We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lesson: Don't Forget to Close Your Tab!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thom Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thom Bar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lounge bar of the stylish 60 Thompson hotel in SoHo.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lesson: Don't Forget to Close Your Tab!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I really like Thom Bar - great location, friendly and skilled bartenders, etc. I made the mistake of opening a tab... had one drink and then left to go have dinner. I absentmindedly left my card at Thom Bar. Well, within 24-hours my card was enjoying more of NYC than I was!

Thankfully, Amex reversed all charges I identified as fraudulent and sent me a new card.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
México
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The usual hotel bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Service was good and prices were NYC average. Pretty waitress and grumpy look bouncers but still their music was nothing new, their dj was a party dj average. I guess they had their golden times past. It looked to me that must of the people who were there on a busy night were for a wedding held at the hotel.

The rest of the week the place was pretty chill and good for talking and enjoying time with friends. I liked the place for chilling after getting back to your hotel not for partying.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TabHito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Birthday Drinks at Thom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

A group of friends and I went to Thom on a Friday night to celebrate a friends 30th birthday. The bar was rather empty at 8pm but picked up as our friends arrived and was fairly busy around 9pm. The drinks were decent and the bartenders were very helpful in recommendations and drinks. Friends had special cups made to drink out of and the manager refused to allow them and hoped to place them in the coat room since I believe she thought they were tacky. Instead after we refused to have her take them she placed them on the couch and hid them behind pillows. I don't know if she assumed people were going to sneak their own booze into the cups but none the less it was rude on her part. The apps were decent (cheese plates and egg roles). The music was rather old school (from the 90's and early 00's) and we all had a rather good time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Managment and Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We came to a Wedding today at the hotel. Then decided to go to Thom Bar. The venue was completely empty & music was terrible. We ask if they could do a special deal on Champagne and change the music. The manager will simply say " Sorry we can't do anything to help you. We understand you spent thousands of dollars at our hotel at your wedding but know it suck to be you. Suck up the terrible depressing music and if you want a drink pay full price." talk about service.

Helpful?
1 Thank FedericoJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Level Contributor
421 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Swank”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Pretty swank place. Great drinks, beautiful people, and a great DJ spinning. Excellent decor and ambiance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nads82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thom Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing