We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy or Renaissance title.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Ranked #292 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worthy or Renaissance title.”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I am a elite traveler on Hilton and Marriot. This hotel continues to disappoint. Some of the loudest rooms in NYC with street noise, windows are paper thin. Rooms are smaller than any hotel other than W Hotel on Lex. Better bet for Marriot traveler is Marriot East Side. Good restaurant/bar scene, but rest of hotel subpar.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoosBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    491
    230
    67
    48
See reviews for
235
453
96
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Staff was very friendly, even when we checked in with a fussy toddler. They remained friendly and helpful (directions, dining options) throughout our stay. We booked through a third party site to save some money. The room was incredibly small and only had one double bed. The hotel went out of their way and honored our price while upgrading us to a larger room with two double beds. The room was very basic. Bathroom was a decent size and modern. My only complaint was housekeeping. Although friendly, they didn't do a very good job. our carpet was not vacuumed during our stay and our bedding wasn't aired out. Other than that, no complaints. Would definitely stay there again due to its close proximity to Central Park, great shopping and dining.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Used Priceline to bid on a room in NYC. Renaissance Hotel 57 accepted my bid only because I was assigned a single double bed FOR TWO PEOPLE. I called Priceline customer service who were only sorry, but could not resolve the assigned single double bed. Renaissance only accepted my bid because they could give me a double bed (there cheapest bed) FOR TWO PEOPLE. This is simply a warning when using Priceline. I will NEVER use Priceline again, because you don't know what type of bed/room you will receive. That's the price you pay for bidding. Never again. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JG_ViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Overall, we were happy with our stay at the Renaissance 57. We stayed over four nights over the Easter weekend. The hotel is in an superb location (57th and Lexington) and is close to the subway, Central Park, and major shopping areas.

We decided to park our car in a private lot ($30/night) rather than pay the $50/night valet parking.

This is a boutique hotel and the rooms, as expected, are very small. Our room had a queen sized bed and there was enough room so you can just walk around the bed. It was clean and newly renovated, and the street noise was minimal.

We did not eat at the hotel, but the bar seemed to be a very popular spot with locals.

We would stay here again, mainly because of its location.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The Renaissance New York Hotel 57 was a great hotel and a tremendous value. My wife and I stayed there for a weekend in April and I got a room for an incredible price via their website. The location was great and close to several subway lines. The room was extremely small (just a full size bed) but was definitely modern and nicely maintained. For the value, I definitely give this hotel five stars.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravens4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed here with co-workers last week and we all thought it was a great spot. The rooms are all very different and interesting. Room 1703 has incredible outdoor patios - not one, but two, with views down Lexington Avenue past Citigroup Center to the Chrysler Building - fantastic room. The bed was great, everything clean and tidy, nice flat screen TV with media inputs for everything you can imagine. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Starbucks three doors to the left and also one across the street. Great restaurants nearby and two blocks from Bloomingdale's. Safe neighborhood. All in all, priced well and well worth it. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJC404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I stayed only one night but this was a great hotel, staff stored my luggage all day while I shopped, rooms were small, as is typical for NY, but very comfortable. The bar/restaurant adjacent to the lobby was lively and we had fun having (expensive) cocktails and hor d'oeurves. The best thing about this hotel is the location. You are across from a Starbucks and a submway stop, and one block from Bloomies!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,234 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#67 of 468 in New York City
580 reviews
Midtown
The Lombardy Hotel
The Lombardy Hotel
#256 of 468 in New York City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#283 of 468 in New York City
3,175 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#146 of 468 in New York City
1,280 reviews
Midtown
Carvi Hotel New York
Carvi Hotel New York
#224 of 468 in New York City
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Property: Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Business Hotel in New York City
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Manhattan boutique hotel has unveiled a completed couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing