We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions, reasonable prices”
Review of Akdeniz

Akdeniz
Ranked #1,529 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Miami Beach, FL
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large portions, reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This nondescript, midtown restaurant serves very good Turkish food. I ordered the appetizer sampling plate and was unable to finish it. The various components ranged from good to excellent and the accompanying bread was very tasty. My wife ordered the chicken kabob and was pleased with her choice. The service, while not overly friendly, was efficient. The only downer was the baklava, which wasn't bad, but not first rate. The prices were very reasonable for NYC.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quintic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    62
    15
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehouse Station
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Seems like a typical restaurant but you'd be surprised...”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

When you walk into Akdeniz there isn't much that's inspiring. The decor is a bit subdued, not dreary or anything, just plainspoken. However the service and food are fast and excellent. They really know what they're doing here. I got the grilled salmon and it was probably the best I ever had. The rice pudding was excellent as well. The Turkish coffee only left something to be desired.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Turkish food”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Delicious, traditional dishes; reasonable price, good service.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiesMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Turkish Fare, Service OK”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

First, a confession -- two of us filled up on salads and cold appetizers to the point where we no longer had room for entrees. But if they're anything as good as what we enjoyed, we're definitely going back. The warmed bread basket is a treat, and it's readily replenished when necessary. The Mediterranean and Grilled Calamari Salads were delightfully tasty and fresh, although a bit heavy on the red onion. (Perhaps that's just the way it's supposed to be.) The Eggplant salad and Cacik, together with the warm bread, were a match made in heaven. We also enjoyed the Stuffed Vine Leaves which my tablemate said were better than any she has eaten in Europe, where she lives. Judging by the plates served to other patrons, portions appeared generous. I would agree with an earlier reviewer who described the service as somewhat unfriendly and rushed. (Again, perhaps that's cultural.) Still, I will go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2NYEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The food is very good and reasonably priced Turkish restaurant, however, the service is not that good. I ate here several time this year and the service was consistently poor. The servers are usually unfriendly and rushed. That is a shame because the food is very tasty and fresh. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akdeniz also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Akdeniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing