We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour Experience”
Review of Hush Hip Hop Tours

Hush Hip Hop Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.98*
and up
New York Hip-Hop Tour
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Brooklyn Hip-Hop Tour
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Harlem Hip-Hop Walking Tour
Ranked #49 of 619 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: There is nowhere else you can rub shoulders with and listen to real insider stories from hip hop heavyweights and living legends like Grandmaster Caz, Kurtis Blow, Raheim of the Furious Five and Reggie Reg. …and what other experience gives you access to the secret sites that have played a critical role in shaping the hip hop culture? So, roll out with us. Other tour companies only show you the typical tourist-y spots and blindly pass over the rich, vibrant landmarks that give NYC its character. Our hip-hop tours are the best way for art and music lovers to visit sites you probably would have never visited on your own and experience sights, sounds and stories you won’t forget. Kick it with our crew and you won’t be disappointed. We’re all about preserving the roots of hip hop culture and that means sharing it with the world – and with people like you. For over a decade, we have been the leader in providing authentic insight into New York City and its impact on musical innovation. New York City is the undisputed Birthplace of Hip Hop culture and our tour guides are the originators! Let us show you the city’s hidden gems through the hip-hop lens.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Tour Experience”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great tour. Very educational and the tour guide is a riot! We had a great time and learned a lot of hip-hop. Would recommend for all ages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    68
    12
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing way to expore the City & learn about Hip Hop culture”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My co-workers and I went on the Birthplace of Hip Hop tour as a team-building outing on March 5 and we had a ball! Many of us are from NYC while many others are fairly new to NYC, however we all learned something and enjoyed the entire experience which was helmed by legendary and founding MC, Grandmaster Caz. We learned a bit about B-Boying history and took part in a demonstration, learning some basic B-Boy dance moves.
Hope our team can do another one of the Hush tours in the future!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DXnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Glad to provide some knowledge and a good time at that! Hope you will join for another!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best tour EVER”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We took the birth of hip hop tour and didn't regret it at all...Hosted by the hilarious Grand Master Caz, we went through Harlem and The Bronx to discover Hip Hop (and I mean real hip hop).
Listening to the stories from one of the pioneer of hip hop is an experience you can't get anywhere else, and believe me when the MC talks, all shall listen closely, his knowledge of hip hop is as huge as the ocean.
You'll also get a pretty cool lesson about and of b-boying which is one of the pillars of hip hop.
It was a very informative and entertaining tour, I wouldn't hesitate to do it again, and I hope I'll be able to do one of the other hush tours when I'm back in NYC

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelien_J97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Glad you found some comedy in the history, love bringing the two together! Hope you do come back for another tour and unique experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Twp, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hush Tours is PERFECT for your teens birthday party!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Trying to come up with an idea for a 14 year old boy's birthday was no easy task because it just had to be "cool!" Well, nothing was cooler for a bunch of 14 year old hard to please boys than taking them on the Birth of Hip Hop HUSH TOUR!! As soon as all 11 of us got on the bus, I knew that we were in for a treat! First off, the bus was really nice! Beautiful...holds about 30 people, super comfortable seats, great sound system and a huge flat screen tv! When legendary Grandmaster Caz, our host, came on the bus the kids were in awe...as were we...and we all stayed hooked for the entire 4 hours!! I felt like a tourist in my own city of New York on this tour because Caz took us on a tour of urban NY like no other! We learned and saw firsthand the influence of hip hop...we got on and off the bus several times to "experience" so much from seeing grafitti art to meeting the artists in back alleys displaying their talents to getting a chance to be a "b-boy" and learn some dance moves. The tour also makes a stop for an authentic soul food lunch that everyone enjoyed. The music on the bus was awesome from the 1970s to present which hooked the adults as well as the kids...and Grandmaster Caz masterfully guided us through how it all evolved along the way. You know you picked the right outing for a bunch of teens when they talked about it the ENTIRE way home and posted pictures to all their friends! I highly recommend this tour. What I also liked about this tour was that the kids got a real education about urban life and struggles and how the art and music was inspired by it all yet it was still VERY entertaining and fun! The charm, the humor, the talent and the wisdom of Grandmaster Caz will stay with these kids forever.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
The stamp of approval from teenagers and parents alike is amazing, much appreciated. Glad to make a lasting memory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Teens favorite in NYC!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We returned from a trip to NYC Jan. 1-5. Our kids (boy 15 and girl 12) have been to NYC 3 times and I wanted to find things to do that they haven't done before (Empire State building, Statue of Liberty, show on Broadway, Central Park,...). They were a little hesitant when I told them we were going on a 4 hour Hip Hop tour. They love music and the reviews were great, so I was pretty sure it would be good. It exceeded all expectations! They (we all) loved it! It ended up being their favorite thing of the whole trip. What an experience. Visiting the Bronx and Harlem, seeing a real graffiti studio, watching a real break dancer, stopping at Yankee Stadium and eating at soul food restaurant. The best part of all was our tour guide/deejay! Grandmaster Caz! He is the real deal! My kids LOVED him and so did we! He laid out the whole history of Hip Hop in such a fun interesting way. We even bought and downloaded his cd onto all of our itunes devices - including my husband. Best tour in NYC!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CKTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HushHipHopTours, Manager at Hush Hip Hop Tours, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
We strive to exceed expectations and are happy to have provided you and your family with a wonderful experience. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hush Hip Hop Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hush Hip Hop Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing