We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and enjoyable lunch”

Jack's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #789 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 7th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: Jacks is conveniently located on several subway lines. The closest subway stop is the Times Square Station on the 7, N, Q, R, S, W and the 1, 2, and 3 lines.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
289 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Relaxed and enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had Saturday lunch at Jack's. Although I've walked past it several times during the week, I never had an occasion to eat there. The food and service were surprisingly good. The service neither rushed us nor kept us waiting. The chicken pot pie was enormous and made with noticeably fresh ingredients. And the pickels were absolutely perfect -- about the best I've ever had! I will definitely go back when I'm in the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    125
    43
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went for dinner on a June Sunday night. There was no one in the restaurant. We were a party of 6. The room was a little cold for our taste, so we asked to have the air conditioning turned down, which they did. It kept kicking in to circulate the air, so we alternated between muggy and cold and breezy.
The food was good. I enjoyed my chicken, although my friend told me that her shepherd's pie wasn't very good.
It would have been a so-so experience, except that the service was poor, which made it into a bad experience. Because we were a large group, the tip was included, which seemed to mean to our server that she didn't have to work very hard. Our glasses sat empty for long periods of time because no one came by to offer us more drinks. There was no one in the restaurant so we were confused where our server kept disappearing too. When we went to pay at the end of the night, we couldn't even find her. One of the other servers ran our bill for us.
I wouldn't go back here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good meal in quiet space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a nice meal at Jack's during our visit to NYC. It was recommended to us by the manager of another restaurant who had no place to seat us.

It was a great recommendation. We had a quiet table, good food, good wine, and a Yankees game going on the TV over the bar. The bill was reasonable for the amount of food we received. Service was consistent and not annoying solicitous. All in all---a great place to eat.

Once I arrived, I remembered that I'd eaten there before, many years ago. So that's two visits--both of which left me with good memories.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you are looking for Tapas in NYC this is the place to go. We stayed in Times Square and were in the mood for Tapas with 5 people in the group. This was definitely the right choice. Great selection of Tapas, along with other menu items. Excellent service, clean restaurant, and the tapas was top notch. Everything we ordered was perfect. We will definitely be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bdmartin153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“AMAZING TAPAS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was just what we were looking for in NYC! A quaint, local restaurant with a fantastic menu of Tapas! Excellent food and a glass a wine to start our trip to NYC off with a bang! Highly recommend this for lunch or late dinner!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2BFIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jack's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing