We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sport Bar and Restaurant”

Foley's Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #906 of 13,736 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Sport Bar and Restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This pub is well located in midtown. They have good beers, the burgers are good and the chicken wings excellent.
The service was quick and nice. The decoration is very nice, the place is crowded with baseball stuffs from all ages.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soso1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    84
    20
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great beer and baseball.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nestled on W 33rd St. my sons and I first wandered into Foley's after touring the Empire State Building in 2008. We loved it's baseball treasures as we were in New York to see the final seasons at Yankee Stadium and Shea. When my wife and I went back to New York this year I wanted to go back to see if it would be as good as I remembered it to be. Foley's more than lived up to expectations. The bartender took time to give us a number of reccomendations for our trip, it was like meeting with a concierge while enjoying a fresh pint of Guiness. She also introduced us to the owner Shaun Clancy and his father John, both were great, John was kind enough to help us with some theater tickets.
Along with the tourists Foley's has a sizeable local following so you get a feel for the city. As I mentioned, the beer is fresh, the food is great, the atmosphere is welcoming and the prices are very reasonable. Don't miss Foley's!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great space to hang out in a hectic city!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

In New York pre New Years Eve and the city was hectic...In the bitter cold we headed to The Empire State Building but with a four and a half hour queue we gave up and decided to get in to the warmth and get a cup of coffee...Not as easy as we thought...all the fast food and coffee houses were packed..Then we noticed a neon shamrock sign and headed for it...Not much to look at from the outside...but once inside we were amazed at all the sports memorabilia on the walls and ceilings..The bar is spacious with a great seating area,lovely,friendly staff and a great atmosphere.
We had a few beers and shared a delicious pizza and headed off.
The only flaw would be the toilet could do with a revamp!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Laid back pub with great deco!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We went on a Sunday night during a Giants game. Wasn't too crowded or loud which we were happy for since we were with 2 kids. Tvs were place so all could watch the game. Food was good, service was excellent. Had hot wings which I thought weren't hot enough but my husband was in a bit of pain. My son had hot dogs with fries; great fries and 2 mini hot dogs. Daughter had french onion soup and side salad, both very good. Got free pens with Foley's ad ;)
Location is great, right across from Empire state bldg and minutes from Times Square. We had walked into Legends to eat first but it was way too crowded and so loud we wouldn't have been able to hear a thing. Would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinaH7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Sports Bar”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have visited Foleys numerous time in the past while on holiday in NYC. The food, staff and beer are all great. Not the prices you would pay further up town, just good value for money. A handy limo business above the bar came in very useful also.

Very frienldy bar staff and more than happy to help out with travel info etc. The bar gets very busy with key sports events, so get there early !!!. Will definately be going back on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Salesmanager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foley's Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Foley's Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing