We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Bollywood in New York”
Review of Bombay Talkie - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bombay Talkie
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Description: Bombay Talkie, Chelsea's untra hip take on Indian "street food", continues to wow diners and critics. Created and owned by Sunitha Ramaiah, the bistro melds the two worlds dearest to her: Her childhood in Southern India and her adult life in Manhattan. Bombay Talkie contemporizes the regional cuisines of the tiny road side cafes (or Tea Houses) that dot the Indian sub continent.
Morrisville, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Bit of Bollywood in New York”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first thing you notice as you enter are the large posters of Bollywood movies. The food is meant to reflect the types of finger foods available on the streets in Indian cities. We ordered the Dosa and Kathie Wraps from the appetizer menu. Each appetizer was enough for two to share. The wrap was outstanding in every way, fully flavored. The dosa was delightfully presented, but the potato filling, while good, was very mildly spiced for my palate. Lamb Biryani was also nicely presented as a pyramid of rice with flavorful chunks of lamb. Chutney and raita sauces helped to assuage its dryness. The chicken korma was excellent and again mildly spicy. We ordered a wonderful warm and puffy naan to go with the meal. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruswalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good bye”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have over the years visited this restaurant so many times, brought friends there when they have visited New York, celebrated two friends birthday there and recommended it a lot to people who like spicy, good indian food. The lamb chops used to be suberb. Last week I went there with a friend visiting from Norway. Even though the restaurant was empty it took almost 40 minutes to get our food, and when the lamb chops finally arrived they were not cooked and litterally raw. On top of that had the chef tried to drown them in a gallon very greasy sauce. The waiter was professional and took my complaints very serious though, and offered a new meal. But it was to late. Life is to short to eat at restaurants that is not able to deliver. And it was also quite absurd when the Chef came out from the kitchen to blame the incident on another Chef(!). Bombay Talkie, you have lost a good customer. It´s really really sad to see a restaurant that used to be very good falling down like this.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freddykjensmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“highly under-rated”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food is excellent..! the service is good! the ambience is very nice! and this is still not one of the higher rated indian restaurants in the city.
the food is not greasy and is well prepared. they have a great menu especially the small eats.
Love the ambience with the bollywood music and paintings...
definitely one of the top 5 indian restaurants in the city...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahulNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing for a lot”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ordered in tonight an basically received some rice and 4 pieces of meat for $45, do not eat in this restaurant or order in, rip off!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runningtiger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Choices for Vegans”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My friend and I ate at Bombay Talkie last week and enjoyed our meal very much. I asked if they had choices for vegans and the waitress gave me several options that could be made vegan easily. Everything was delicious, the restaurant comfortable with pleasant decor, the service good and the prices reasonable. I will go back there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Talkie also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing