We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thiefs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gramercy Park Hotel
Ranked #91 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thiefs”
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Stay away from this hotel if you don't want to find out that they have charged your card for additional 250 USd with no given explanations, bills etc...and despite the fact that I have wrote numerous times to their GM and guests manager. This is the worst experience in the US I ever had. The terrible and unprofessional behavior of stuff and these hotel is far away away from any luxury experience. The only positive - room design and that's it!

1- consierge is the most arrogant and badly educated person who I ever saw. Impossible to get any decent and worth of luxury hotel reccomendation. Especially if your english is not perfect. I wrote to their GM a complain and nobody ever answered.
2 - you don't get any bills when you check out at 6 am simply because their system does not work. And only after they charge you some extra and no bills sent via emails either. I believe my money were simply stolen from me by some of hotel staff. I wrote to the hotel again and again no answer whatsoever.

3 - the terrible noise from outside,I had to change room not to hear a moarning AC system - one can feel that you are at the airport surrounded by many planes taking off the ground

4 - rude personell at the reception. Like you ask a question and they said " What?" not pardon, not anything like that. At the check in, arriving at nearly midday I asked when my room will be ready the girl at the reception murmured " I don't know" picked the phone and started talking to someone else. CAn you believe that??? I was shocked.

5 - despite the request to get a room at higher floor i got the room at the 5th floor. Yet the reservation was made one month in advance.

To sum up - stay away from here. This place can only be considered for breakfasts (nice veranda on the last floor) and aperetivo. Be carefully with giving them your credit card details. You may find out some double charges. Btw - wifi costs 16 usd + tax per day...and you pay for the room 600 Usd incl tax.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    260
    104
    50
    32
See reviews for
246
477
92
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A few weeks ago, I had my bridal shower at the terrace in the Gramercy Park Hotel. It is such a stunningly beautiful venue and I was so proud to share it with my guests. The staff did everything in their power to please my guests. The food was absolutely delicious. If you are considering planning an event there, contact Sabria. She was a dream to work with!!! Thank you Gramercy Park Hotel for giving me the bridal shower of my dreams!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Liz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay that is walkable to downtown and also in a beautiful location, check this out. The Gramercy Park Hotel is located right on the park; it is quiet, modern, yet also with easy access to the subway, union square and within a healthy walking distance to soho. Staying here made me feel very non-touristy -- the streets are residential, the atmosphere is cool and sophisticated without being snooty, and the rooms are gorgeous. The Terrace for breakfast was amazing. Great food and really friendly service. Really, if I'm not super intent on being right on or near Central Park, this will be my new go to place to stay. Thanks, GPH!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room and a view of Gramercy Park if you can get it. But even without the view, it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aileen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I went to place for Valentines day with my girlfriend. It is kind of dark when you walk in at first though I think that is the style nowadays. The hotel is very elegant and nicely furnished. The room was larger than I thought it would be and had a very posh decor to it. I ran into on of the managers in the lobby who seemed really happy. His name was Marc Rafeld and promptly asked us if there was anything he can do to make our stay even better. He also set us up with someone else (Austin) in the hotel to make reservations for a nearby restaurant that was great. The hospitality is what really made this hotel special for us. Marc was awesome and when we passed him again later on he greeted us by name with a smile. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently held a mini-college reunion in NYC and all stayed in the Gramercy Park Hotel. Reservations did a great job of coming up with a creative configuration of rooms that suited our needs. The hotel is lovely -- the decor is elegant, sleek but comfortable. We had rooms facing the courtyard which lacked views, but more than made up for it by being very quiet at night. The rooms are also generously sized by NYC standards. Definitely get reservations at Maialino if you can (concierge was helpful in getting our group a table). Food and atmosphere are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A bit pricy but the rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. Great artwork. The best bathroom I've ever seen. I would like to recreate the tub in my home! The staff is great and the service perfect. The only problem was the noise. There seemed to be a big party going on and guests were going up and down the elevator during the wee hours of the morning. The hotel manager was nice to move us. Try to get a room away from the elevator. Be sure to get a key and visit Gramercy Park.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

It's just so sexy and fun here. The wood in the lobby itself is gorgeous. The bars cater from easy going to night club scene. Everyone is friendly. Who doesn't look good in this lighting? The room is covered in velvet. If you like that old-world European-Victorian look you'll enjoy the Gramercy. Guests get a complimentary key to Gramercy Park! The neighborhood is stunning. Walk to Pure Food and Wine- or to Eataly for an espresso or lunch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahMae732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#55 of 466 in New York City
966 reviews
W New York - Union Square
#140 of 466 in New York City
1,476 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#119 of 466 in New York City
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 466 in New York City
819 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#117 of 466 in New York City
959 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 466 in New York City
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Park Hotel

Property: Gramercy Park Hotel
Address: 2 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10010-5487
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gramercy Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gramercy Park Hotel's Haute Bohemian heritage represents a sensuous vision of artful diversity. Bohemia reinvented for the 21st century with an original combination of styles, with great pieces of furniture and artwork and the extraordinary use of color. It is still the Gramercy Park Hotel in New York City, but honored and renewed in a glorious transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gramercy Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gramercy Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing