We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE IN NYC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Blues

Terra Blues
Ranked #8 of 859 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blues Bar & Music Venue HOURS: Sunday-Thursday 6:30pm-2:30am, Friday 6:30pm-3:30am, Saturday 6:00pm-3:30am DIRECTIONS: 6 to Bleecker Street, ACE BDFM to West 4th Street
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“BEST PLACE IN NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've been to this club countless times and have never been disappointed. the staff has always been friendly and attentive.
Call for reservations for a larger group, especially on Saturday nights if you would like to be seated. The live music is amazing,
My review of my visit last night -
was seated promptly and drink order was taken immediately.
The band was great !!!

In my opinion, the only improvements needed would be a bigger place!
Love this place and will continue to go there for years to come, as well as bring out of towners there.
Great place to get together with friends, and to go out with colleagues etc.
PEACE

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ben b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    71
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Surprising for Bleecker Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

In an area that is predominantly soiled by purple and white NYU insignia, Terra Blues offers a haven for adults & adult-types, who just want to hear good live music and imbibe a properly-made cocktail.

The downside: They do not hold tables past 9 PM ... after 9 PM all seating is first come, first served.

Oh well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BDanielleK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Musician was awesome, bar not so much.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The door staff and a man who appeared to be the manager were not welcoming on our arrival and while I enjoyed the music here I didn't leave feeling like I'd had a good night here. The show was about 2 hours and they don't serve any sort of food (not even peanuts) which I found incredibly bizarre.
I don't think I'd go back here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We came very late in the night so only heard a few songs. Staff seemed friendly...nice little bar. What we heard of the band was good. They come around with a bucket for you to tip the band at the end of the night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Real blues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Reservations accepted but tables only held until 9:00 pm. We arrived a few minutes after 9:00, having called first to explain that we would be late, and they had held our table for us even though the place was filling up rapidly. By the time the last set started (shortly after 10:15) the place was packed. Enough has been written about the physical layout of the club itself, so I won't repeat the descriptions except to say that it was appropriately sized, dark and somewhat cramped, as befits a real blues club.

No food served at this venue, but the drinks were amply sized and the service was friendly and attentive.

On this night we caught Michael Powers and his power blues trio. These are real bluesmen, no pretense at being anything else. We enjoyed the set tremendously.

$10 cover charge with a two-drink minimum. Our drinks (Manhattan and a brandy-based concoction known as a snow top) were $12 apiece.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oscar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Blues also viewed

 

Been to Terra Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing