We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check for what's on”

New York City Center Theater
Ranked #257 of 1,079 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Legendary live theatre venue known for presenting contemporary dramas.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Check for what's on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Throughout the year, this venue stages a variety of performances - ballet & dance, music, plays and more. Ticket prices are very reasonable and sell out fast but if you line up on the day of the performance at around 6pm, you may be lucky to get cancellation tickets. Just go to the building - it is a work of art in itself with tiled facade and lobby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank takemetotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a big old theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is where I came with my school class many decades ago to see my first play, West Side Story (a n experience I'll always remember)

Helpful?
Thank Starshine711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Alvin Ailey Dance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

outstanding, the premier Company is only in town during the Xmas Holiday. The City Center is a landmark itself and since the remodel it is a wonder to see.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Ballet in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had memories and recollections of
seeing Baryshnikov, Nureyev, &
Vella. Wow....what a night. The
Shostakovich piece was exquisite,
and highly charged. Audience (and me)
went wild.! Bravi Tutti ABT !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank martonewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

took my 20 year old daughter with me and she adored the shopping. was overawed with Tiffay's in particular which was only 2 blocks from the hotel the major sight were within easy reach

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reiveress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York City Center Theater also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to New York City Center Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing