We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice and good location midtown. Still looking for the perfect biz hotel in NYC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Ranked #331 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I'm always looking for a mid priced hotel in midtown that will really be worth the $500 night that a place like this costs. I don't expect the Four Seasons at that price, but it should be nice. The R57 is in a very good location. The rooms are small and spartan, as with most of this type of renovated old hotel. The common areas are funky and a bit crowded for space, but fine. Overall, a decent choice and I might stay there again, but only for a quick business trip. Definitely not with my wife or family ... Too cramped for that.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank spep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for a surprise weekend getaway for my boyfriend's birthday in March. We usually stay around grand central station but loved this location! We've also stayed at the Renaissance Times Square and prefer this location. The service, food and drinks were top notch at the hotel. The ambience in the lobby bar was very nice. Despite being part of a large chain, this felt like a small boutique hotel. Rooms are beautiful and spacious with Aveda products. On one of the days, the breakfast was closing a bit early due to a private function, yet they made an exception and prepared us an amazing breakfast in a nice booth in the concierge lounge. Service everywhere was outstanding. The concierge helped us with all our dinner reservations. On our last day we had a later flight out and the concierge helped us store some items that had to be refrigerated. This has become our new favourite spot to stay when travelling in NYC. Thank you to everyone for such an amazing stay we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Renaissance New York Hotel 57! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate New York experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal spot. Thanks for taking the time to share this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a 3 day spring break and it was one of the best places we stayed in. The location is perfect. We usually stay in Times Square. This time because of the best rate we found we decided to stay a little bit out and I'm glad we did. It's less crowded and lots of good places to eat and shopping. At the time of booking, we only found a room with queen bed. We asked the hotel if they can upgrade us because we were traveling with a 9yr old. The didn't want to promise us since they were booked. When we checked in they upgraded us to a room with king bed with a view. Thank you!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank bulgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I attended a conference in NYC but elected to stay with Marriott and walk 8 blocks to my meeting as opposed to staying with "the other guy". (Yes, I'm a Marriott member) This is one of the coolest hotels I've stayed in. The artistic features are appreaciated (there's flowers in the floor!) and the modern yet comfortable seats throughout the lobby and lounge areas are truly inviting. It's a relatively small hotel, which adds to its charm. The concierge longe is serviced for the business traveler throughout the week and they will do everthing in their power to make sure you have a great stay. I will definitely stay here again if giventhe opportunity to visit NYC.

Room Tip: The rooms are small, but, you're in NYC. Great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VGLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After a 10 hour trip we arrived at the hotel only to be told that out reservation would not be honored as the previous guests decided to stay longer and we would not have the room we requested. Shame on this hotel and shame on Marriott. I will never stay in a Marriott ever again and will do everything in my power to dissuade anyone from staying in their hotels...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AtlasShrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

On behalf of the hotel please accept my apologies for the issue that you experienced at Hotel 57. Every guest is very important to us and I am sorry that we fell short last week in ensuring a wonderful stay for you. If I can ever personally assist you with your next visit please feel free to contact me directly at manny.rappenecker@renaissancehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance Hotel 57 on a recent business trip to NYC. Other than the fact that the doorman was slacking off and not at his post as is expected at better hotels, my room was small but adequate, immaculate and very comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and anxious to ensure that my stay was perfect. I would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was taken to this hotel by my husband for my 50th birthday. what I didn't know was that my sister and brother-out-law were coming with us. But everyone at the hotel did - apparently !!
From before we arrived, e-mails and phone calls had been going back and forth - making everyone aware that it was my birthday etc etc. Then when I arrived they could not have looked after me better - Welcome to NYC !!!!- nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful rooms, the most gorgeous lounge area - the fire is to die for !! The OPIA restaurant is fantastic - quirky but intimate at the same time. Did I feel spoilt and special !! - you betcha . This is probably not the grandest New York hotel but the level of service is absolutely awesome. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE FOR SUCH A MEMORY XXX

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#269 of 470 in New York City
3,536 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#78 of 470 in New York City
741 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#173 of 470 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#208 of 470 in New York City
3,921 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 470 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Midtown
Hilton New York Grand Central
Hilton New York Grand Central
#343 of 470 in New York City
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $131 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance New York Hotel 57 is a recently renovated Midtown Manhattan boutique hotel that has unveiled a couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. We offer comfort and style in one of NYC's most sophisticated neighborhoods close to top New York City attractions like Fifth Avenue and Central Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing