We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still laughing the day after!”

National Comedy Theatre New York
Ranked #21 of 147 Fun & Games in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the nationally acclaimed National Comedy Theatre. Hilarious improv comedy that is performed every Friday and Saturday night. Appropriate for all audiences.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still laughing the day after!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We live in NYC and are always looking for ways to enjoy our city with kids. Went with our 10 and 12 year old children and we all laughed - a lot. Great fun and affordable. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mcleannyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    32
    6
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for teens if you don't want to see a Broadway show ~ or have the $$ to !”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We do a NYC weekend with our kids every year since they were little ~ now 15 and 19 we just didn't feel like seeing a Broadway show...... saw the reviews on Trip Advisor and thought we would give this a try. Did NOT disappoint. We went to 9:30 show Saturday night after dinner ~ the comedians were perfectly 'in stride" ~ my opinion is they were all 'warmed up' fromthe 7 show. My kids loved it! hour and a half of clean comedy ~ very much like "who's line it is anyway" but the referee was funnier than Drew Carey (in MY opinion) ~ we laughed about things we heard / said all day on Sunday ~ it was great and for $15 a person $12 an student ` all four of us enjoyed the show for less than ONE broadway ticket would have been! give it a try!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun and Value”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visit the NYC area few times a year to visit family and are always looking for new things to do. Discovered this while perusing trip advisor, and were not let down! Professionally done, very funny improv show that is fun for the entire family with no worries of blue material. Given how well done the entertainment is, I also thought this was a fantastic value for a NYC live show experience. Highly recommend, and not just for families. My wife and I would go back on our own!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kmurph62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comedy not to be missed”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent entertainment for any age. Went with my wife & 14yo son & we laughed so hard we were almost crying. These people do an excellent job and worth seeing them whilst in NYC. We went to the 7:30pm show on the way back to our apartment & it was a full house - lucky we called ahead! Very vibrant, non-stop action and clean. Can't recommend this highly enough for a fun 90 minutes out with the family or friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianDuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great entertainment for a great price!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went with my daughters, aged 18 and 23, and we had a FABULOUS time! We went to the earlier show, 7:30, and there was a decent-sized crowd - about 40 people. I like the premise, which is 2 improv teams battling each other, and the crowd votes by applause. It's a great show for any age. We chose it because of earlier reviews saying that it was kid friendly. Even though my girls are not "kids", we prefer entertainment that isn't vulgar or profanity-laced. This was the perfect choice! Funny, energetic, clean, great bargain, no drink minimum - what more could you ask for?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Comedy Theatre New York also viewed

 

Been to National Comedy Theatre New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing