We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #91 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a favorite”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A favorite place to stay in New York. Slightly less convenient, but in a quiet pretty area. The hotel feels like you're in someone's home....the decor is warm and comfortable and the staff is incredibly nice. Rooms are large....rooms with two beds are hard to come by in NY but the room with two queens was very spacious. Breakfast spot is lovely and the food was fine - nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SessieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Sessie - Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about the Gramercy. I am so pleased to hear about your great experience with us. The striking design of the property complimented by our team of seasoned professionals who never say no. I am so happy to hear that your interactions with everyone put a smile on your face and left you saying WOW! Please reach out to me directly should your travels bring you back to New York so that I may personaly ensure you are well taken care of again!

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    260
    104
    50
    32
See reviews for
246
477
92
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I truly enjoyed this hotel. The square in front of the hotel is a very nice private park to which hotel guests are given access (but, unfortunately, you cannot picnic). The staff is very friendly. I did not find it pretentious, but I tend to be oblivious to these things. I have two problems with the hotel, though. Firstly, the lighting: it is very dimly lit, both in the lobby and in the rooms when you first enter. When we called the desk about the lighting, nobody thought to tell us that everything was on dimmers (they were not obvious). We thought the bulbs were burned out! So, after having an "engineer" show up with a floor lamp, by accident, we found the slider dimmers!

Secondly, and majorly, the beds are not becoming of such a nice hotel. In fact, the ONLY reason I tend to stay at these hotels is because the beds are good. I have medical issues, and it is not fun to be on vacation when you ache. This hotel has cheap mattresses with a featherbed placed on top. When I asked for a solution, they said they would add a second topper, but it never showed up. What did show up after a reminder was an additional duvet, folded nicely on the bed!

I guess both of these issues also do show a lack of service. The front desk should have known about the dimmers, and I had to remind them about the featherbed. However, on several other things the service was great so I do not know how to rate the service. They were certainly all friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAgirl408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello CAgirl408 - thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am glad to hear that your service encounters with the team were all friendly in nature, as we truly are focused on service excellence here at The Gramercy. I am sorry to hear that the dim lighting was not to your liking. Our design is created in a way to slip you into a calm sense through our hallways as you enter the guestroom. Once inside, the dimmers allow you to create the ambinace to your liking, so I will ensure that this is reviewed with our team. With regards to our mattresses, I have some wonderful news to share that we are expecting shipment of brand new mattresses for the entire building set to arrive in less than 30 days. This product was customized just for the Gramercy Park Hotel! Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please reach out ot me directly so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a 5 star property with good service at the concierge and front desk BUT the food and beverage service is poor for this expensive a property. Breakfasts required a reservation. To go to the Bar at night required a reservation that morning! We also had some issues with attitude with some of the bar staff. For this price there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinMan676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello Travelinman626 - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. The Gramercy truly is a great desitnation. While I am pleased to hear that your encounters were pleasent with the front desk and reception, I am thankful to also recieve your feedback on your encounters with the F&B team. With the Rose Bar being a destination, it does attract many patrons. We certainly do focus on hotel guest access, so I apologize having fallen short of your expectations. Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please do reach out to me directly so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the Best,

Dan Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have just stayed at The Gramercy Park for two nights for a girls weekend away. This hotel is beautifully designed, from the use of lighting, fabric, interiors and most of all its art collection, a true boutique hotel. As you walk around the building no area has been skimped on, the two bars are stylish, the cocktails are made with care and the food all matches up!

Our room was a great size (for NY), and again really beautifully designed. If you go, a must is the terrace for brunch, book early as people come from the city to try it!

Above all the staff were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble, despite are exhaustive requests for dinner / cocktail / club / pamper appointments. Everywhere the sent us was spot on, a rarity!

Room Tip: We had a double double, there are not many of them in NY, 16TH floor was quiet and bright (for NY)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel E, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello Samantha - thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The Gramercy truly is a great girls weekend destination. I was pleased to hear you found our accommodation stylish and spacious. Rose and Jade bar are fabulous, so I'm fortunate you were able to enjoy them. Above all, it's our team that makes a difference so I thank you for noticing that! Should your travels bring you back to New York in the near future, please reach out to me directly so that I may ensure you are well taken care of.

All the Best,

Daniel Entenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Been working a lot in NYC over the last few weeks or so, and our team have based themselves here in what is a pretty cool part of town. The first time arrived here I was taken by the ambience and coolness. Once you have been here 4/5 times it starts to wear on you as being pretty pretentious. Rooms are small, but this is NYC,but well looked after. Service is decent, but not spectacular given the room price - expensive by the way. Breakfast is good on roof top terrace, but again take your credit card. At night the in-house Rose Bar becomes one of NYC's trendiest hang-outs, if you can get on the guest list! Seriously - not a given, even if you are a resident. So overall it looks great, but feels average.

Room Tip: As ever in NYC, look for the higher level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gramercy Park and had a great experience with the unique interiors filled with beautiful artwork and friendly and attentive staff. When we complained about the room being too small, they courteously upgraded us to a beautifully appointed larger room that felt like a suite. One feature I wish was available for hotel guests in the evening is the beautiful rooftop solarium with its enclosed glass-roofed spaces which is open only for special events in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall the hotel is great, service is good, and the staff are very courteous. Rooms are lovely and of a good size for NY if you compare with places like the Hudson and Soho Grand which are tiny.

Be aware the Rose bar is run by another company, the door-man has an agenda of his own, but if you book a spot in advance you should be fine to get in.

Prices for food and drinks are not cheap, but you're in central NY, so you should expect it...

Room Tip: If you can afford a King room, go for it. Otherwise the twin rooms just a comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 466 in New York City
966 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 466 in New York City
1,476 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 466 in New York City
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
819 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#117 of 466 in New York City
959 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 466 in New York City
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing