We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jr suites not all the same”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #99 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

At first they gave me a jr suite without a door separator. Couldn't have that w baby so they moved me up to a floor where it was way better. Not sure why they did that and I was annoyed but the room on maybe the 12th floor was ultimately better and we were happy w the blackout curtains and separator so baby and I could sleep in pEACe!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sf903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your post. My apologies with any confusion upon arrival. Your reservation did not specifiy against any connecting door, although I am glad that we quickly relocated your room to something more comfortable for you and your family. I have 2 little ones at home and know the importance of peace and quiet. Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy very soon!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I, plus another couple, spent New Year's Eve at the Gramercy Park Hotel for the first time. We didn't know exactly what to expect, but from information received from friends familiar with the Hotel, we were optimistic. Well, we were overjoyed at the entire experience. Everyone was very friendly, and totally professional, from the doormen to the desk people, as well as the concierge, and chamber maids. Before dinner we strolled through Gramercy Park itself, which is a very special oasis in the middle of New York City. We are all from the City, but this was a new, great experience for us all.
I was especially impressed with the elegance and unique design of all aspects of the hotel. The lobby, with its big Christmas tree and actual wood burning fireplace, plus the lovely artwork, is totally warm and inviting. Our rooms were decorated as though individually appointed. I enjoyed all the different lighting effects, both throughout the hotel as well as in our room. Even the lighting in the bathroom was effective, but functional!
Onepiece of good luck - since we drove from Staten Island, there was even street parking, because it was a holiday - quite an amenity in Manhattan...
Of course, dinner at Maialino on New Year's Eve was outstanding in all respects. And after dinner, sitting on the couch by the fire in the lobby with an aperitif, and with good friends, was the perfect way to start 2014. We are looking forward to booking our next New Year's Eve there again! Thanks to everyone at the Gramercy Park!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domenick n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello Domenick! Thank you for your beautiful review about the property. Can't think of a better place to spend New Years than Gramercy! Then only thing that could make it better would be sharing it with friends, which it sounds you did just that. Between Maialino and Rose Bar, you go tthe full experience. Looking forward to welcome you back to GPH again in the New Year!!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

From the moment we walked into the lobby we were made to feel as if we were very special. We stayed for the week of the honeymoon. The room was gorgeous of course, and the hotel is beautiful.

But the best thing by far was the service. A special mention for Darren who was kind, helpful and attentive.

We had a wonderful time and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePruszynskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the great feedback! The entire team here at Gramercy works diligently to deliver superior service to our entire team. We are truly all about the art of personalization, so I thank you for noticing how Darren excelled in his delivery to your stay. Honeymoons are a special time and we are thankful that you have chosen to spend yours with us here at Gramercy! Looking forward to welcome you and yours back again soon. Much health and happiness in the New Year!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The wife and I had a Christmas break in New York this year and choose the Gramercy Park Hotel for our stay. The hotel is in a fantastic residential neighborhood in the mist of some rather beautiful buildings. It has an old New York feel with a very eclectic decor once you enter. Very nice warm feeling in the lobby. The room we were in a Lexington king was spacious with a nice sitting area and well equipped bathroom. Nicely furnished in a lot of velvet it had a very apartment like feeling which is nice from the regular chain hotel feel . Bathroom was also very traditional with killer water pressure. I'm told by the missus that the products were top shelf. The service was fantastic . We arrived early am form a red eye from the west coast and to my surprise they had a room for us immediately which was greatly appreciated. The restaurant was good with good food excellent drinks and great service. The lobby bar is fantastic with expensive but stiff drinks but a great time and fantastic bartender. The only miss was the door staff some were nice helpful and friendly and some a little too cool for school. Sorry I went to the Knicks game and I did not dress to your standards, can I still please come in. Other then that a great hotel with excellent service. Oh lots of cool places near by . Don't miss Eataly, Pete's Old Town tavern, bar Jamon and of course the fantastic Shake Shack at the nearby park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigGNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Wow, thank you so much for the fabulous feedback! It sounds like you got a great taste of Gramercy not to mention the surrounding areas of Madison Sqaure Park....whats a visit without a pop over to Shake Shack!! So glad to hear that you loved the shower pressure. While many hotels keep it misty, we know how much guests love that strong pressure, so that you for noticing. Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were there for a wedding night before party. Everything was splendid ... Rooms service food & especially the roof top terrace. .. Great view. Full of NY glitterati .. We bumped into Louis from X Factor in the lift... He wasn't very chatty!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crossruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

WOW! Thank you so much for the fabulous feedback. Having a guest as well travelled as you rate the hotel so wonderfully truly means a lot to the entire team here at Gramercy. They work really hard to deliver the best experience possible and when we hear from guests like you, it makes it all worthwhile! I am so glad you also got to experience an event on the rooftop, its absolutely the most amazing space in the city!!! Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy soon!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is my fourth stay at the GPH in the last 3 months and my second review.

There is something to be said for consistency and the GPH nails it. The location is PERFECT. Off a side street rather than the main thoroughfare, it is quiet by NYC standards and within walking distance to countless restaurants (hint try The Gramercy Park Tavern which is two blocks away but get there early or be prepared to wait for a table).

What I like most about this hotel is its overall vibe and energy level. The downstairs bar will entertain you until the wee hours of the morning if that’s your desire or you can just relax in the lobby in front of the real wood burning fire place and enjoy a glass of wine while people watching.

The hotel restaurant is a gathering spot for locals and those staying onsite and a great way to get the evening started.

The rooms will vary in size so choose carefully and make sure that your selection will meet your needs. On this stay I had one of the smallest rooms imaginable, IE the bathroom door could not be opened all the way without hitting the toilet. The room reminded me of what one would typically find in Europe, but it did overlook the park.

The net/net. You really can’t go wrong staying here and I have yet to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Wow Mark!! We love our loyalists here at Gramercy. Thank you so much for being an ambassador of the brand. The entire team works hard to deliver superior service, so hearing your great feedback is music to our ears! Looking forward to a new year filled with many more visits from you to GPH!!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and well appointed. The service is wonderful. However, it is loud. The club located on the first floor shakes the hotel until the wee hours of the morning on weekends. It is very convenant to Soho and midtown. Great shopping around the area. It is a shame the park is not open to the public. Over all i like the place.

Room Tip: get on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTL0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hello - Thank you for your recent review and sharing in the Gramercy Experience. THe property truly is remarkable as you so mentioned, inclusive of our top notch team members, they really bring the brand to life! Our location plays into the success of the property as well, being close to Soho and Midtown is certainly a shoppers dream! My sincerest apologies you were disrupted from the Rose Bar Lounge. We do have some flexibility throughout the building so as to ensure you are uneffected from the venue. We look forward to welcome you back to the property soon!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#45 of 473 in New York City
1,199 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#52 of 473 in New York City
868 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 473 in New York City
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#173 of 473 in New York City
1,535 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#80 of 473 in New York City
673 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#96 of 473 in New York City
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $385 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing