We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun Piano Bar. Performers are actors. Beautiful inside.”
Review of Don't Tell Mama

Don't Tell Mama
Ranked #30 of 862 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gainesville, florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really fun Piano Bar. Performers are actors. Beautiful inside.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went here after seeing Phantom. It draws a slightly older crowd that I was happy to see. Pianist was awesome and can play and sing incredibly well. All the servers join in the singing as. Well. No cover charge but their is a two drink minimum with very reasonable prices. We stayed way too late because we were having so much fun. If you like piano bars this is a high energy place to go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KimC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    67
    23
    12
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Piano Bar with great singing and drinks.”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The best way to finish an amazing night after watching a Broadway show is visiting Don't Tell Mama.
Its super friendly and talented bar staff/singers/rockstars (with the help of the amazing pianist, who can pretty much play it all) take turns to sing everything from showtunes to rock/pop anthems, so it's not just for Broadway lovers.
Shy type? Don't worry, this is not a karaoke or a "let's all sing together" bar like Marie's Crisis (which is super fun as well). The staff takes the mic while you drink one of their great cocktails (no two-drinks minimum while I was there)
Do you want a special song? Just write the name on your napkin and give it to anyone in the staff. There's a tip jar and they deserve every dollar!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominique0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Piano bar with attitude :)”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What an incredible find, my New York lonely planet guide suggested visiting this place I'm so glad we did its just off Broadway very easy to find. The atmosphere in here was electric with Nate on the keys, singing and the waitstaff joining in to take the mic. I think there's a 2 drink minimum but we were in there for the long hall so weren't told that as we entered. We sat at the bar opened a tab and let the night unfold. The entertainment is incredible the staff should be on Broadway, with no cover charge just a jar passed around to collect tips throughout the evening. There's also an opportunity to sing yourself as they host open mic amongst it all. My husband ordered chicken wings at 1am and said they were the best he'd ever tasted. We had great fun here watching and joining in with the entertainment on offer I would recommend this bar to anyone. Its a hidden NYC gem. When I return to this City I will return here for sure!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing. First class. Piano Bar one side, Restaurant the other side.”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Tried the restaurant, very good food, excellent service, reasonable prices. The piano bar next door, Marvellous! Got to be one of NYC's hidden gems!!! Excellent pianists that sing. Excellent bar staff that sing everything from Film & TV to Musical Theatre.. The staff, I think, are actually real performers from Broadway shows who are supplementing their income, and fair play to them. There is no cover charge but a tip jar is passed round during the evening and it's worth every single dollar. A "MUST" visit place. A brilliant evening's entertainment

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theboyz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AMAZEBALLS - Nothing like it in the UK”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

As the snow came down in Times Square we were lucky enough to see a deserted Broadway covered in a blanket of white... So.. We made our way down to 46th Street in search of a piano bar and found the best entertainment Broadway has to offer... And it was FREE...

We arrived at about 9 before the action had really got started but in plenty of time to grab ourselves a wee table... The staff were super friendly and helpful searching through their own supplies of herbal tea to keep us happy and warm. As the night drew on the brilliant male singer/pianist was variously accompanied by each of the super talented waitresses who walked around serving and mixing drinks, microphone tucked in their aprons ready to harmonise at any given moment...

Each of the waitresses took turns to do a wee solo at the front and we were treated to showtunes from Rent to Wicked to The Little Mermaid. The atmosphere was fantastic and the performance standards we could easily have paid $170 to see round the corner in a musical....

This place is really special. A really supportive and engaged audience brought out the best in the singers and the fact that they were serving our drinks only made it more intimate and friendly.

I should also mention that the cocktails were out of this world. This bar is exactly what I came to New York to experience and I wasn't disappointed. Go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallysaysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don't Tell Mama also viewed

 

Been to Don't Tell Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing