We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going back to a small Italian Market”

Arthur Avenue Retail Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Hidden Treasures of the Bronx Tour by Bus with Lunch at City Island
More Info
$599.00*
and up
6-Hour Brooklyn Queens Bronx Tour with Driver-Guide
Canaan,NY
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Like going back to a small Italian Market”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I decided to visit Arthur Avenue again. We love the retail market. The imported meats, cheeses, fresh produce, homemade goodies are all fantastic. For anyone that gets the chance to make this a destination when visiting the city it is a must. The whole street is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    27
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copiague, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Trip Back in Time”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Arthur Avenue brought me back in time growing up in traditional Italian family . Arthur Avenue and its Markets are quintessential Italian, If you are looking for your "typical" american version of an Italian market, the Retail Market will be far above your standards. This market caterers for those who wish to embrace the true Italian experience when in the Arthur Avenue area,

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sungodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just Smell”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is like walking into Italy. The smells are so fantastic, my mouth waters every time I go. There are specialty shops for everything from meats to cheese to bread. Already made a perfect meal. You can buy pasta cut to order. Walk around, rest and have some coffee and walk some more. You will not regret it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This place is worth a trip out to Arthur Avenue alone!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Large indoor market featuring all sorts of meats, cheeses, pastas, sauces and other groceries. The only mistake we made was eating before shopping here. I got some delicious salami, spicy sausage and Soppressata. They are very generous with the samples, making sure you like what you are buying and everyone is super nice and helpful. We also got to sample the fresh mozzarella just out of the oven, wish I'd had room to take some of that home too. I will now be making this part of my shopping trips to NY!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank leopardobx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pastercceria”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I love cannolis but I never had them freshly filled until I came into the Arthur avenue market and saw them at the pastercceria the girls are extremely sweet and welcoming. I had the best cannolis made right in front of me. I will recommend this place to everyone who stops into the retail market get some cannolis pastries and some yummy cookies they also have Italian gelato imported from Italy amazing.. I'll be going back real soon

Helpful?
1 Thank Rsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Avenue Retail Market also viewed

 

Been to Arthur Avenue Retail Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing