We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gramercy Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Marcel at Gramercy(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lex NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The New York EDITION(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 17(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,536)
Filter reviews
1,536 results
Traveler rating
1,048
282
111
57
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,048
282
111
57
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose barmaialinoprivate parkred velvetnew yorkroom serviceunion squarenyc hotelhotel guestshome away from homehotel is beautifuljunior suiteturn down servicehotel barmini baraesopconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,181 - 1,186 of 1,536 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Set in a perfect location in New York, this hotel is a short ride from Rockafeller Plaza, Top of The Rock, West Village and near all forms of public transportation. The lobby is classy & warm. As you walk in, you'll see an Italian restaraunt on one side and the famous rose bar on the other. Prior to check in, you'll get an exciting email with a request to fill out a survey that asks what kind of bedding you prefer, favorite drink, meal preferred, things you wish to do in NYC. This got us excited and had us under the impression our stay will be totally catered to our survey. The hotel didn't ever bring our answers up upon check in and when ordering drinks, never mentioned that they knew what we would already want. My suggestion to the hotel is that if they ask guests to fill out a survey, please follow through with the answers. 

The rooms are great. Our first room was on the 15th floor and had a view of the building next door. After one day during our stay we noticed a strong smoke smell, after complaining they upgraded us to a better room on the 4th floor. Comfortable beds. Nice couch and wonderful views.

The rooftop terrace has stunning views and the food is amazing. You must go for breakfast and get a latte along with the bread pudding French Toast. Their other items are great. The burger was also a great lunch item. Tyler, the terrace manager runs a great ship. The terrace staff should be running the hotel as well because they're perfect. 

For this expensive of a hotel, they do well. Wifi should be free and they should read the customer surveys. 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevojax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Ms. Stevojax,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy you found the hotel classy & warm, and great service. We agree that our rooms are absolutely gorgeous. We are so pleased the service, location and comfort met your expectations.

We are very sorry that we did not take your preferences into account. We do aim to customize each guest's experience. We appreciate your feedback as it enables us to maintain the high standards that the Gramercy Park Hotel is known for.

We hope to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I recently spent 8 days at The Gramercy Park Hotel. I was accompanied by my ten year old daughter. We booked this hotel through American Express (it is one of their finer hotels) mostly for the location, and reviews. For starters, the hotel is in a great location - close to Union Square, Chelsea, Flatiron, etc. and a few minutes by cab to midtown...also walkable, but it's a good 35-40 minute walk.

The hotel prides itself on it's art, and it delivers - lots of lovely paintings, photographs, etc. The lobby is opulent (although a bit shop-worn). Our room (a king) was dark (as is the entire hotel). Wood floors, velvet sofa, velvet curtains, soft blanket thrown casually over the bed, lovely photo of a reclining nude over the toilet, strange photo of man ion mask over sofa...in other words, sexy. One heck of a dark, sensual hotel room...my ten year old daughter was less enthusiastic than I :)

So, since my DH wasn't around we managed to enjoy our stay. The room was good...nice bathroom and superior shower (best in NYC). Rugs vacuumed each day, but dirty and a bit worn. A few outlets didn't work...still, a relaxing room to retire to each day.Lots of closet space, great in room bar.

The hotel has a bar downstairs that I never got to go to. Looked loungy, calm, no where near as busy as others have described. Restaurant downstairs as well...got very busy on weekend, never ate there. We did have breakfast each AM in the Terrace restaurant on the roof...nice, cool spot. Breakfast was yummy good if you ordered off menu. The $18 continental was ehh...too much for what it was...but that's NYC.

What can I say? If it was just my DH and I going to NY for a weekend...yes! Oh yes! For families? Skip it...it's not a family place (although don't get me wrong I saw several family groups there) in my opinion. Very cool, sexy hotel. A bit worn out (which is part of the charm), but lovely all the same.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Ms. Vanessa,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that our service, location and decor made your visit to New York enjoyable. We agree that our art collection is unparalleled, our rooms are sexy and our showers are some of the best in town. Next time you must experience Rose Bar as well.

Let us know next time you are planning a trip to New York City. We would be delighted to welcome you again.

Sincererly,

Elizabeth Mao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is not your average hotel. The hallways are very dim; the art in the rooms and the lobby is kinky and different. Everything in the rooms is red. It’s really cool. The location could be a little better. It’s a bit away from the busyness of Manhattan which is why we come to NYC. But not bad, you just walk a while and you’re there. I think that I wouldn’t stay here again because of the location. We did have a lot of excitement in this hotel. We stayed in December 2010 and NYC just got the biggest blizzard ever! There was so much snow that when we returned back to the hotel at night the chimney got blocked and all this black smoke was coming in to the lobby. The fire department was called and we had to wait for hours downstairs. When we finally came back up and entered our room we discovered that it’s ‘raining’ from the ceiling right on our bed. The fire fighters were pouring water in to the chimney and flooded our room. But it worked out fine; at the end we got a penthouse!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydiabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Successfully stayed in this hotel in the middle of July 2012 and begining of August 2012 and next time (if in the future) would choose it again: good location, service; very freindly and helpful personal (including and especially - concierge). And excellent pillows which gave us very perfect possibilities for sleep. THANK YOU

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Ms. Natalie,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so happy to learn that you have enjoyed your experiences at Gramercy Park Hotel. We love to hear that our staff was welcoming and helpful.
I will make sure to share your compliments with our team. They are the ones who create our loyal guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me and my business' partners spent the weekend and had a great experience at the Gramercy Park Hotel. The décor of the Hotel has changed since the last time I was here, it is a little more intimate with dim lighting and beautiful wood designs in the ceiling and walls. Dining in the Terrace was perfect; our waitress was very attentive and polite, not to mention how good the lobster roll and the fried chicken were. The room was the perfect size surrounded with great artwork and a great view of the city and Lexington Ave. Before our dinner at Rao’s we had cocktails in the downstairs bar with the pool table, and once again service was perfect. Overall the experience was a great one, and will surely be back again next time we go in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at Gramercy Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Good morning,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are so excited to hear our staff was welcoming and helpful. I will make sure to share your compliments with our team. They are the ones who create our loyal guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Mao

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews