We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak was Devine”
Review of Bar Americain

Bar Americain
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Americain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: N/R and 1/9/F/D/B
Description: Bar Americain is an American Brasserie featuring regional American food created by Bobby Flay.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
330 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Steak was Devine”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Went here before a show. Cornbread sticks in bread basket was yummy! Service was excellent, attentive without being disruptive. I had the spiced rubbed strip steak, cooked perfectly. Mashed potatoes excellent, asparagus ok. The apple tart, more of a large cookie, awesome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssbelltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    531
    235
    96
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eh....not impressed”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I went here for a quick bite prior to going to Saturday evening mass at St. Pats Cathedral. We ate at the bar. The Bloody Mary I ordered was fantastic. I ordered a naked burger, medium well. The burger was charred on the outside and completely rare on the inside. I couldn't eat it, and I didn't have time to send it back. I did enjoy the fries that came with the meal, those were delicious! My husband was kind enough to swap me dishes. He ordered the chicken pot pie which was tasty, had a kick to it. Made me wish I'd have gotten that instead. The burger was honestly the worst I've had. My husband prefers his burgers medium, so he was OK with the rareness. But even for him, it was too rare. Kind of unfortunate, but it happens.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expected more.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our party arrived pre-show for dinner. We were seated upstairs overlooking the bar and tables below. Shows a little wear and tear: burn spots from the bulbs on the light shades and dead bugs lying on top of shades gave it a run-down kind of feeling. Not visible from below, I'm sure. Service was attentive. Drinks were excellent. Food was just average. Sauces tended to overpower the entrees. Three different meals served at my table, none of us were impressed enough to want to venture back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good Times Square Restaurant!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went here last Saturday before going to the theatre. The location was good---Times Square but a bit away from the crowds. The cocktails were good and the food was very good too! The service was excellent too. The corn bread sticks in the bread basket were a nice surprise! My guest and I had the fried chicken (very good and moist, but you"ll be disappointed if you are into quantity) and the tangerine glazed pork chop (very good but not spectacular). The desserts we ordered were excellent.....the profiteroles and the white chocolate/banana mousse cake. I would definitely not have a problem coming here again and will concider it when I come back to NYC!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubbles664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Steak Dinner for 6”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Delicious steak dinner with interesting sides like their famous fries, mashed potatoes and creamed kale. We started the night at their busy bar then after a short time were seated and had super apps. Lobster and avocado, devised eggs topped with shrimp and a wonder ful pancetta poached egg salad. We finished the meal with 3 super desserts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joni1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Americain also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing