We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World meets New”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #89 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Interesting place. Storied past, many famous residents back in the day. I used to stay there 40 years ago (met SJ Perleman in the lobby!) and watched the TV documentary of its renovation. That prompted a re-acquaintance. The first thing we noticed is how NICE the staff are - the doormen, reception clerks, concierge, waitstaff in the Terrace restaurant - just nice and cheerful and helpful. Our room was comfortable, not huge but nicely and solidly furnished. It could use more electrical outlets (had to charge the phones in the bathroom) and the lights could be brighter, but nice and solid. The bars are great if you're 30-something and like loud music. Location is terrific - Gramercy Park itself is worth an hour visit, and walking the perimeter of the park is a tour of Old New York (Samuel Tilden's house, designed by Calvert Vaux, Margaret Hamilton's house, James Cagney's house, etc).

Room Tip: Important: get a room on a high floor to moderate traffic noise and especially noise from the bars...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadeItBackHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Good afternoon!

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey.
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit at Gramercy Park Hotel!

We look forward in welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Gramercy Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed 5 nights and loved the size, location, design, service and food. Rooms are lovely. Will stay again in the future. If traveling as a couple I recommend the 'Loft' type room, the standard room is a bit small.

Room Tip: Loft is best for couples
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NegrilHideAwhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete our survey. We are so thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your recent experience at Gramercy Park Hotel! We are so glad that the size, location, design, service and food met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at GPH. It is lovely and comfortable. The rooms are small but well appointed.

The $16 per day charge for interent access is certainly a thing of the past with free access most anywhere.

Having access to the private Gramercy Park is is wonderful. It is an oasis in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_keygrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. We agree our rooms are lovely and comfortable. I am sorry you felt our rooms are small. You were in one of our Queen Superior rooms, we do have many additional room types that are much larger.

Should you decide to give us another try I encourage you to stay in one or our more spacious rooms. If you would like to make a reservation do not hesitate to contact me personally.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'm currently staying at Gramercy Park Hotel till 22nd Oct. and finding out every day that hotel is charging for everything. Over half of the hotels in US are having free wifi (in here 16 dollars a day), In our room the bathroom amenities are charged as well (!): a small hair conditioner (travel pack) 35 dollars, a small body lotion 30 dollars,....
As we went to have a breakfast the other day we ordered a buffet breakfast in where coffee was served free of charge but tea was charged astronomically. Ended up having a breakfast bill of 110 dollars. a couple of teas plus orange juices....
I'd call this a robbery - at least this is not fair.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomiruotimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I just wanted to say how great the hotel stay at Gramercy Park Hotel !!
Fab decor and great staff. I did want to say thanks to Elizabeth for the Large bottle of Water from Voss.

Just made me feel welcome

Thanks again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Good morning!

Thank you for your five star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward in welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It was my first visit to New York after ten years. I am very glad that I stayed in Gramercy Park Hotel.
A great location, cosy and beautiful hotel, nice rooms (I had an excellent loft facing Lexington Avenue), very attentive staff. The decor of rooms and reception area is very impressive, it was a real pleasure to return to the hotel every day during my five days vacation in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled that our ambiance, decoration and service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with Amex fhr rate - door staff good, desk staff unwelcoming and explained fhr benefits incorrectly - room upgrade good, but rooms still odd but interesting, bed very comfortable but the noise from the terrace for my 17th floor room ridiculous, and sounded like they were auditioning for Stomp. Breakfast good, but be careful as the fhr $100 credit is only good at the terrace and does not cover the other restaurant or minibar-very poor!!! Will try Crosby Hotel next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxurytravelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Good evening,

Please accept our most sincere apology for your experience at Gramercy Park Hotel.
Our team is trained to a much higher standard and capable of much better than this. I apologize for the miscommunication explaining the FHR benefits. The $100.00 credit covers any charges incurred in our Gramercy Terrace or Room Service. We are very sorry that you did not experience the exemplary level of service that we usually provide.

We hope you will change your mind and give us another try. If you do so, please feel free to contact me directly to make a reservation:emao@gramercyparkhotel.com.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Mao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#57 of 468 in New York City
1,049 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Union Square New York
#115 of 468 in New York City
1,686 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#145 of 468 in New York City
638 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#114 of 468 in New York City
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $445 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing