretend to be so either.

Room Tip: Pic a room facing the north side of the building and you get a nice view over Bryant Park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Christer K:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you found value in staying with us. Thank you for posting a photo of the view from your room!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmes beach, fl
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you stayed in other hotels in NYC, you know the size of the suite was a treat and conventienly located and priced well. Great refrigerator and kitchenette. I have no complaints. Due to Hurricane Sandy, the Statue of Liberty and the Seaport were closed. Plenty of great shopping nearby.

Room Tip: We always enjoy a higher floor to get any view available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear mayrealtor:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and found our rooms comfortable and our location conveniently located. I hope you'll visit with us again soon.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#221 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#149 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#74 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018-5408
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#115 Family Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of amenities including a free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery, and free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing