We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best movie theater in New York City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ziegfeld

The Ziegfeld
Ranked #39 of 143 Fun & Games in New York City
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,096 reviews
603 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Simply the best movie theater in New York City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My most recent visit to the Ziegfeld was for "Life of Pi" in 3D - I could've done without the 3D glasses, but otherwise it was a very good film. The theater was sparsely filled on a Tuesday early evening - hopefully they filled the seats on the weekend with that one!

We also visited the Ziegfeld in December for a Saturday matinee Live in HD broadcast of the Metropolitan Opera's production of Mozart's "La Clemenza di Tito." Very well-attended and a spectacular production! Now that we know that the Ziegfeld does the Live in HD broadcasts, we are going to make a point of always attending them there!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charming_Karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Christmas Day & Le Mis at The Ziegfeld”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Christmas Day was the opening day for the movie 'Le Mis' and we couldn't of seen it in a more appropriate theatre. The Ziegfeld whisks you back in time with its plush red upholstered chairs and red flocked wall coverings. Chandeliers and ornate light sconces adorn the walls and ceilings. Sadly, rumours are that this Grand Old Dame of theatres may be slated for demolition as the real estate is so valuable. Really hope that it will be spared the wrecking ball, they just don't build them like this anymore! If you get the chance to see a movie here you will not be disappointed.
The staff were very friendly, as if they take real pride in being the caretakers of this special venue.
Price of admission and concessions were far more reasonable than the usual homogenized multi screen movie theatres. Would of loved the film anyway but feel that the whole experience at The Ziegfeld made it a perfect '10' !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank 25Anniversay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A delicious taste of what going to movies used to be like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This venue has hosted many premieres over the last 30 years, and you can feel that ambiance the moment you go upstairs to enter the theater. The red plush surroundings conjure up the sense of a red carpet, and the size of the theater is impressive. We saw Argo there, and Skyfall somewhere else, and the Ziegfeld was certainly more memorable and always will be. If a movie is playing here that you want to see, I highly recommend checking it out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
296 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Argo on a Friday night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We loved this theatre! It is beautiful and spacious! We saw Argo on a Friday night and while the movie ticket price was high ($13.25), the popcorn and soda were less expensive than at my local theatre which is NOT in NYCV.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LJBCOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
499 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The history alone makes this a place to see and the extra large screen is just icing on the cake. This theater has seen so many great acts over the years and I am glad to see the tradition continue. We need more places like this in the world. You must see a movie here to experience the feel of an old theater for yourself.

Helpful?
Thank kidflemingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ziegfeld also viewed

 

Been to The Ziegfeld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing