We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for the dark chocolate cinnamon!”

Il Laboratorio Del Gelato
Ranked #32 of 438 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Lower East Side
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for the dark chocolate cinnamon!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I got three flavors. The blackberry is good, the pistachio is just OK... and the dark chocolate cinnamon is awesome! The prices seemed lower than the New York average. They don't provide paper receipts - provide e-mail address if you'd like one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    81
    28
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best gelateria ever!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The taste of the gelato I had was absolutely wonderful! The service was not particularly warm but you are in a gelateria anyway! You won't be disappointed

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianluca70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Gelato and Lot's of Flavors”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A really cool gelato place! Lot's of interesting flavors. I got the small with a scoop of cream cheese gelato and blackberry gelato. It was a great mix and it was delicious! A bit pricy at about $4.00 for a small but it's NYC and it's fabulous gelato!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GueraBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing flavours”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Who'd have thought that sweet potato ice cream existed!? Not me, but it was delicious! Staff here were really friendly and relaxed about letting you try a couple of the MANY flavours before you committed to your purchase. The space itself is nice and airy and cool making it a perfect place to beat the heat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank EMCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gelato!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you are in the mood for gelato, this is the place. When I first found this place it was a tiny hole in the wall on Orchard St. with crappy hours. They have since moved to a much larger location on the corner of Houston and Ludlow. It seems like the move has been good for business. This place always seems to have a line, but they do a good job of moving people through quickly. They have a large selection of flavors that range from tried and true favorites to some out there flavors like sweet potato and tarragon. I think their espresso gelato is the best that I have ever had. My go to order is espresso, hazelnut, and vanilla.

I posted an article on my blog on Eating in the East Village. If you are interested in finding more great East Village spots, you can find the article using the link below:
http://3rdandb.com/2012/06/26/eating-in-the-east-village/

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheJoshManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Laboratorio Del Gelato also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Laboratorio Del Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing