We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #197 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Hotel/Great Location”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent a few days over Labor Day at this hotel. It's very close to everything (Times Square, Empire State Building, Herald Square) but not in the middle of the madhouse that Manhattan can be. It's close to Bryan Park which is loverly to sit out and take a break from the city.

My suite was quite big for NY standards. The bathroom was clean and she shower had good water pressure. The bed was very comfortable and there was lil to zero noise coming from the city. I slept in both nights I was there so I didn't require housekeeping.

The breakfast area gets very busy on a morning so it's advisable to go early or just before they close. Typical hotel buffet breakfast but everything was fresh and the attendant paid close attention to the levels and the cleanliness of the area. There's lots of space to sit but you can always take your food to your room.

Safety is good as you must have your room key to go up. I did have a friend come over and the lobby security guard was a bit mouthy and confrontational, even after I showed him my room key, he just kept rambling on. Not a huge deal.

This is a great place to stay especially if you don't want to be in the zoo of people at Times Square. Almost everything is a quick short walk away and the D train stops one block over.

Room Tip: avoid breakfast at peak times. It gets crowded and the elevator stops on every floor on the way to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefanTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear stefanwt:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm so glad to hear you had such a great visit and enjoyed our convenient location. Your breakfast tip to potential visitors is great; our third floor breakfast area can become quite busy at peak times and on weekends. We always suggest guests arrive a little earlier than anticipated. Thank you again for your review. I hope you'll visit with us in the future!

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,182
    884
    210
    59
    30
See reviews for
1,071
526
106
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at the Residence Inn this weekend and what a great location, great staff, great hotel. Actually they got us in a room at 8:00 am which was tremendously appreciated. Staff was super nice, professional and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. Being we had a late flight out, they held our luggage so we could get the last bit of shopping done. Room was even big enough for three women! Bathroom quarters were a little tight but it worked. Thanks Marriott for making this a memorable trip to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Judy P:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm so glad you and your family had such a memorable visit to New York City! I'll be sure to share your kind words with our staff. I hope you’ll visit with us again.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Residence Inn TImes Square.. is only several blocks away from the TKTS booth at Times Square and all the Broadway theaters... but it's delightfully removed FROM the hustle and hassle OF Times Square..Yes the rooms are somewhat "cozy" sized.. but this is New York and not Kansas..but they're also bigger than many in the city at twice the price. They're spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed, a spotless bathroom, and maybe a bit of a view if you're on a high floor--but who comes to New York to stay in the room all day anyway. The 6th Ave subway is right outside the door, the 7th Ave/B'way IRT around the corner for easy access to all of the City... but a mere block away is the absolute wonder of Bryant Park--a delicious Oasis in the middle of the CIty, and maybe my favorite park in New York (although the Highline-especially the new section-- comes close). And if your strolling through or taking outside lunch in Bryant Park.. don't miss the beauty of the top floor reading room at the NY Public Library which the park backs up to if you've never been. Or just bring your final cup of morning coffee from the hotel after breakfast and come sit in the park for a few minutes before you begin your day's plunge into the joys of New York. Macy's, H&M an Herald Square are a five minute walk, and Lord&Taylor and mid 5th Ave five mins. in the other direction. Breakfast--the superb buffet and inviting warm club atmosphere of the breakfast room at this Res. Inn are only one more reason to stay here. Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen and some wonderful mid priced restaurants are ten to fifteen mins. on foot. The lobby's nothing to write home about visually, little seating (but that's the norm for many in city hotels of this type, since it discourages non-guests from making themselves too at home)--yet the front desk staff is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and efficient. My partner and I were totally satisfied with our two night stay....I'm torn between four and five stars here since there are many true five star hotels in New York. But for the price, the value and what it is as a functional chain property, I'll go with the five--since if you were looking for a "five star" experience, this probably wouldn't be your route. But for a great New York weekend location, I couldn't ask for better. Only one shortcoming--no coffee in the bfst. room after 11 am since they're now selling Starbucks in the lobby--for your convenience of course. (although hot water and tea bags...are available. Shame on you Marriott from us coffee drinkers who expect it hot and fresh day and night..and on demand.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Joe S:

Thank you for posting your review of my hotel for potential visitors. I'm so glad to hear you and your partner were satisfied with your stay. It sounds like you were able to see and do many things. I have to agree with you; Bryant Park is one of my favorite parks in the city as well. I hope you've had the chance to visit the park during the holidays/winter months. It looks completely different! Thank you again for taking the time to review my hotel. I hope you’ll visit with us again.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in a King suite with a view of Bryant Park. The room was clean and larger than most. It had a King and a queen sofa with a full kitchen. Our reservation came with a free breakfast. The club room was large with plenty of comfortable seating and views of the city. The food was plentiful, fresh and diverse. The staff was extra friendly and attentive. We had some requests and they were very quick to fulfill them. I would be hard pressed to say anything negative other than parking was super expensive and the small size of toiletries. So make sure you bring your own shampoo and conditioner or raid the maid cart!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear maj2007:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm glad you and your family had a nice stay and you enjoyed our centralized location! I hope you'll visit with us again.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Clean, comfortable, great location, quiet and friendly staff. Couldn't check in early so they upgraded us to a king room. Concierge Judy was so much help. Taught us how to read the subway map, lol. She also told us about a fantastic Mexican Restaurant in Hell's Kitchen. The location is close to all Time Square attractions, Rockefeller Square (had to goto the Today Show taping), Shopping, Subway Stations connecting other areas of interests. Also the room rate includes a huge Breakfast Buffet every morning that was outstanding, better than some we've paid for. Great start to a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Casey722:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I'll be sure to share your kind words with Judy! I hope you’ll visit with us again.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We recently used some Marriott rewards points for a Saturday night stay in NYC to see a Broadway show. It was part anniversary celebration/part summer weekend getaway with a 13-yr old (stepson). We'd gone on tripadvisor and read the reviews...much to our pleasant surprise this was a GREAT choice!

For the value, location and amenities (free breakfast) that this one had to offer - it was a great choice and one that we'll gladly come back to next time we're in NYC!

The reviews we read on the long lines for breakfast we NOT lying - it was LONG, but seemed to move fast. By far, it was the BEST (free) breakfast at a Marriott hotel chain that we've been to. So, keep up the good work...the manager on duty when we checked in (can't remember his name) was AWESOME. I want to say it was 'Tito' but I could be wrong. Great service, great view of the Empire State Building...great experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpunkyDivaLola1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear LMHill71:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for TripAdvisor readers. I'm glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your visit to New York City!

Please be sure to let me know the next time you'll be visiting with us.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great location! Within a few minute walk you can be in Times Square, on Broadway, at the Empire State Building, in Rockefeller Center or in Central Park! However, you do pay for location. If you plan on driving, you will pay even more as the hotel charges about $60 a night to park your car and cannot take your car in and out of the garage during your stay. This hotel does provide a couple of benefits that will save you some money when it comes to meals. Your stay includes a free buffet breakfast each day which includes items such as cereal, scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, toast, bagels, coffee, juice, etc. If your smart, you’ll grab some extra fruit/snacks to take with you to snack on during the day. Each hotel room also has a small kitchen which includes a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. If you do eat out, you can always take your leftovers back to your room an reheat them for a meal/snack later on during your stay. Or you can bring some groceries with you and eat/heat up meals in your room.
Our room also contained a pull out couch which provided perfect sleeping arrangements for our family of 3. My husband and I had our own king size bed while our daughter had the pull out couch to herself.
This hotel if far enough away from Times Square which allows you to get a peaceful night’s sleep, but close enough to be part of all the excitement and action when you want to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abusinesstraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan C, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear abusinesstraveler_11:

Thank you for reviewing my hotel for potential visitors. I'm glad to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed our central location! I think many traveling families would agree with you; our in room kitchenettes and full complimentary breakfast is a huge cost saver. I hope you'll visit with us again.

My best,

Ryan Cortese
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#115 of 467 in New York City
1,245 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#228 of 467 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,632 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#107 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 1033 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top hotels in Times Square, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square invites you to take advantage of the many wonderful amenities we provide for business and leisure travelers. Our Bryant Park hotel's free daily breakfast and newspaper delivery offers a great way to start the day, and our free high-speed wireless Internet is available throughout our hotel 24 hours a day. Our all-suite accommodations give you the space you need to work or relax after a long day in New York City. From our Bryant Park hotel's excellent central location, you can access all that NYC has to offer: restaurants, bars, attractions, and corporate offices. Of course, should you want to stay at our hotel, we have a cozy lounge and bar that you may linger in. Visit us at Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Times Square New York Hotel New York City
Residence Inn New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Residence Inn
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing