We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall the hotel is great, service is good, and the staff are very courteous. Rooms are lovely and of a good size for NY if you compare with places like the Hudson and Soho Grand which are tiny.

Be aware the Rose bar is run by another company, the door-man has an agenda of his own, but if you book a spot in advance you should be fine to get in.

Prices for food and drinks are not cheap, but you're in central NY, so you should expect it...

Room Tip: If you can afford a King room, go for it. Otherwise the twin rooms just a comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    254
    103
    49
    32
See reviews for
240
471
92
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great restaurant and bars. The rooftop bar is very relaxing. The rooms are clean, well appointed, but the design is definitely vintage. We had a junior suite and it was tight. However, the value was felt in the great location and manageable size. The hotel is surrounded by trees and the neighborhood is very quiet. For NYC this is somewhat of a unique feature.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Writing this several months after staying! The hotel is in a great location for uptown or downtown and has the the lovely little Gramercy Park opposite which hotel,guests can access. The hotel rooms are extremely comfortable and I love the deep colours and velvety that adorn them. The rooftop Restuarant is lovely on a sunny day for breakfast. The breakfast is generous and plentiful with lots of choice. It didn't open in the evening when I was there which was a pity.

Looking for a good Restuarant nearby you will absolutely enjoy the Gramercy Tavern. Food amazing and service top notch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scout1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location, beautifully decorated, but poor service. As a hotelguest you are not allowed into the bar in the evening, unless you make a reservation. The same goes for the rooftop terrace for breakfast or lunch....so much for spontaneity. We stayed for three days and almost very guest in the elevator was complaining about lack of light. At a certain price point people expect trendiness to coincide with comfort....that also goes for the beds, lights, bathrooms, etc.
The amenities in the bathroom are cute and a great fit for a boutique hotel. The prices of the fun things in your mini bar (eg candle) are exaggerated and close to ridiculous.
It also would be great if the staff at the reception would focus a bit more on the guests instead of their own ego....it is not professional to talk down colleagues or to hold the guest accountable for a simple request...at your price point the guest is always right. If you pay for a high end boutique hotel you like to be treated with respect and even like some extra attention. Even if we are not famous.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LVDB-0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

A storied Grand Dame of Manhanttan the Gramercy Park hotel is both luxurious and comfortable. A great perk is the access to the private fenced-in Gramercy Park. Got upgaded which was great. Staff was sophisticated, courteous and available. Great bar at lobby level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is the first review that I have ever written. I feel strongly about informing potential guests to avoid this hotel because of the poor customer service. I live in Manhattan and my wife and I stayed here to celebrate my 50th birthday.

On the positive side, the hotel is very well located and the lobby is very cool. The art work is interesting and the rooms are nicely appointed. In addition, the bed is very comfortable. That's where the positives end.

Management of this hotel seems to have forgotten that an attractive physical plant is only one part of a guest’s experience. With the exception of the bellmen, the staff are not accommodating and act as if they are doing you a favor by allowing you in the property. My wife made a reservation for 4 people at the Rose Bar, a lounge within the hotel, which we confirmed upon arrival. The doorman at the Rose Bar had the wrong amount of people for our reservation and refused to allow us to enter. The night manager of the hotel was unable to assist us. We sought admission to the Rose Bar around 10:45 PM. At 12:30, the night manager did call our room to tell us that our full party would be admitted to the Rose Bar. When I told him we weren't interested, he took the position that our reservation was wrong and this was a great accommodation. It was more important to the night manager to convince me that the error was mine; rather than, solve the problem.

Even though we live in NYC, my wife and I like to stay in hotels in the city for special occasions. The rooms and services at the Gramercy Park Hotel are generally overpriced and I have never experienced such a lack of customer service as a guest of a hotel. In my opinion, the staff at the hotel tries to create an aura of exclusivity; instead, they create an aura of arrogance and immaturity. They represent the worst of NY.

Despite the hotel staff, my 50th birthday was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice and happened to get the same room both times so I can't compare room options.
The junior suites are lovely. Floor to ceiling windows, spacious and lots of cupboard space. The decor is rich, cozy and a great change form the beige and brown dressing of all other hotels.
The staff were very friend and helpful but room service was bad. Cold coffee, no milk for cold coffee, 45 mins to get milk and 50 mins to deliver our lost NYT all capped off with a 42% service and gratuity charge. Definitely grab breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
W New York - Union Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing