We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“China Grill”
Review of China Grill - New York - CLOSED

China Grill - New York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 53rd Street between 5th and 6th Avenue
Transit: E or V Train to 53rd Street& 5th Avenue B,E,D Trains to 7th Avenue N,R Train to 55th Street
Description: After nearly 30 years in their midtown location, China Grill is making its downtown premier for a limited run at Asia de Cuba on Lafayette Street. Heralded as a pioneer of fusion cuisine at its 1987 debut, China Grill’s Asian–Inspired World Cuisine led diners on an imaginative culinary journey inspired by Marco Polo’s travels along the Silk Road—fusing Asian and European flavors and techniques. Portions are generous, dramatically presented, and meant to be shared family style. Menu standouts include Lobster Pancakes, Crackling Calamari Salad, Spicy Salmon Crispy Rice & Lamb Spareribs. If you’ve never experienced China Grill before, we hope you'll join us during this limited run; and if you've been to China Grill before, we'd love to welcome you back to our new (temporary) home.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“China Grill”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very good meal. Service was a little slow. I would recommend allowing for smaller portions for the person who is traveling alone for work. Would have liked to have tried different things, but the portion sizes where just too big. Allow for 1/4 portions.

The bananas in the box were awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicag0Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    185
    79
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still solid, slightly different atmosphere that it used to be though.”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Always a good time at the CG, this one was no exception. The fusion Chinese-inspired cuisine concept still works good: punctual reservation, comfortable seating, good cocktails, nice appetizers and generous sized, properly made entrées and side dishes. Unfortunately, this time we had no room for dessert. Not much of an hip place though (which doesn't necessarily means bad), but rather business and family type of hang-out (I was there with my family, too). Too dark and little outdated decor on the cons side.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MC-ITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed China Grill”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We went to China Grill last week and really enjoyed it. The service and the food was great. The portions are decent and next time I would order a few small plates to share. The pork belly with watermelon was my favourite. The only negative for me was the acoustics, when the restaurant is full it's hard to have a conversation but as it emptied out it quiet ended down. I will definitely go back next time I'm in New York.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fionaeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“What ever happened to China Grill?”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a bizarre night at China Grill. We made a reservation through Open Table and upon check in, we found out that our only option was sitting outside (sidewalk seating) or at the bar. What is the point on accepting reservations if you can't have a decent table? We sat by the bar, and were left there unattended for the rest of the night. The hostess took our order, after we complained, another guy asked what we wanted to drink and he had no idea of what as Arnold Palmer was. The food was decent but the service was a joke for a restaurant that used to be a hot spot and now works more like a low end fast food joint. Never going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicente R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Decent portions, not as chic as it used to be”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Went for lunch and asked to sit outside. Zombie-like hostess escorted me to very worst table (next to an empty outdoor bar they must use at night; in a pathway for walkers) when at least 10 tables were available. I said no, and requested a different table. Service after that was fine. They try to push too much food on you. Two people should order 5 different things? Really? Anyway it is tasty, and I probably would go back, but it isn't what it used to be in the go-go 1980s.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Grill - New York also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing