We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean rooms with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Ranked #304 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I took my wife out for a night in the city and used my points to stay here.
First of all the staff went out of their way to find us a room when we arrived early. Then they were very helpful with recommendations for things to do and places to see.
Finally te room was actually luxurious by manhattan standards. I've paid $500 a night for a broom closet sized room with a lumpy bed, but this place was roomy and comfortable and cost as much in points as a residence inn!!!

Overall a great experience. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusinessTravelDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance New York Hotel 57
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 812 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice clean hotel very centrally located on E57. Room was tiny, but it's Manhattan so you get what you paid for. Didn't eat or drink anything in the hotel so can't comment on that, but the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the lobby was not bad. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dcbuddyobuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thanks for your posting and positive comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good location unless you on theater bound - then consider something closer to Times Square. I was pleasantly surprised by the Renaissance New York Hotel 57. The rooms are nice but small. I was given a corner room upgrade on the 14th floor- Was very quiet and looked larger than the other rooms on the floor. One complaint was bumping my shin on the bad frame constantly when trying to use the desk (yes it really is that small and tight). Bathroom was very clean and well laid out for space- nice size tub/shower combo. I did need to call for service to a clogged drain but they replied quickly and fixed it. The hotel staff is great. Housekeeper and turn down attendant but great ladies. The nice Russian born bellman was really great at recommending great food for delivery one late evening when I was tired. Restaurant service was the only letdown. They had terribly slow service, manager yelling at staff in Spanish (as a speaker I was really offended by his words) and poor food quality (hence the need for delivery). Even this won’t stop me from returning to the hotel. The Renaissance New York Hotel 57 is a good value in New York.

Room Tip: Corner room on higher floor
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eccewbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location...we love playing in Central Park for a few days out of every trip we take when we go to New York so R57 is perfect for that. The rooms are nice, nothing to brag about but always clean. Bathrooms are usually spotless. We've had a patio/balcony room once and that was pretty cool; don't find many places with those in NYC.
The hotel bar staff are great. Bellmen always nice...check in has never been a problem and dinner reservations easy & usually right on when you ask for certain foods.
GREAT PLACE for the money you'll spend.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a great value...if you're going to spend the money might as well live it up!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natorzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Glad that you enjoyed our property and our staff. We look forward to having you return for your return trip to New York City. Our location is perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed one night for business so the room was perfect for what I needed. The staff was all very helpful and super friendly. The room was clean and the bathroom was quite large. I wished there was a full length mirror in the room as the only one was in the bathroom. Bed was comfy and the noise level wasn't as bad as I thought it would be (I was on the 10th floor). Loved the Aveda bath products! The weekday rate was pretty decent for the room and that made this stay average.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Off2Vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was perfectly located for us as I was running in Central Park on New Years Eve so this made getting to and from the park very easy. The rooms are comfortable and well kept but the 'double' beds are too small for two people and we aren't big people! We were in Rm 407 but could hear the lift rumbling up and down. It also took a long time to get the lift, so more often than not we would walk down to the street. Well equipped fitness suite and lovely polite staff.

Room Tip: Go higher than the 4th floor! Oh, and go to the Palace Restaurant a few doors away for a great brea...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonGardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I am giving this a low review, but I have not stayed at this hotel yet. I will update the review once I stay there in March, as I’m hoping Marriott will help us out with this. The reason for this review is to make sure that potential guests are aware of the room sizes. I booked my room through Priceline and am incredibly disappointed. There are 3 adults going to New York in the spring, so we booked a standard room. One would think that a standard room is either 2 double beds or 1 queen or king size bed. However, this is not the case for the Renaissance hotels. A standard room is a double bed with no room for a rollaway. I called the hotel after I booked the room and was told that the reservation was for a standard room and there would be room for a rollaway bed. I thought that would be perfect. Well, we decided to add an extra night (as the airfare was considerably cheaper a day earlier) and I called the Marriott Renaissance reservation department. The nice gentleman informed that the Renaissance hotels have different “standard” rooms than other Marriott hotels. So, standard for one is not standard for another, which is slightly ironic considering the definition of “standard.” Now, in order to fit us all into a room we are going to have to pay considerably more than we anticipated and budgeted. This is quite a disappointment to all involved in this trip. I’m sure the hotel is as lovely as everyone has said; however, if the 3 of us can’t fit into our room it probably won’t be so lovely. So, moral of the story – don’t book on Priceline because they don’t give clear descriptions of what constitutes a standard room and make sure you know the differing room sizes at the Renaissance hotels.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

If you could reach out to me directly we will be sure to have you blocked into a room that meets your needs. We look forward to your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#61 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 468 in New York City
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Lombardy Hotel
The Lombardy Hotel
#281 of 468 in New York City
466 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#184 of 468 in New York City
2,389 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#164 of 468 in New York City
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New York Hotel 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New York Hotel 57

Address: 130 E 57th St, New York City, NY 10022-2726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $183 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated, Manhattan boutique hotel has unveiled a completed couture masterpiece by award-winning designer Jordan Mozer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New York Hotel 57 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New York City
Hotel 57 New York
New York City Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing