We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #87 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The room was very nice and not like your usual hotel. We had hardwood floors in the bedroom and a big shower with outside light. Due to our late nights out, we did not get a chance to enjoy the roof top restaurant. However, we did have a few drinks at the bar downstairs. The bartender was great and mixed the most wonderful drinks. We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your rave review! We are thrilled that our ambiance, decoration and our service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I love the GPH, fantastic location, well appointed rooms and wonderful Italian restaurant downstairs. Possibly the best pancakes I have had anywhere in the world (believe me, I have done my research). The rooms are spacious with a baroque feel, the mini bar is the epitome of glamour, definitely suggest upgrade to a loft. As a frequent business traveller it's very refreshing to stay in a place with such character. You can walk out straight to the square and loads of wonderful restaurants near by, plus stroll down to union square on the weekend to check out the farmers market is fun.

On the negatives if you are looking for 'predictable' 5 star business hotel this is not for you and if you arent going to take advantage of the entry to the rose bar etc it may seem over priced for the overall package. I would expect free wifi, I really don't rate the food/price at the gramercy terrace (and I know it's meant to be a destination venue but it didn't do it for me), the bath/shower feels a little dated and although it doesn't fit with the rock star vibe I'd love to be able to make tea in the room.

Having said all that, totally recommend it as a destination hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Gramercy Park Hotel for five nights in November just after power was restored after Hurricane Sandy while on holiday in New York. We booked via the Visa Infinite Luxury Hotel Collection which allowed us a rate with included breakfast, wifi and an upgraded room.

Upon check in we were upgraded to the king loft class of room. This was a beautiful and spacious room to spend our five night stay. It included a king sized bed, a small couch, a table and two large chairs. The room also included a funky bar below the tv. The bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. The room was long with three tall windows and long, velvet drapes.The bathroom was similarly well appointed.

Our first room was on the 3rd floor, above the very popular Rose Bar, located in the hotel. While the music was fun and funky, we didn't want to be kept up by the noise. I asked to be moved in the morning and the staff happily obliged. We were moved to an identical room on a higher floor.

We ordered room service twice and received great portions for the money spent. We ate breakfast every day at the Terrace. This restaurant had tasty breakfast options and a really friendly and attentive staff. It was great to talk to each of them about their post-hurricane stories. Everyone was wonderful, warm and friendly to us during our stay.

I look forward to stay at the GPH again and would recommend it to anyone for its first class service, wonderful amenities and great location. Thanks again!

Room Tip: If you can swing it price-wise, get the King Loft. Also, try to avoid rooms on the 3rd floor, unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JellybeanandBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your rave review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Gramercy Park Hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our stay at the Gramercy was one of the best I have ever had. The rooms were exceptionally well appointed, the service was second to none and you cannot beat the location.

As you walk in, you immediately notice the high end surroundings and air of exclusivity. The artwork belongs in a museum. The bars and restaurants are run by some of the best in the city, and they have Stumptown coffee!

I would gladly stay here at any given opportunity. It made my stay in NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafinvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your rave review! We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Gramercy Park Hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

For $545 per night you'd atleast expect free wifi / coffee maker in room.
Room was small/ bathroom was even smaller with no where to put anything...
Even the bed didn't meet my expectations considering the price.
Staff were rude & unfriendly especially one female receptionist.
If you like places with no space, dark lighting & stuck up staff this is right up your street, if not I'd avoid it & save yourself the disappointment & the expense

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizlogfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey.
Please accept our most sincere apology for your stay at Gramercy Park Hotel!
I apologize you felt our staff was rude & unfriendly. please note very specific steps will be taken to ensure no recurrence like this happen again.

If you wish to give us another opportunity please contact me personally.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
General Manager
Elizabeth Mao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My Mum and I went on a trip to NY and stayed in 3 different high-end hotels - this was by far the worst. The decor in the room was seriously awful (well, if you like the bordello look you might enjoy it - bright red and blue velvet with shiny black edgings and dark panelling) You could barely see a thing in the room. Also a lot of the paint and furniture is very worn. We had a suite Ie separate bedroom and lounge, but the bathroom was so minute the 2 of us couldn't fit in at once. There was no bath (although oddly they supplied us with bath salts). The wifi only worked intermittently in the bedroom (ie if I held my ipad at just the right angle) and it is the only luxury hotel I have ever heard of that actuallky charges for wifi (actually we got charged the daily rate 3 times on some days, though the hotel did deduct all these charges when we brought it to their attention. The rooftop terrace restaurant is lovely but other than that, and the ability to access Gramercy Park, couldn't find anything to like about this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MooshkinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey.

We would like to apologize for your recent stay at Gramercy Park Hotel. We strive to provide that perfect balance of style and service. We apologize our design and decor did not suit your personal taste.

Artist Julian Schnabel designed the hotel’s interiors, inspired by the aesthetics, vibrant colors and artistry of the Renaissance. This era’s influence is clearly evident in the lush, undiluted color palette he chose for every wall, curtain and carpet in the hotel.

Bronze door handles, curtain rods and finials were all forged by Schnabel himself. These custom furnishings are complemented by a carefully curated collection of antiques and rare decorative objects -- like the handcrafted Moroccan tiles and Italian fireplaces -- imported from markets all over the world. The hotel's creative flair does not appeal to everyone, so we are sorry that you did not enjoy our distinctive style.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Interesting place. Storied past, many famous residents back in the day. I used to stay there 40 years ago (met SJ Perleman in the lobby!) and watched the TV documentary of its renovation. That prompted a re-acquaintance. The first thing we noticed is how NICE the staff are - the doormen, reception clerks, concierge, waitstaff in the Terrace restaurant - just nice and cheerful and helpful. Our room was comfortable, not huge but nicely and solidly furnished. It could use more electrical outlets (had to charge the phones in the bathroom) and the lights could be brighter, but nice and solid. The bars are great if you're 30-something and like loud music. Location is terrific - Gramercy Park itself is worth an hour visit, and walking the perimeter of the park is a tour of Old New York (Samuel Tilden's house, designed by Calvert Vaux, Margaret Hamilton's house, James Cagney's house, etc).

Room Tip: Important: get a room on a high floor to moderate traffic noise and especially noise from the bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadeItBackHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Good afternoon!

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit at Gramercy Park Hotel!

We look forward in welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 469 in New York City
1,079 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#155 of 469 in New York City
1,502 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#55 of 469 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#112 of 469 in New York City
1,706 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#144 of 469 in New York City
642 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 469 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $430 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing