We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, cozy place”
Review of Bitter End

Bitter End
Ranked #74 of 862 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greenwich Village music club with offering blues, country, rock, and jazz by up-and-coming talent.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, cozy place”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went to go see a friend perform and had a couple drinks while we were there. Even with a packed house it was a great, intimate space. Looked like they had quite the turnover of performers, with new acts setting up every hour. Definitely a cool place to go and hear a lot of different kinds of music, especially since many famous people have been through there when they were starting out. Close to lots of other bars and restaurants if you want to bounce around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank abbylok89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Brilliant place in Greenwich Village. $4 to see 4 bands and all of them were worth more than the admission fee on their own. Drinks bill was a lot but that was probably down to the amount we consumed ! Good atmosphere and brilliant entertainment.
Go there !!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dave902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for music”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had an opportunity to visit the City over the weekend and wound up at the Bitter End to hear some music. Sat through 3 sets from different bands, had great service and heard great music. Was really impressed with the last band, Preferred Stock, and will have to catch them again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Live Music, Different Singers and... Wow”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in one night because we wanted to hear some live music.

Place was packed, but tables were still opened towards the back.

Waitress was super friendly and reminded me of a friend back in high school.

Then the first singer started her song...

And i felt like i was in front of a future superstar, with a voice and original songs that could easily become hits, and a violinist to boot.

Other singers came and sang, but first impressions for this place left me feeling like it was going to become a place to enjoy again on my next trip to NYC.

Helpful?
1 Thank DrLife
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Another Bleeker Street Winner”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a great time in NYC especially down Bleeker Street (see Terra Blues Review) and this was another great night in this street. They have all performed here and what an atmospheric venue, the night I was there it was a five dollar cover charge but for that there was a different act on every hour. Heard some great music and you never know who you might see in there, the next Gaga, Dylan, Petty, Midler???

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitter End also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bitter End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing