We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing to say the least”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Court

Palm Court
Reserve with OpenTable
Palm Court is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,220 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Fifth Avenue at Central Park South
Transit: Subway: N, R, Q, F, E, 4, 5, 6 are all within walking distance.
Description: Geoffrey Zakarian has re-launched the iconic Palm Court at The PLAZA HOTEL with a complete renovation helmed by Master Architect Thierry Despont. Zakarian showcases classic American menus from morning to evening, and while staying true to its original design intent, Despont has brought the grand feeling of Central Park indoors, with garden elements such as caning, large potted plants, four soaring palm trees and an oval trellised bar anchoring the room, creating an ambience that feels warm, private and glamorous. Bespoke furnishings provide a relaxed, yet elegant setting well-suited for either a professional breakfast meeting or an evening of cocktails crafted by mixologist Brian Van Flandern. Afternoon Tea truly shines as well with custom tableware and china, a tea list with worldly depth, and of course, a bit of Eloise too. This elegant room marked with its stained glass dome and impressive height adds a touch of old New York to a very polished and modern sense of hospitality
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,250 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I have been to high tea at 25 places around the U. S. and Europe. Only one of those has been average; the rest were very good to excellent. We thought tea at The Plaza was the pinnacle of tea service. Boy were we wrong! Besides the fact that the rooms there have gotten ridiculously expensive, the tea service for two of us was in excess of $200, and only one of us had Champagne with tea. The sandwiches were dry, and the sweets were very disappointing. The scones were unimaginative, there wasn't enough lemon curd or cream for both of us, and the service was not very attentive. We enjoyed the live piano music though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    151
    121
    81
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Head
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“awesome brunch at the plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was just stupendous...from the time i sat down in DT's chair overseeing the eloise picture to the last cup of coffee the experience was just all 10s
Luigi the person that was taking care of use made sure we were satisfied...who wouldn't be ....... the food was awesome...yougut and berries and bran....fruit...bacon drained on bread eggs and cheeses and rolls a selection of pastries and great coffee and a choice of any juice u want made this sunday the BEST sunday of the year quit reasonable at under 75 and under 100 with tip it was the most relaxing and greatest bruch in new york....
book ahead as it is full....try platinum card booking ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nucdoclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sloppy service and massively overpriced for the experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The restaurant is very beautiful but I am afraid this is all that can be said for the positives. The food at best was good but nothing exceptional. There was no-one waiting to welcome us. When our host did materialise he asked a nearby waiter where to seat us. With a sullen glare this waiter's response was to strug his shoulders and walk off. Another waiter who served our table couldn't pour water without slopping a load over the top of the glass. This happened twice and after the second shower there was still no apology or attempt to mop up. I felt that the hotel's general attitude towards afternoon tea is one of inconvenience. If you are keen to experience afternoon tea in New York don't waste your hard earned money here but do plenty of research into other places - I wish I had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamGB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at The Plaza - Extremely disappointing and a complete waste of money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was really looking forward to afternoon tea at the Plaza having booked it as part of a trip to New York to celebrate my 30th birthday. Unfortunately the experience here was a huge disappointment.

When we first arrived at the Plaza there was no one at the door greeting people and when we got to the Palm court itself the greeting was very lacklustre. We were taken to our table and found it strange that no one asked if we wanted to hang up our coats. Our waiter brought our menus and we were shocked to find a huge tea stain on the front of one of them. The Palm Court itself feels very open and feels like you're sat in a goldfish bowl with people walking outside it looking in and taking pictures.

We both ordered the New Yorker tea with English breakfast tea. Our tea was brought out in 2 teapots one of which had a big chip in it. The taste of the tea itself wasn't very nice either. The food was then brought out and the quality of it was very mediocre and tasted as though everything had been cooked in vegetable oil.

The waiters were very slow and seemed disinterested and at one point I noticed one of them slouched against the wall. On our way out we noticed that food had been dropped on the floor and had been trodden in.

I've been for afternoon tea to quite a few places and can say that the Afternoon Tea served at the Plaza falls way below the standard I've received at other establishments of the same rating. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Lau_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste you time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went for Sunday Brunch and it was average at best. The food was very average the selections were common and the service and greeting upon arrival was disappointing. They could care less that you were there. It was fairly empty when we arrived and we soon found out why.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hippy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Palm Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing