We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get Down to Business Here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wu Liang Ye

Wu Liang Ye
Ranked #3,162 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Get Down to Business Here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

It's been a while since visiting here and I still enjoy this Restaraunt very much. Had the full bodied hot and sour soup, filet mignon and shrimp dishes. All quite tasty. Make a reservation for lunch or you will wait. Located just a few minutes from Times Sq. Look up to catch the sign!

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    72
    17
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate here for dinner during a day trip into NYC. My uncle, who brought us, has eaten here many times before. Based on his recommendation, my boyfriend ordered salt and pepper prawns, which were excellent. I ordered the pan fried noodles with veggies, which was amazingly good.

All told, we had a very good meal with no food left on our plates at the end. The restaurant is cramped and the waiters were not overly friendly, but the taste of the food made up for it. We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

It was a disappointment because this is supposed to be a high-end Si-chuan restaurant which provide some authentic Chinese cuisine. However, for one of the most typical courses, "水煮鱼" a.k.a., "boiled fish fillets with hot chili" , it failed big time. it does not give a natural fish flavor in your mouth. After examine the fish fillet with my naked eyes, every fish slice was actually fried with oil first and turned into a brown and yellow color.. This is definitely not the cooking method supposed to be, at least from a native Chinese perspective. Also, the price of this course is $30, almost twice as much as the same one served in a New Jersey restaurant. I know dining is expensive in Manhattan. But for a sub-par Chinese cuisine, definitely not worth the money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Apoloer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Chinese with a side of "Who Cares"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

If you are looking for standard chinese food without any flair, visit this place. The staff must be playing cards or something in the back because the LAST thing they want to do is help you or make sure that your dining experience is a good one. I had water, I was never asked if I wanted anything to drink so I didn't order anything else. Not once did any server, host - anyone - smile, that I could see. The dining area was a little cramped so if you have claustrophobia, you should probably not stop in here.

The food came, it was good, but nothing spectacular. I order in the same fried rice from my local UES chinese place, identical, but about 4 Dollars Cheaper. If you look at the menu on the website, they show "Lunch Specials" - beware! That is ONLY FOR TAKEOUT customers.

When he brought the check, my friend and I put down our credit cards, the server snatched it up before we had a chance to let him know how we wanted it allocated, so he just assumed we wanted to split it. Thanks for thinking for us - NOT!

I do not think I will be returning any time soon - there are better and more pleasant Chinese places in NYC.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WineMeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Wu Liang Ye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a nice meal with appetizers and four shared entrees.The service was good and I liked the dining room (probably once the parlor of a private home.) It was pricey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tautog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wu Liang Ye also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Wu Liang Ye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing