We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$318
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$170
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lucerne Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$322
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Muse Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$267
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$201
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$302
$269
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness center
Stewart Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Kimberly Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$279
$265
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$303
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveler rating
461
528
263
90
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
528
263
90
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopia restaurantcentral parkaveda productsthe concierge loungenew yorkmarriott propertychrysler buildingcozy roomlexington avenuerooftop terracerooms are smalljunior suiteupper east sidetwo blockscorner roomlocation is greattimes square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
900 - 905 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Renaissance this weekend. The staff was helpful with opening doors, sharing information about the hotel, and assisting us with where/how to use the subway system. Our room was clean but had only a fair view of the city. It's about a 2 mile walk from the Amtrak station, so we opted to use the E train uptown to the stop at 53rd and Lexington. Very easy walk to the hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor with barely anyone else on our floor. Very private.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingInLititz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your posting. I agree that our location is very central to everything, only 2 blocks from 5th Avenue and 1 block from Madison while still exceptionally accessible to everything on the East side. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Love the staff; the friendly welcome and concierge staff did a great job meeting my needs. I had double beds in my room, which wasn't a big deal as I traveled alone for business, but could be a downer for a romantic getaway. The counter space in my room was minimal; difficult as a woman to get ready in the morning.
Ambient hall noise was easy to hear through the doors, but so was traffic (57th is loud even on the 8th floor). If you are noise sensitive, just an FYI.
The hotel can be a little overpriced depending on the day; one of my nights was $569.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kait414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Due to Super-storm Sandy, I had been moved on November10/11 2012, from the Marriott Downtown to the Renaissance in mid-town. The Renaissance offers a convenient location for shopping as well as many tourist attractions. The rooms are small but adequate for one person. The service from the front desk, bellman and concierge were excellent with none of the New York hassle. Right outside the hotel were several restaurants serving cheap (for NYC) and tasty meals. Even the hotel's in-house restaurant (Opia) served great food at a reasonable price. Like all NYC Manhattan hotels it is overpriced, but even considering that, the Renaissance 57 in NYC gives good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here several times over the past few years. i am Marriott gold. this hotel is slipping. no one at the door to meet you, i had a car and bags with my family. quite frankly there is never one at the front so I shouldn't be surprised. rooms - first room small and by elevator, had to go back and ask for a different room. Really frustrating as gold level should receive something better. Beds - ok, air system terrible. set room temp at 72, 75 etc. never got above 68. lastly, the elevators are the worst. Long waits even when there is no one around. speaking of no one around, a line of 10+ people waiting for the elevator in the lobby at 10 PM last night. no manager in sight yet as the line grew for 10 mins. No excuses - management is never visible and this was certainly time to be around. i could go on and on - like someones room service tray sitting on the floor in the landing near the elevator overnight from 10 pm until at least 9 am. i left hotel at 9 AM.
when i see a hotel across the board have issues, each one not big but total it adds up, it shows me a lack of management involvement.

I usually stay on this side of town 6+ times per year and will look elsewhere next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBF6288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceNYHotel57, General Manager at Renaissance New York Hotel 57, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

As the new General Manager of the Renaissance Hotel 57 , I hope that you give us another chance. I've just started here and hope to be able to chance your perspective in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here with my 10 yr old son for 2 nights. Loved this hotel and will stay again. Convenient location close to shopping, subway, restaurants, Central Park. Yes, rooms are on the small side, but who goes to NYC to stay in their room? Recently renovated marble bathroom was huge by NYC hotel standards, definite plus! I especially liked the fact that the hotel is not cavernous and loud. Our room was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. As a Marriott silver member, we received access to the club lounge which serves a complimentary breakfast Mon-Fri. The lounge is open in the evening and serves a variety of beverages, offers a selection of board games and has a warm, cozy fire lit. The staff is friendly and accomodating. This hotel is a true find.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews