We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine place to crash after a big day!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dexter House Hostel
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fine place to crash after a big day!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

If all your after is a roof over your head, a bed and simple amenities this is the place for you. Especially if you only want to go and explore beautiful New York City. No problems, as we were out all day and just wanted to crash and go to bed at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    27
    13
    32
See reviews for
7
26
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel over xmas and new years of 2009/10. I knew that i was not going to be staying in a luxury place, im not stupid, it was very cheap! however i was expecting a no frills, clean hotel that would do us for our low budget trip. This place was an absolute disaster! The bathrooms were filthy and we had to buy our own toilet paper as it never got replaced in 10 days, the room was cleaned only once during the entire stay and the rooms were very undesireable. I would suggest to anyone trying to stick to a budget, to pay a little bit extra and do not stay here! I have been back to NYC 3 times since and i have seen much nicer places for a only a little bit extra. The staff were very rude and unhelpful and we had numerous isssues trying to use phone and internet. The only positive is the location is rather nice and close to subway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooke l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

This is THE WORST HOTEL I have EVER stayed at. Noisy, unfriendly staff, roaches in the kitchen and I had a mouse in my room one night. The only saving grace is the location

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicci1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

So, Going in, we expected the worst, in fact we would fall asleep to reading the reviews from this website on the days leading up to our stay at dexter. We had booked to stay there over new years 2011, and became worried at the shocking reviews the place was getting on this website. I hope to give an honest and truthful representation of dexter house.

We arrived late, as we had been delayed into NYC due to the blizzard in late December, we were a party of three, with a friend who was supposed to arrive the same night. As he was to fly into NYC his flight was delayed by a few days. This wasn't a problem for the staff, which surprised me, after what i had read, and i had expected to pay his fees until he arrived. When he did arrive, two nights later he wasn't even charged for the nights he didn't stay, which although it makes sense, at a place like this they will usually charge you unless you give notice.

unfortunately this is where the service ended. We checked in, went up to our rooms, mine on level two, my traveling companions on level four and had a look. My room was small, but not horrible, had a tv, bunk bed and locker. The problem though was the heater in the room wasn't working, and there was a gap between the air conditioner and the window which was letting in the freezing cold air. When i asked for more blankets (our room had none) the cleaning staff laughed and said, were looking for blankets ourselves. (that is no exaggeration) Luckily, the other room my friends were staying in was boiling hot and they were provided with blankets so i borrowed theirs.

The place was very noisy and had a lot of strange smells, this is no joke. The walls seemed to be painted instead of cleaned with many layers of thick peeling paint (probably lead based). the doors between sections of the levels were often jammed or had broken handles. There were rat/bug traps on the floor in my level (2) However i never saw any rats or bugs during my 6 night stay. While my room had a TV and bar fridge, the other room, we paid the same amount for had a microwave as well which seemed a bit strange.

The lift does take a long time to come and while there are permanent residents on the most part they were mentally stable. In fact it must be nicer upstairs because the people coming and going from the place with their pets who obviously lived there looked like regular people who wouldn't put up with living in the poor conditions of the lower levels.

While the place does have Wifi it only works in the lobby.

The Biggest problem for me however were the bathrooms, they honestly were filthy, but still usable, except the one in my wing of the building which had no light. When i asked reception he said he would send someone up, however this never happened and it was not fixed for the 6 days i was there. If it is too dificult to replace a light bulb it really makes you think. the staff apart from when we checked in were useless, rude, with attitudes and just couldn't care less, just disturbing them from the TV they were watching was a problem when they were supposed to be working. If u have a problem don't even bother with them. The showers were mostly rusty and damaged, however the water pressure was incredible. My friends both had problems with the residents complaining when they were using the shared bathrooms, however i did not have this problem on level 2.

While they were filthy, i got used to it in a day or so and although it was pretty bad, it wasn't unbearable.

To conclude, i wouldn't stay here with your girlfriend unless she likes camping, it truly is a rubbish 'hotel' 'hostel' or whatever they call it. The staff are rude, the rooms are ok but often missing things or freezing cold/hot the bathrooms are rubbish BUT it is a great and very very safe location, catch the 1 train down to times square after a 2 min walk, walk to central park in 5 min, or the Hudson in 1 min.

Most importantly it DIDN'T ruin my trip, sure the place was creepy, but if you can have a bit of a laugh at it, and only spend the nights there, which is all you need when your in NYC anyway and if your on a budget, go for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ausmike_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Valais
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This hostel was perfectly situated but the staff was horrible. You couldn't ask a question, the guy was not nice at all.
I had a noisy room, it's like with had the factory in our room !
Anyway, great location close to the subway and the park.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

when reading previous reviews on this hostel i expected a show box room with horrible service. but i was pleasently surprised. yes the hostel is cheap but for what your paying you are getting a great deal. we found this hostel was cheaper then sharing a room with 19 other people in a backpackers and we had our own room.

we shared a bed and the room was spacious (enough for 4 suticases and mess) with a tv, fridge and microwave. the room was well heated and our towels were changed everyday. it had a bonus of a laundry down stairs that we could use.

*it was a 2 block walk up to broadway and a 2 minute subway ride to times square.
*it was 3 blocks from central park (strawberry fields entrance)
*great cafes and deli's with in walking distance
*brochures and flyers about new york where free in the lobby
* staff were always friendly and approchable
*the live in tennants were friendly

the only problem i had with this hostel was that the elevator took a really long time but there were 2 stairways as an alternative.

for the price you are paying for hostels like this i think the saying "beggars cant be choosers" and you wont find anything cheaper in new york.

if you want a nice hotel stay in New Jersy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

A DANGEROUS DUMP. Illegal as a tourist hotel as of May 2011. These are single apartments chopped up into rooms with no space between them or hallway to speak of. Obviously permanent residents haved live there for decades and the so called 'suites" are erratically laid out. They also smell badly probably due to their close proximity. The bathrooms were shared with residents and not cleaned regulary. This is an old broken down SRO hotel. I felt not only ripped off, but like an intruder. No room service, no resturant NOTHING. Just a dirty, broken down, hotel in a nice neighborhood. BTW some residents are clearly mentally impaired, some or migrants and one collect trashbages of bottles and stinks.Nice company when sharing the elevator.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35805Skittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,527 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#310 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dexter House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexter House Hostel

Property: Dexter House Hostel
Address: 345 W 86th St, New York City, NY 10024-3113
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Dexter House Hotel New York City
Dexter House New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing