We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shopping Experience in NYC's Chinatown”
Review of Pearl River

Pearl River
Ranked #412 of 1,111 things to do in New York City
Attraction details
Essex, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Shopping Experience in NYC's Chinatown”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I've loved Pearl River since it was a much more Chinese-centric three floor emporium aimed at local Asian customers, and was worried when it morphed into a hipster/fusion department store that too much would be lost in translation. Good news - still special, still a great NYC shopping experience, and a perfect place to pick up that oddball something lovely/funny/unique without necessarily spending a lot of cash. There are clothes - including really gorgeous things for women like contemporary updates on the classic embroidered silk jackets - that you'll find nowhere else. There are adorable baby things - little brocade pajamas, lion slippers, whimsical and well-designed nightlights. There are exotic teas, spices, candies, and sauces, as well as cooking implements specific to Asian cuisine. There are all kinds of embroidered and fanciful textiles downstairs; colorful and decorative paper kites in the shapes of butterflies and dragons; striking paper mache masks, lovely little notebooks, slippers - oh I could go on, but you'll want to explore it yourself. On Broadway, just a couple of blocks north of Canal, it's a fun place to walk off some of that divine lunch you just had, and pick up something unusual.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PetePoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth stopping to shop”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place is fun, lots of gadgets, beautiful dishes, material, clothes, all sorts of oriental style items. I found a lot of very nice inexpensive things to take home as gifts. We're going back next time we get to New York.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great 'Find'”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you haven't been here on a visit then you are missing out. Lots of cool Asian furniture upstairs at very reasonable prices. If you aren't in the market for furniture, still go up there. They have a wonderful clothing area all the way in the back. Gorgeous dresses. I wasn't in the market for a dress but a friend and I each bought one because they were so gorgeous. Wonderful assistance that tells you exactly what will fit you and what will not without even trying on! She's that good. She altered our dresses to fit perfectly in a 1/2 hour at NO CHARGE. Dresses were extremely reasonable and to die for. Can't say enough, except GO and check it out! No one will have a dress like yours at home! The first floor are loads of inexpensive finds (all kind of fans-handheld for $1) and lots of other neat things. Definitely worth the stop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mishywishy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap and fun Chinese stuff”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I come here for the clean bathroom, the delicious selection of teas on the tea balcony, and to peruse the clothes. This is a fun place to come for Japanese pottery as well. It is a nice retreat from the bustle of Broadway.

Helpful?
Thank Nindubsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you want to shop for Asian goods but don't have time to crawl through Chinatown, Pearl River is the place to go--3 floors jammed with merchandise to please every budget. I stocked up on NY souvenirs, Moleskine-type journals with funky covers, reproduction postcards of vintage Chinese "Shanghai Girl" advertisements and another Metro toy train (NJ Transit) for my small collection of wood train cars. Other goodies include clothes, bags, shoes, housewares, toys, china, kitchenware, snacks and candies, religious items and more Good Luck Cats that you can imagine. Plus, they take American Express Gift Cards!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Calsidyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl River also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pearl River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing