We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
Review of Bar Americain

Bar Americain
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Americain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #399 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenue
Transit: N/R and 1/9/F/D/B
Description: Bar Americain is an American Brasserie featuring regional American food created by Bobby Flay.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great food, very nice atmosphere. Not too noisy. Great for business lunches as well as special dinners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MitchellW102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    525
    232
    96
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Within Walking Distance of Theater District”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very well placed restaurant for dinning after a play and just a five minute walk from Gershwin theater. My daughter had heard about Bobby Flay and wanted to try one of his establishments. We got there early since we had attended a matinee and the restaurant had lots of open tables. She had made a reservation but not sure if you would need one at this time of day. Decor has clean lines and tables are nicely spaced. The waiters were attentive and food was quickly served.

First on the table - warm potato chips with blue cheese sauce! For all you potato chip lovers this is a must. We discussed sharing a dinner since I never finish a complete meal but thought the portions would be small and so ordered two entrees. Wrong, I ordered the strip sirloin and it was definitely large enough for two. The pork chop was also very generous. One entree with two sides would have been enough for the two of us. We did take leftovers home. On a side note we thought the pork chop was better then the steak though both were good.

Dessert - who can resist. Shared the White Peach and Blueberry crepe with Lemon Butter. We ate it before we thought to get a picture. Only complaint, the white peaches were a bit hard, not what I was expecting but otherwise yummy.

All and all we enjoyed the dinner and my daughter picked up the tab which made for an even better night for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the best food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Was not impressed with the ricotta crepes, and the cedar-plank salmon was good but not great. The bass and hangar steak were good but the portions were very small. Was not thrilled with this visit, but have loved this place in the past

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fine dining yet not too pretentious”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

took us right away without a reservation. lobster appetizer was awesome. rabbit and lamb were delicious! service was great our server brought us extra corn bread that was warm and yummy. overall good experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another Great Meal in NYC!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The steaks, seafood, bead, wine....were fabulous. A little pricey, but perfect place for a group celebration. The price is worth the memories.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babsy0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Americain also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Americain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing