We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service”

Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #285 of 13,633 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

My husband and I went to Fogo De Chao to celebrate my birthday, it was our first but definitely not our last visit. The service was exquisite , young but extremely well trained and efficient wait staff, it almost felt like a well choreographed ballet, there were there when they were needed, invisible when they were not. Pleasant and attentive. While the service is important the evening would have been less of a success if the food would not have been outstanding. The salad bar had everything imaginable to complement a various and very tasty meats. All and all a wonderful experience! Thank you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkVeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    262
    74
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We'll this is not my first trip to Fogo, however my first time in this location. It was much bigger restaurant, crowded as expected. The salad and cheese bar were constantly being replenished but above this the meat was hands down the best you can ever taste. Service was excellent and the wait time was less that 10 minutes but I strongly recommend reserving to avoid delays... The NY cheese cake was the perfect desert to compliment the savory dinner. Thanks again for a great experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anis74us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent food / will certainly come again”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to Fogo de Chao as part of their participation in the restaurant week and it was worth to try them. The food was very food (one of the best I had in NY so far) and the service very friendly. Already the salad bar was a dream and the folllowing meats even better. Will certainly go there again. I also think that the higher price, ie outside the restaurant week, is justifiable. And, the Mojitos are good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
273 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pair it with MoMa for a Full "Experience"”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

In true Brazilian hospitality and style, we ate at Fogo de Chao after visiting Museum of Modern Art next door. The decor was very Brazilian, like Lygia Clark, and the bar was as enormous above as the steak restaurant below. The price is steep ($60/adult), but the restaurant was fully booked almost a week beforehand. My husband slightly prefers Fogo de Chao in Las Vegas for its sizzling meats, but this NYC joint is a feast for the eyes and isn't overly salty--better than D.C.'s Fogo. Kids still pay $30 for all-you-can-eat, but a third of the tables on Saturday at suppertime were families with kids. The service speaks for itself...and the salad bar offered everything from smoked salmon or quinoa mix (for vegetarians) to Brazilian palm and greens galore.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Left full and satisfied”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

First off, the food is fabulous! They have a wonderful buffet of salads, cheese, bread and meats, and that's before you've flipped your card over and the gauchos begin bringing by the roasted meat options. SO tasty!

The gauchos are very friendly, but the waitstaff was... a little less friendly. I've been to another Fogo De Chao that had fantastic service, so perhaps my expectations were higher then they needed to be, but I was a little disappointed with that.

Otherwise, the food is fantastic, and I would come back here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing