We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential NYC Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sotto Cinque - CLOSED

Sotto Cinque
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenue
Transit: 4, 5 & 6 trains to Lexington Avenue and East 86th Street.
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quintessential NYC Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place is what I love about NYC restaurants. Intimate and very relaxed feeling! From the moment we were seated we felt welcomed. We enjoyed the Mussel appetizer in a nice red sauce, and we ordered the Branzini Whole Fish....excellent and delicious! (just be careful of the bones...smile!) We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank professor_eNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK food, fair prices, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Had seafood risotto ($15) and rigatoni with sausage ($10). Both good. Risotto was not what I expected—it tasted more like the Spanish dish shrimp in green sauce over risotto (even tho it was not green). There were about 4 shrimps, 5 clams, and good amount of squid and calamari. Couldn’t taste saffron or butter but I like green sauce and portion as a whole was ample. Rigatoni was good too; sausage was very good-burnt and tasty. Sauce was tomatoey. Plenty of bread. Not cheap anymore, but fairly priced. Service was attentive. Atmosphere on Sunday afternoon was pleasant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerryPatetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little slice of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great food, wine, and service. Several times a week live music that suits the space is added free if charge. Nice atmosphere too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYWomantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neat little Italian restuarant in a good neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Nice Italian restaurant on the Upper East Side. Good menu with good service make for a good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
“Very Poor Service and Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

We went for a dinner in the upper east side last weekend as we had some friends residing in the area. The wine was very expensive and low quality compared to the surrounding restaurants in the second avenue. The appetizer (artichokes) was ok but the chicken entree was half cooked and smelled old and took almost like an hour after the appetizer. I saw one roach on the corner and mentioned to the server for which he discounted my bill (did not need that). We were looking for a fast quick and fresh Italian food.
Overall very very poor service and food and would not recommend it anyone around. There are plenty of better restaurants in the neighborhood. Do not fall in the trap of saving a dollar for low quality food service and place.

Helpful?
Thank krlopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sotto Cinque also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing