We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Bar in the Big Apple”

Foley's Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #894 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Great Bar in the Big Apple”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This is my first visit to Foley's but it won't be my last. History and sports memorabilia fill this mid-town establishment. I didn't have any food so I can only comment on the beverages and service. Both are top shelf. Mike and Damion mix a nice cocktail and pour a fine beer from their ample selection. Now the kicker, well two kickers. First the urinals in the men's room are dated from 1820 and were rescued from the Waldorf Hotel, formerly across the street, before it was torn down to make room for the Empire State Bldg. So that is way cool. And the only souvenirs available are a three pack of Foley's monogrammed socks. A must have for the collector on your house. Great fun. Check this place out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dcsouthwickjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    84
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
255 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar, Food, Staff and Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Mrs B and I visited here a good few times during our recent trip to NYC. We had a great experience every time, the place is jammed full of sports memorabilia, every time had a great atmosphere and the staff were chatty, informative and welcoming. Food and drink were not too pricey for NYC. Great place to watch football (soccer) and quite a central easy to find location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is the second year running we have visited Foley's as part of a visit to New York. The food and atmosphere are great. Its very close to the empire state building, so it's ideal after a visit. Portions are huge, so order less and order more if you are still hungry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Sport Bar and Restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This pub is well located in midtown. They have good beers, the burgers are good and the chicken wings excellent.
The service was quick and nice. The decoration is very nice, the place is crowded with baseball stuffs from all ages.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soso1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer and baseball.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nestled on W 33rd St. my sons and I first wandered into Foley's after touring the Empire State Building in 2008. We loved it's baseball treasures as we were in New York to see the final seasons at Yankee Stadium and Shea. When my wife and I went back to New York this year I wanted to go back to see if it would be as good as I remembered it to be. Foley's more than lived up to expectations. The bartender took time to give us a number of reccomendations for our trip, it was like meeting with a concierge while enjoying a fresh pint of Guiness. She also introduced us to the owner Shaun Clancy and his father John, both were great, John was kind enough to help us with some theater tickets.
Along with the tourists Foley's has a sizeable local following so you get a feel for the city. As I mentioned, the beer is fresh, the food is great, the atmosphere is welcoming and the prices are very reasonable. Don't miss Foley's!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foley's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Foley's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing