We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NYC Piano Bar Ever!!”
Review of Don't Tell Mama

Don't Tell Mama
Ranked #30 of 862 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best NYC Piano Bar Ever!!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have now been to Don't Tell Mama twice and both times it is like meeting all of your old friends around the piano to sing and drink together. While the seating arrangements are a bit tight, it does not get much more fun than this if you enjoy singing along to all the great tunes. The entire bar staff joins in every so often and you can request any tune to listen to or even sing yourself with the great piano player. There is NO COVER CHARGE. The drink prices are standard for New York City and the only "extra charge" is the optional tip in the tip jar for the piano player.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DontTellMama, Manager at Don't Tell Mama, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
'Mama' would like to deeply thank you for coming. We look forward to having you as our guest again (3rd time!!) with your family or friends to wine, dine, and sing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    67
    23
    12
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After the theater, we stopped in the typical tourist spot, Hard Rock Cafe, to grab a drink. Our server was great and when we asked him where to go for the rest of the evening, he recommended Don't Tell Mama! How lucky were we to have found such a fun place. The music was lively and the wait staff all rivaled Broadway singers without exception. We closed the place and would go back again!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DontTellMama, Manager at Don't Tell Mama, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
'MAMA' would like to personally thank you for coming to our Piano Bar & Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shhhhh!! Don't Tell Mamma!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

When you're having this much fun, Mamma doesn't need to know!

My absolute favorite bar in NYC, I've always had a fabulous time when I patronize it. The singing and live entertainment is great. The style is fun-loving, humorous combined with songs that make you want to dance. The singers and piano player are Broadway level talent - for a fraction of the price (two drink minimum).

If you follow my reviews, you know that the wine list is important to me. Don't Tell Mamma's has a nice list that is reasonably priced (for NYC) and the food served is decent. For the most part, the service is good - unless your server is the next in line to perform / sing, which makes the wait worth it because you get caught up in the fun of having your waiter / waitress sing and entertain you.

I always take my friends to Don't Tell Mamma's after seeing a show - and sometimes, we just go early (around 5 pm) and almost close the place down.

Always fun, always good. I highly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Raksanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DontTellMama, Manager at Don't Tell Mama, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Raksanna, Thank you for visiting Don't Tell Mama. Happy Hour begins at 4pm daily with live music at 5! Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovley food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Me and my other half both loved this restaurant the food is amazing and the piano bar (next door)was just as good.

we got tipped of by one of our friends before we travelled and was told to try it out, due to it being so nice we went back a second time to eat, this really is worth trying out. Its a must on your New York to do list.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank whippit84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beyond It's Prime”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Year's ago we went to Don't Tell Mama and loved it so much we told all of our friends it was a NYC must. Since, then we have been back twice, the first time it was just okay and this last time was just abysmal. The singing was terrible to the point I thought they we're trying to parody the SNL skit about lounge singers. The prices are high even for the city and the 2 drink minimum ridiculous only because it would be painful to sit there long enough to drink 2 drinks. Seriously, there are so many better uses of your time and money if you are visiting NYC. A meal at Ellen's is about the same price as Mama's 2 drink minimum and the singing and entertainment at Ellen's is light years beyond Mama's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don't Tell Mama also viewed

 

Been to Don't Tell Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing