We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Russian oligarchs would feel ripped off” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russian Tea Room

The Russian Tea Room
Ranked #914 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th Avenues
Transit: N, Q, R to 57th Street/7th Avenue F to 57th Street B, D, E to 7th Avenue/53rd Street 1, 2, A, B, C, D to Columbus Circle
Description: Opulent and grand, The Russian Tea Room in New York offers elegant fine dining in sophisticated surroundings. Superb continental cuisine with Russian fare is the key focus at the exquisite Russian Tea Room. The elegant interior features bold red leather banquettes and Art Deco design. Full of character, Russian Tea Room has been a cultural hub in New York for over 80 years, after the members of the Russian Imperial Ballet founded the restaurant in 1927. Full of delicious classics, the menu includes signature dishes like beef stroganoff, poached lobster salad or chicken kiev with caramelized wild rice. High Tea at The Russian Tea Room includes sandwiches and blinis along with cupcakes, seasonal scones and petits fours. A fine selection of loose leaf teas will complement the high tea, with the optional accompaniment of champagne. Close to New York's Carnegie Hall, the vibrant tradition of the Russian Tea Room legacy is still alive to this day.
Lymm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Russian oligarchs would feel ripped off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked in advance for our party of 10 to visit for breakfast. We didn't really need too as the place was nearly empty at 9.30am (the quietest place we have eaten in in NYC). After getting our bill I can see why.
To be fair, previous comments regarding staff rudeness didn't apply to us. The food it's self though was your average American breakfast. You could choose caviar but at over $200oz we didn't bother.
Can't complain too much about the food it's self, but I can't see how they can justify charging over double other restaurants in the area charge for nothing special.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pedz3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    348
    230
    120
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Left speechless by their attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Booked a table for 6 for breakfast the day before we went saying that we would like the sharing option which was on the board outside. When we arrived for our booking the place, although very beautiful, was completely empty. We sat down and as we were being handed the menus we said we would like to have the option for 6 people - we were told very rudely that no such option existed. We decided not to stay, more because of the way they had spoken to us and the fact that it was empty than because we would have to pay a little more. Wouldn't you think that they would have tried to accommodate us rather than turn away $150 of business on a slow day? Apparently not.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a great time having dinner here. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was terrific but we didn't see Woody Alan there :). This is a great place to have meals or afternoon tea. The food and tea were good but the tiramisu didn't meet my expectation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Appalling customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the most underwhelming and disappointing experiences of all my time spent dining in New York over the last 20 years. I will start by saying that the food was 'reasonable'. Nothing more, nothing less but it would be churlish to say otherwise.

The prices were, for such a touristy locale, predictably on the steep side. Should one opt for the caviar, then make sure you visit your bank manager prior to leaving to remortgage your house however. There is a distinct lack of Russian specialities on the menu.

The decor is, at best, garish. The room, at a peak midweek lunchtime, was almost entirely devoid of customers resulting in a flat atmosphere to say the least.

A major problem for us came with the presentation of our OpenTable voucher. We informed the receptionist on the way in about the voucher and were assured "That's fine".

On the way out we were apprehended by the maître d who informed us, to our complete and utter astonishment that, "we have never heard of this OpenTable". Perhaps if it were a kebab joint in Columbus I would accept this but The Russian Tea Room has never heard of Open Table???? What complete and utter nonsense.

Ignore the fact that we booked directly from OpenTables website link to the RTR, the fact that the RTR Tripadvisor page has a link and even ignoring the comically (and ironic) placed OpenTable SCREENSAVER on the maître d's OWN ACTUAL PC, I simply don't accept we were the first party to use an OpenTable gift certificate.

THEY REFUSED TO LET US LEAVE FOR 51 MINUTES while they made countless phone calls despite us producing the clear and undeniable receipts, invoices, emails etc all proving the authorisation.

Added to this horrendous set up was the odd sudden appearance of a couple of male members of the RTR team clearly designed to send us a message as they patrolled around us for 40 minutes as we set, embarrassed and frustrated in the full view of (the very few customers) who entered the front door.

After 51 minutes there was a curt "it's ok you can go" !!!!!! Not an explanation, not an apology.

In many ways this was my fault, choosing such a venue over the many brilliant, fresh, and innovative restaurants in this city.

Save your money, please please please.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank BobLatchford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The best : Great meal very nice setting impeccable service. And the owner Hasan Byberaj is an outstanding Gentleman.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Russian Tea Room also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Russian Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing