We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gramercy is spot on again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #98 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I just got back from New York and stayed again at the Gramercy. It was perfect as usual!
The room was great 905 (view over the park) highly recommend it if its available.
It was well located w. easy access to the different subway lines.
The Rose bar is always a great space to go to and wind down with a cocktail!
The front desk was fantastic! The Front Desk Manager Chelsea went above and beyond to meet all our travel needs!
We will be back again in the spring for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjcSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello RJC - So glad to hear that everything was so wonderful for you! We love our loyal guests, so having you back with us was a true delight. We are truly all about the guest experience, so hear that we were spot on again, is just music to my ears. Hope your travels back to San Diego were smooth and you're enjoying the sunshine of Southern California!! Please be sure to reach out when your travels bring you back to New York City!!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Go here! If you would like to get away from the hustle bustle of NYC while in NYC... come here. If you want a romantic, energetic, magical, whimsical, interesting stay... come here. Basically if you want something different but great stay at the GPH. The bar had just the right amount of cool factor... the staff was superb... the room was fun and plush. The place is just great and worth a visit and definitely a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much Greg. The property really is away from the hustle and bustle and has its own level of excitement with-in the Gramercy itself. Drinks at the Rose Bar or Dining in Maialino always make for the perfect getaway, so i am so pleased to hear you were able to indulge just as you did! Should your travels bring you back to Gramercy in the near future, please reach out to me directly so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I normally do not write reviews but felt compelled after our stay at GPH. We had planned a group event (16 people) for various celebrations starting Nov. 20th-25th.The group came from all over so coordinating rooms,meals, and commitments was a chore ! 'Kay' was our event coordinator and she could not have been better! She organized our room requests, set up two events on The
Terrace (one dinner, one brunch) and was always helpful, cheerful, efficient and fun. The Terrace is a magical and private place the way they set it up.Highly,highly recommended for small to large
groups. It was an amazing highlight of this property. The hotel and the adjacent private park (guests of GPH are allowed in) is truly unique. Interiors,original art work,great restaurant (Maialino) and 2 way cool bars made it difficult for us to want see anything else in New York! We did but we felt we were home when we got back from our excursions.As impressive as the property is, it's the management and staff that takes GPH over the top. 'Kay', David Moreno(concierge ) and every team member we encountered, truly appreciate and go out of their way to make guests feel like family.I've been fortunate to stay in nice properties in many places, and have found it's rare when you have both the people and place running so well ! Thanks GPH for making it a lifetime event for our group. Peter- Laguna Beach, Ca.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Wow Peter! Thank you so much for the fabulous feedback. Your entire group was truly a pleasure to work with. Kay expressed how pleased you were with everything and was so happy to read about your experience on Trip Advisor. The team really goes out of their way to ensure our guests are taken care of, so hearing about your experience is really music to our ears!! Looking forward to have you back again for another celebration!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed at the GPH for Thanksgiving with my wife & family.
It has a great atmosphere & the rooms are cozy & well appointed. The lobby bars... The Rose Bar & The Jade Bar are both cozy and the staff were all very friendly & attentive.
We will definitely be back...This is a special place !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimCafarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Wow!! Thanks Jim! I am so pleased that you chose to share the Holiday of Thanks with us here at Gramercy. The team truly does everything in their power to welcome you into our home. I am pleased to hear that you felt just that! Looking forward to welcome you and your family back again soon in the near future, Should your travels bring you back, please reach out to me directly so that I may personally ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was the guest of a friend and we stayed at the Gramercy when we came to town for a family event just before Thanksgiving. He had several choices as to where to book us among about 4 high end properties in town, he had heard good things about the new management from family members, and so, The Gramercy it was. His family was right, it was a delightful experience from the moment we checked in (love, love the fireplace in the lobby!) to the moment we left 4 days later. The service staff was attentive, but not obtrusive and have obviously been very well trained. The management staff from the gentlemen concierge who went out of his was to get us excellent seats at a "difficult to get into" restaurant that opened recently, to the woman managing the hotel (she seemed to be everywhere!) who personally greeted us when we arrived and every time we saw us remembered my host's name - this is what sets a first class hotel apart from its competitors - its staff. I had never been to The Gramercy before this and was struck by the cool vibe it has, right down to the funky artwork. Food and bars were yummy, loved the roof top! It is obviously an older building, but for the most part that is part of its charm as well. Bravo!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hello Nancy - So pleased to read out your recent experience. Every night i leave the hotel, I am still in awe of its beauty. Around the holidays, Gramercy truly turns up its charm with the warmth and allure of its wood burning fireplaces in the lobby and Rose Bar, you just want to snuggle right up next to it! I am so pleased to hear that you were able to experience the Terrace as well, hands down one of the best private event spaces in the city!! Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please reach out to me directly so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel with its art feel and look and absolutely gorgeous rooftop gardens is a couple ideal location for a romantic break amongst the hustle and bustle of New York. The private park with its own key for which you have to ask the concierge is another beautiful retreat to sit and contemplate or as we did drink coffee and read the papers. The feather beds are to die for and we wanted to take them home. Service as you would expect from a five star hotel was excellent from everyone. The only slight niggle is that we had to remember to put room key in the slot to operate the lift and that the rooftop gardens were booked out for a private party but the staff made up for that by taking us there the next morning and offered us a mimosa!

Room Tip: If you book a deluxe king you will often be upgraded to an even better room! Although there are no b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dantol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Romance is always in the air here at Gramercy!! Its hard not to fall in love with such a beautiful property....add in the only private park in New York City, the allure of Rose bar and the outstanding service, its truly a match made in heaven. I am so happy to hear of your positive experience and look forward to welcome you back to Gramercy in the near future.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile


Aside from the restaurant with good, creative food and top-notch service, this hotel is clueless from top to bottom. From the front desk people who have no information to concierges who don't have accurate information (are the bars open on the holiday?) to the fitness room with outdated, half-operable equipment w a consistently empty water jug, to rooms with two electrical outlets - extension cord avail on request- bathrooms so small even w upgraded two classes room- the best was a hotel bar trying to pass off a Stags Leap Red Blend for an older vintage Stags Leap Cab. Clearly they are used to their after-hours patrons who must be too drunk to notice or too stupid to care.

Emails sent to concierge and hotel manager on first night of four night stay never recieved the courtesy of a response.

This hotel is in a good location. So are a dozen others at the same price point w modern fitness rooms in good condition, restaurants and bars that won't try and pull the bait and switch, have electrical systems designed for the 21st century and responsive management. We will choose one of those next time.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MaryStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello Mary - Thank you for sharing your feedback. My sincerest apologies for the delay in my response as I have been away from the hotel for the Thanksgiving Holiday. I reached out just as soon as I returned to the Hotel, although in the future, we have a Manager on Duty at the front desk 24/7. I appreciate you sharing your information regarding your experience at the Rose Bar. I can certainly understand how the varietals of wine we were serving can be a bit confusing.
The Stag's Leap Red Blend is a Bourdeaux Blend mainly with Cab Sauv/Cab Franc, my apologies if it led you to believe that you were receiving 100% Cab Sauv. If you reference the price point at $26 a glass or $115 a bottle, it is priced appropriately based on retail as the 100% Cab would sell for about $300+ per bottle at a majority of restaurants in the city.

With regards to our fitness center, I am happy to share that we are currently underway with a renovation of our second floor, inclusive of our fitness center. It will be relocated to a new destination and outfitted with state of the art equiptment. As an avid fitness enthusiast myself, I truly value the importance of a good work out!!

My apologies again, as there was clearly, by no means any bait and switch happening, perhaps just some miscommunication as we are focused on clear and percise messagin to our guests and respondiong in an efficient manner.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Gramercy very soon!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#45 of 473 in New York City
1,198 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#51 of 473 in New York City
868 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 473 in New York City
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W New York - Union Square
#173 of 473 in New York City
1,535 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#88 of 473 in New York City
671 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#100 of 473 in New York City
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $387 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing